Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cataloging

Music Classification

Decision 1. Groups of works / Single works

  • A group of works precedes a single work of the same kind of music by the same composer.

Example:

M (music) M (music)
1010 (music) 1010 (concerto, piano)
.M67 (Mozart) .M67 (Mozart)
K3 (publisher, title, editor
of a book of 2 or more works)
op.4 no. of single work
1985 (date of publication) K3 publisher, editor of
the single work
    1985

 

M (files M | M (files M
1010 before) 1010 | 1010 before) 1010
.M3   .M3 | .K4   .K4
1932   J3 | S2   D.90
    1985 | 1907   F63
      |     1985
  • Occasionally single works do not have numbers and a cutter for title is used. This will cause some to be filed with collections.

 

Decision 2. Collections / Selections

  • UND will add a category called Selections between Collections and Separate Works. This will usually be the Collections number with .5 added.
  • For original input, enter Selections call numbers in 099 rather than 090.

 

  • Quintets
    • ...
    • Piano and four other instruments
    • Piano and four string instrument
    • Miscellaneous collections
    • Arrangements
    • 513     Collections
    • 513.5   Selections
    • 514     Separate works

 

Decision 3. Selections call numbers

  • Call number formation for Collections and Selections

 

  1.  SCORES
      • M
      • ##
      • .Composer cutter or main entry cutter
      • Title cutter from 245
      • Arranger, editor, or publisher (in that order of choice). Use "last" or "main" name; eg. K for Edwin Kalmus)
      • Date
  2.  SOUND RECORDINGS
      • M
      • ##
      • .Composer cutter or main entry cutter
      • Title cutter from 245
      • Performer or performing group (unless main entry), record or disc label (in that order or choice)
      • Date
  3. SCORES -- EXAMPLE
    •  

      • M
      • 286.5   Bach, Johann Sebastian.
      • .B2        [Duets. Selections]
      • F53      Fifteen duets : after two-part inventions for
      • B44    violin and viola. -- New York : Belwin Mills, 1960.
    • 1960
      • M - music
      • 286.5 - selections of duets
      • .B2 - composer: Bach
      • F53 - title: Fifteen duets
      • B44 - publisher: Belwin
      • 1960 - date
  4. SOUND RECORDINGS - EXAMPLE
      • M
      • 1000    Albioni: Adagio, and music by Bach, Beethoven, Handel,
      • .A4       Mendelssohn, Mozart, Pachelbel. -- [S.l.] : Angel, 1974.
      • A3
      • A5
      • 1974
      • M - music
      • 1000 - instrumental music, orchestra
      • .A4 - main entry: Albioni...
      • A3 - chamber orchestra: Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields
      • A5 - record company: Angel
      • 1974 - date

 

Decision 4. Separate work call numbers

  • Call number formation for Separate works.

     

    • a) SCORES

       

      • M
      • ##
      • .Composer cutter or main entry cutter
      • op. #, thematic catalog number, or title cutter from 240
      • if it's a distinctive title. If the uniform title is generic (eg. Quartets) then use 245. If there is a separate section in the classification schedule for excerpts, cutter excerpts by 245.
      • Arranger, editor, or publisher (in that order of choice)
      • Date

 

      • b) SOUND RECORDINGS
        • M
        • ##
        • .Composer cutter or main entry cutter
        • op. #, thematic catalog number, or title cutter from 240
        • if it's a distinctive title. If the uniform title is generic (eg. Quartets) then use 245. If there is a separate section in the classification schedule for excerpts, cutter excerpts by 245.
        • Performer or performing group (unless main entry), record or disc label (in that order or choice)
        • Date
  1.  

      • a) SCORES - EXAMPLE

       

        • M
        • 25    Hovhaness, Alan.
        • .H78       Maert nman rehani = thy hair is like basil
        • op.38     leaf : op. 38. -- New York : Edition Peters,
        • P4       1968.
        • 1968
          • M - music
          • 25 - pieces, general
          • .H68 - composer: Hovhannes
          • op.38 - op. #
          • P4 - publisher: Peters
          • 1968 - date

 

  1.  

     

      • b) SOUND RECORDING - EXAMPLE
        • M
        • 3.1    Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
        • .M69        [Works. Selections. Sound recording
        • M5    Miniaturen: notturni, divertimenti. Duos. -- [S.l.
        • P4    : Philips, 1974.
        • 1974
        • M - music
        • 3.1 - collections
        • .M67 - composer: Mozart
        • M5 - title
        • P4 - record company: Philips
        • 1974 - date

 

Decision 5. Unknown composers

 

  • For any music person for whom no known call number exists for a type of music, consult composer lists and browse existing ODIN call numbers.
    See Composer Cutter Table
    See Music OCLC Users Group presents The best of MOUG. ACQUISITIONS/CATALOGING ML111 .M87 1997

 

 

Decision 6. Miniature scores

 

  • Miniature, study scores have a separate location: MIN and stat class 40

 

 

Decision 7. CD call numbers

Catalog CD's with LC classifications. Add 099 _9 containing CD accession number.

 

Example:
090 M268.M429 #b T46 O6, 1995
099 9 CD 417

 

 

Decision 8. Phonograph record call numbers

Catalog Phonograph Records with LC classifications. Add 099 _9 containing PH accession number.

 

Example:
049 UND$
090 M2020.H3 #b C4
099 9 PH 2011

 

Decision 9. Native American M1669

For sound recordings assigned M1669, cutter by tribe as in E99. 

  • a) Specific Tribe

     

    • M
    • 1669
    • .Cutter for tribe
    • Composer cutter or main entry cutter
    • Title cutter
    • Date
  • a) General

     

    • M
    • ##
    • .Composer cutter or main entry cutter
    • Title cutter
    • Publisher
    • Date

 

Note 1.

 

 

  • A score has more than one part, and includes all parts on the staves of the music.

Note 2.

 

  • Works arranged, edited or recomposed for instruments different than the composer's original version are usually cataloged by the version at hand. The schedule does include some special numbers of arrangements and reductions for keyboard.

Note 3.

 

  • Orchestral scores with parts are cataloged with the score in the stacks and the parts in the Orchestral Parts cabinet (HUGP)

Note 4.

 

  • Scores or books with accompanying CDs, cassettes, or video cassettes are cataloged separately with the score or book in the stacks (UNDL) and the accompanying material in its designated area.
    • Example: Music teacher self-assessment.
      • 049 - UNDL #a UNDL[Video][cassette]
        score - HUGH 01 UNDL stat class 000
        video - HUGH 23 UNDL stat class 125
        a note is attached to the bottom left corner of the text stating: Accompanied by video cassette
    • Example: Songs of the troubadours and trouveres
      • 049 - [REF]UNDL #a [CD 684 ]UND$
        book - HUGH 03 UNDL stat class 038
        CD - HUGH 23 UND$ stat class 126
      There is no longer a "media kit" section