Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cataloging

UND Theses Cataloging

Cataloging:

For overview of the process of receiving, fiching, binding, cataloging, see Theses Process (below)

Create one record with a convention of 533 with Microfiche copy. There are 2 constant data records.

 

  • OCLC:
  • Create new record using Book format
  • Apply the Constant Data for "Theses print undd" using Both Field and Variable fields
    • Type - a for Proquest, t for local
    • 099_9 $a T[year] $a Cutter [4-cutter Sanborn]
  • UT for Undergraduate papers (e.g. Honors with 502 (Honors) and no 810), GT for graduate papers prepared not following full theses requirements
  • 502 (Design project) and 500 Geological Engineering design project (may appear as: Geological engineering design proposal, Geological engineering design project, GeoE 485, Senior design project), use 810
  • 502 (Senior) and 500 Geological Engineering senior thesis (may appear as Senior thesis, thesis submitted ...bachelors...), use 810
    • Do prep for authority record (ARN) - use fullest form of name in record
    • Delete 810 field and update to OCLC (F8)
    • Go to Aleph -- Add the OCLC number to the brief bib record and save to server -- Return to OCLC
    • Generate authority record for review by Shelby using OCLC Macro; cite UND directory as appropriate
    • Apply the Constant Data for "Theses microfiche" using the Variable field option.
    • Note: 533 used for UND theses on microfiche: $3 Microfiche copy. $a Microfiche. $b Grand Forks, N.D. : $c University of North Dakota, $d [date] $e microfiches : negative ; 11 x 15 cm.
    • Insert the number (#) of microfiche in the 533
    • Enter the missing data in the 810
    • Export from OCLC to Aleph (F5)
    • Add the main advisor name (usually the chairperson).
      • Use either a 720 for an uncontrolled authority name or a 700 for a controlled authority name (NACO authority record exists).
      • Use subfield 4 and relator code ths
    • Aleph:
  • In the Leader (LDR) do not use Ctrl "a" for theses. This is not recommended in the OCLC standards. Tab_type_config will create "Archives" if we use "a"
  • In the Leader (LDR) change the Type of Record from "t" to "a". OCLC standards are to use "t" but tab_type_config will create "Manuscript. If either Archives or Manuscripts are generated they precede "Dissertation or Thesis" in the record causing the Web OPAC to not display "Dissertation or Thesis"
  • NOTE: previous method was to Change Record's Format to MX and change LDR to npm^. This cancel out other options in tab_type_config
  • Create a new HOLding record from the item record for the microfiche barcode that is present (dummy or real) .
    • Full call number is in 852 8_ $h
      Change 008 07 from "p" to "g" (gift)
  • Create/edit item records according to library policy
    • Make sure copy ID number is entered in items
      If the barcode is dummy, print screen with note to Richard to fix
  •  

    Barcoding:

     

    • Place barcode on the outside of the book along the spine, upper lef, below the label space

    Processing:

    • Call numbers are assigned when ABC (Laurie) receives a printed list of the theses and dissertations received by DPTP (Richard). When the bound theses are sent to ABC, the printed slips indicating the number of fiche and the call numbers will be found inside each bound volume.
  • Pencil call number on page after title page
    • SP.COL.
      T[year]
      Cutter
    • Stamp "ARCHIVAL COPY" inside front cover
    • Endstamp and strip

     

    Bibliography:

     

    Theses Process

    Processing of UND Master's Theses and PhD Dissertations

     

    This process is an outline of only those theses and dissertations that include a signature page signed off on by the Dean of the Graduate School.

     

    Student writes the thesis or dissertation.

     

    The original copy is turned in to the Graduate School for approval. In some cases, two final copies are required by the Graduate School. Occasionally, ABC will receive a copy donated by the student for Energy or Geology; these are often donated before ever receiving the copy from the Graduate School. They are cataloged upon receipt and the original becomes an ADDED when available.

     

    The Graduate School sends the original copy or copies of the approved thesis to the Chester Fritz Library Periodicals Department approximately 20-30 days after graduation.

     

    The Periodicals Department sends the Cataloging Department a list of the theses and dissertations received. Cataloging assigns each item on the list a call number (Cutter Sanborn Four-Figure Table) and returns the list to Richard in the Periodicals Department. Cataloging keeps a copy and provides a copy for the Reference Desk. Turnaround time is approximately 3-7 days.

     

    The Periodicals Department sends the original copy to Modern Information Systems (Grand Forks, ND) to be microfiched. Turnaround time is approximately 30-60 days.

     

    Master's Theses

     

    Upon return from Modern Information Systems, the original copy of the Master's thesis is sent to Houchen Bindery (Nebraska) for binding. Turnaround time is approximately 1 month.

     

    Upon return from Houchen the bound copy, along with a slip indicating the call number and the number of fiche cards, is sent to Cataloging. The thesis is cataloged and made available in ODIN. Rush cataloging may be requested as soon as the bound volume is received. The item is created with a dummy barcode. Richard adds the barcode. Screen print dummy to double check full barcode gets added.

     

    The archival copy is labeled and sent to Special Collections. If there is a circulating bound copy for CFL, it is sent to stacks.

     

    Total Turnaround Time:

    6-12 months after graduation

     

    PhD Dissertations

     

    The original copy of the PhD dissertation is returned to the Graduate School. They are then shipped to ProQuest (UMI) to be microfilmed and entered into Dissertations & Theses. The dissertation will usually appear in the ProQuest database before the bound volume is available and possibly before the dissertation is listed in ODIN. Turnaround time is 12-18 months.

     

    After DPTP receives the original copy of the dissertation, it is sent to Houchen Bindery (Nebraska) for binding. Turnaround time is 1 month.

     

    Upon return from Houchen the bound copy, along with a slip indicating the call number and the number of fiche cards, is sent to Cataloging. The dissertation is cataloged and made available in ODIN. Rush cataloging may be requested as soon as the bound volume is received. The item is created with a dummy barcode. Richard adds the barcode. Screen print dummy to double check full barcode gets added.

     

     

    The archival copy is labeled and sent to Special Collections. If there is a circulating bound copy for CFL, it is sent to stacks.

     

    Total Turnaround Time:

    12-18 months after graduation