Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cataloging

Barcoding New Items

  1. Any activity that would cause a delay in barcoding should be done BEFORE the book is done on OCLC.
  2. During the OCLC cataloging process:
    • Add a 949 field with the barcode in subfield $a and 049 code in $c [no brackets]
    • If there is more than one barcode, enter only one. Duplicate others once the first item is loaded.
  3. Once the item is cataloged, the item must be linked to the bibliographic record through the HOLdings record.
    • If the item is an ANAlytic, edit the individual title with appropriate LKR ANA subfields; then procede to add/edit the item record as in steps 4-8
    • If the item is not an ANAlytic, procede to add/edit the item record as in step 4-8
  4. tab1 Item display
    • Summary of item information
  5. tab2 General information (1)
    • Barcode: Aleph supplies a dummy barcode by default. Replace it with real barcode, manually or via loader.
    • Sublibrary: Select the appropriate sublibrary for the collection. Loader adds based on sublibrary associated with 049-to-collection.
    • Collection: Select the appropriate sublibrary for the collection. Loader adds based on sublibrary associated with 049-to-collection. Some collections do not have a match to 049 - edit those.
    • Copy number: Enter copy number.
    • Material type: Select from list. Loader will supply a default. Edit if other than default.
    • HOL link: HOLding record number. Once a manually entered item is linked to a HOL or the record was processed through the loader, the field is filled by Aleph.
    • 85x Type: eg. 853 will be "3"
    • Call number type: Indicator in 852 - 0-LC, 1-Dewey, 2-MeSH, 3-govdoc, 6-shelved separate, 7-source specified, 8-local
    • Description: Follow NISO holdings standards. See holdings page.
    • Item status: Select from list. Available options are based on sublibrary and collection.
    • Item process status: Select from list.
    • Enum. level 1 (A): If there is no chronology, the enumeration can be entered here. For chronology, see tab5
    • Enum. level 2: (B): If there is no chronology, the next level of enumeration can be entered here. For chronology or further enumeration, see tab5
  6. tab3 General information (2)
    • Inventory number: Not in use
    • Inventory date: Enter today's date when completing cataloging process.
    • Last inventory report date: Supplied when item-07 Inventory is run. May also be used to indicate item is in hand on this date.
    • Price: Supplied from order information. If several volumes are one order, divide price per item.
    • OPAC note: A note entered here displays in the Web OPAC with the specific item
    • Circ. note: Displays during checkin/return. Use to indicate contents or that the item needs to be forwarded to a library department. Example: INCLUDES: 1 CD, 1 text, and 3 posters
    • Internal note: To record in-house information about the item.
    • Order number: Supplied by Aleph when creating an order if Create item is checked. Add if order was created after the item was created.
    • Invoice key: Click dot-dot-dot box to create a link to the invoice line item.
    • Invoice note:
    • Remote storage ID:
    • Open date: Supplied by Aleph when the item is created.
    • Update date: Last date item was updated.
  7. tab4 Serial information
    • Subscription no.: If the item is part of a subscription, click the arrow to select the subscription number.
    • Pages: Not in use
    • Description: Same is tab2. Entering it in one place, adds it to the other.
    • Issue date: Date of the publication/issue. Generated when "Open items" button is clicked in Serials.
    • Exp. arrival date: Date we expect issue to arrive. Generated when "Open items" button is clicked in Serials.
    • Break indicator: If a bound volume is missing issues. Gap-we missed issues, Non-gap-publisher didn't publish
  8. tab5 Serial levels
    • Enum. level.1 (A)-6 (F) Volume numbers. If only "years", use it as enumeration.
    • Alt. enum.1 (G)-2 (H) Use to record alternate numbering that also appears on the issue.
    • Supp. Index (O): To record either supplement or index
    • Chron. level. 1 (I)-4 (L): Numerals for year (yyyy), month (01-12), day(0-6)
    • Alt Chron. (M.) Alternate numbering year designation
  9. tab6 HOL links
    • Click "Create New". If record was processed through the loader, it should have been entered. Check for accuracy.
    • Click "Edit" to make update for monograph, multi-part, or serial; status and payment info; correct collection or $k or $m
    • Link/Unlink - to function properly in Aleph the item must be link. If you need to move an item or item/order, it needs to first be unlinked.