Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cataloging

Call number tags

Call Number Labels

  1. Labels should be placed on the spine when at all possible approximately two fingers up from the bottom.
  2. Labels should not cover important data such as abstract numbers, range of alphabet in the volumes, etc. Labels should be placed below any printing on bound volumes.
  3. Labels that cannot fit on the spine are to be placed in th upper left hand corner of the cover.
  4. Labels for Special Collections books with jackets are placed only on the mylar enclosing the jacket, not on the book.
  5. Periodical call numbers containing both voluming and dates have a space between the volume and the date [unless there is no room for the space].
    • example:
      • PERIOD
      • HG
      • 3242
      • .H32
      • v.12
      • no.1-6
      • 1992
  6. FINE ARTS parts with scores: Permanent label on parts with same call number as score. [No part indication is given]

Labeling Hints

  1. Try to fit label on the spine as much as possible.
  2. Call number should be lined up on the top left of the label.
  3. If the label does not fit on the spine, place it on the top left of the book cover. (Does not need to be lined up with the barcode.)
  4. If the label is on the cover and the barcode is too high do not cover any of the barcode cut the bottom of the label if possible.
  5. On the spine, the label should be one label width high from the bottom of the spine (not higher/not lower).
  6. If label can totally fit on the spine do not overlap onto either cover.
  7. Try to place labels on as straight as possible.
  8. Place burn-on label covers so they are completely covering the label.
  9. Place foil-back label covers so there is an (approx.) equal amount on either side of the label on the front and back covers.
  10. Print a new label if the first label gets smudged.
  11. Make sure foil-back label covers do not stick out from the book either on the spine or the cover. Use a razor blade if needed to cut off excess.
  12. Make sure corners of labels are not folded underneath.
  13. Make sure burn-on labels are totally stuck on, especially in the creases of hard-cover books.

Setting Printers

 Labeling uses Spine-o-Matic software on a Zebra printer

Text controlling locations (this can be expanded as needed)

UND CFL Journals Docs Media+CFL Floor 1 East - Government Documents Journals=GOVDOC
UND CFL Journals Docs Media+CFL Floor 1 East - Government Documents=GOVDOC
UND CFL Journals Docs Media+CFL Floor 1 East - Government Doc Oversize=GOVDOC;OVERSIZE
UND CFL Journals Docs Media+CFL Floor 1 East - Journals=PERIOD
UND CFL Journals Docs Media+CFL Floor 1 East - State Documents=STATE DOC
UND CFL Journals Docs Media+CFL Floor 1 East - State Documents Oversize=STATE DOC;OVERSIZE
UND CFL Journals Docs Media+CFL Floor 3-Room 320 - Videos: DVD, Blu-ray=AUDIOVIS
UND Chester Fritz Library+CFL Floor 1 East - Oversize Books=OVERSIZE
UND Chester Fritz Library+CFL Floor 2 Access Services Permanent Reserve=ACCESS SERV
UND Chester Fritz Library+CFL Floor 2 Reference Desk=REF DESK
UND Chester Fritz Library+CFL Floor 2 Reference=REF
UND Chester Fritz Library+CFL Floor 3-Room 320 Popular Reading Collection=POPR
UND Chester Fritz Library+CFL Floor 4 Childrens Collection=DEWEY
UND Chester Fritz Library+CFL Floor 4 Young Adult=DEWEY
UND EERC Library+EERC Energy Reference=ENERGY;REF
UND EERC Library+EERC General Stacks Journals=ENERGY
UND EERC Library+EERC General Stacks=ENERGY
UND Geology Library+Leonard 326 Geology General Stacks=GEOL
UND Geology Library+Leonard 326 Geology Periodicals=GEOL;PERIOD
UND Geology Library+Leonard 326 Geology Reference=GEOL;REF
UND Geology Library+Leonard 326 Geology Theses=GEOL;THESES
UND Geology Library+Leonard 326 Geology CD/DVD Maps=GEOL
UND Music Library+HFAC 170 Music Books and Scores=FINE ARTS
UND Music Library+HFAC 170 Music Collected Works=FINE ARTS;COLL.WRKS
UND Music Library+HFAC 170 Music Desk CDs=FINE ARTS;CD
UND MUSIC Library+HFAC 170 Music Orchestral parts=FINE ARTS;ORCH.PARTS
UND MUSIC Library+HFAC 170 Music Reference=FINE ARTS;REF
UND Special Collections+CFL Floor 4 Special Collections Genealogy=SP.COL.;GENEALOGY
UND Special Collections+CFL Floor 4 Special Collections Stacks=SP.COL.
UND Special Collections+CFL Floor 4 Special Collections UND Theses=SP.COL.
UND Special Collections+CFL Floor 4 Special Collections UND Archives=SP.COL.;ARCHIVES
UND Special Collections+CFL Floor 4 Special Collections Rare Books=SP.COL.;RARE

Call Number Labels: Capitalization & Abbreviation as Follows:

Note: When 2 lines are used together, they are indented for ease of reading the list; do NOT indent in call number

 

AANDAHL -- 2 labels, one on book and one on jacket
abstracts
ACCESS
  SERV
ADMN.OFF
ACQUIS
Atlas
 case
AUDIOVIS
bd.X -- Scandinavian, be consistent with existing holdings
Bd.X -- German
BIB.
cass.X -- for "vol." number with Video or Tape Cassettes
CAT.
CD
CD-ROM
chapt.
COLL.WRKS
cop.X
DEWEY
ed.
ENERGY
FINE ARTS
FOLIO -- change to OVERSIZE
GENEALOGY
GEOL.
GEOL.MAPS
GOVDOC
guide
ILL
index
Latest edition only
Latest edition only; Earlier eds.in nnn
Latest ed.on REF
Learner
manual
Map (location) / map[s] (enumeration)
Media
  kit
Micro-
  card
  fiche
  film
  print
MICROFORM
MIN
no.X
new ser.
op.
ORCH.PARTS
OVERSIZE
PATENTS
PERIOD.
plate[s]
pt.X
RARE BOOK[do not label item]
Records
reel
REF
sect.
ser.
SOFTWARE
Software
Slides
SOUND REC [or SOUNDREC]
SP.COL.
STATEDOC
suppl.
t.X
Tape
  cassette
teacher's
v.X
Video
  cassette - 2 labels, one on box and one on cassette near barcode
workbook

Months and Seasons

Note: Seasons shortened for labels only

Jan.
Feb.
Mar.
Apr.
May
June
July
Aug.
Sept.
Oct.
Nov.
Dec.
spr
smr
aut
wtr

No Longer Used

Chem.
Eng.
FOLIO
Phys.
SCIENCE

Labeling Patent Microfilm

Use reduced type font; attach label to the front of the box with paste or a computer label.

  • Example:
    • MICROFORM
    • T
    • 223
    • .A2
    • A4
    • Reel 100-007
    • Microfilm
      • Feb. 2, 1991

The reel number and date may be written in with pen or keyed on condensed computer label. These film are stored with the commercial label forward to read the patent numbers.

Script "L"

A note will be included with the book instructing that the "l" in the call number be replaced manually in pen with a script l on the label.

For more instructions see: Holdings