NOTE: Use abbreviations in the language of the material. Those not listed below, check "The language of the foreign book trade : abbreviations, terms, phrases" and make sure Lang: in BIB and HOL match language of the text.
| HOLDING | Description (tab2) 853 | enum/chron (tab5) |
|---|---|---|
| Abteilung | Abt. | |
| Band | Bd. | |
| bind | bd. | |
| Day | Sun. | 0 |
| Day | Mon. | 1 |
| Day | Tue. | 2 |
| Day | Wed. | 3 |
| Day | Thu. | 4 |
| Day | Fri. | 5 |
| Day | Sat. | 6 |
| Edition | ed. | |
| Fascicle | fasc. | |
| [Gaps] | "," we missed or ";"pubr missed | |
| Index volume | index | |
| Map | Map | |
| Month | Jan. | 01 |
| Month | Feb. | 02 |
| Month | Mar. | 03 |
| Month | Apr. | 04 |
| Month | May | 05 |
| Month | June | 06 |
| Month | July | 07 |
| Month | Aug. | 08 |
| Month | Sept. | 09 |
| Month | Oct. | 10 |
| Month | Nov. | 11 |
| Month | Dec. | 12 |
| New Series | new ser. | |
| Number | no. | |
| Opus | op. | |
| Part | pt. | |
| Quarter | qtr. | [non-standard] |
| Reel | reel | |
| Reihe | Reihe | |
| Report | rprt. | |
| Season | spring | 21 |
| Season | summer | 22 |
| Season | autumn | 23 |
| Season | winter | 24 |
| Section | sect. | |
| Series | ser. | |
| Sheet | sheet | |
| Supplement | suppl. | |
| Special Issue | speciss | [non-standard] |
| Teilband | T. | |
| tome | t. | |
| Volume | v. | |
| Year | year | [as enumeration caption] |
| Year (German) | Jahrg. | [as enumeration caption] |
To indicate that ordinal numbers should be displayed, a plus sign (+) may be used preceding the caption
NOTE 1) When Alma doesn't handle holdings correctly, e.g. year:vol.or year:no
NOTE 2) Each collection has its own HOL record
NOTE 3) Multi-part monographs contain only enumeration. Serials contain enumeration and chronology.
NOTE 4) The "+" is used for "secondary bibliographic unit" which is a discrete bibliographic unit that is supplementary or complementary to a basic bibliographic unit. (See also Supplementary Materials below) Examples of secondary bibliographic units are a map in a pocket inside a book, a supplement to a newspaper, a separate index to a serial publication, a set of updates to a loose-leaf publication, an answer book accompanying a textbook, a serial update service to a single part of a multipart unit, or a pamphlet accompanying an audiodisc.
NOTE 5) Holding statement levels: 2) general guidance on extent of holdings and includes item identification (single monographs); 3)statement of summary of textent of holdings; always compressed at the highest level (i.e. $a $i only); 4) detailed extent of holdings including item identification which can be itemized or compressed (these can be mixed).
NOTE 6) Combined issue: When a bibliographic unit is issued with a combined numbering - not when bound after receipt - separate the numbers by a forward slash
Example: v.4:no.36(2003:Aug/Sep 29-5) It is correct for day numbers to look out of order. $a 4 $b 36 $i 2003 $j 08/09 $k 29-5
More examples: v.5/6 v.4:no.1/2 v.4.no.4/v.5:no.1 v.33/v.44:no.2 (all issued together on a CD-ROM)
A volume published exclusively within a year
A volume published, whose coverage spans two or more years (ex: Sept 1990-May 1991)
A bound volume that has multiple volumes in it, each exclusively published within a year
Parts of volumes
Bound volume with one or more numbered memoirs.
Individual journal issues
Journal issues with years as part of the number, eg. 04-1269
Bound volume divides volume in two parts
Numbered conferences, e.g. 3rd annual conference of the...(CFL practice is to use no.)
Ordinal numbers with editions
Combined volumes spanning years
A revised edition of single vol. of a set (multi-part monograph) where whole is not being revised
Separate index volume
Separate index bound into volume
Separate buyer's guide with bimonthly journal
Vol. with numbers that repeat AND alternative numbers that are continuous
There is no colon between a month and a day - just between year and month
Annual with volumes (not the same as a number which is constructed partially using a year designation).
Annual with spanned years and volumes
Holdings with series-volume-number
Occasional supplements, e.g. posters
New series
Gaps
Bound volume with gaps or with additional materials
Teachers guide, CD-ROM, etc. with book
Mixed enumeration
Volumes and textual enumeration
For information not covered by other NISO punctuation, use < >
A hierarchical multipart unit may have a first-order designator with a caption and enumeration, but a subsequent order designator with only a name.
Local Holdings Maintenance Documentation (Union List)
http://www.oclc.org/support/documentation/localholdings/default.htm
MARC21 Holdings Format
(note - to get $I to display right in Word, it given with "." $i. - do not in put the period)
Guidelines at: MARC21 Concise Holdings
Holdings: http://www.loc.gov/marc/holdings/echdgenr.html
Captions: http://www.loc.gov/marc/holdings/echdcapt.html
Chronology Type and Code Patterns: http://www.loc.gov/marc/chrono_patterns.html
Control fields: http://www.loc.gov/marc/holdings/echdcntf.html
====================
Z39.71 allows two options for format, but the institution must always use the same one. UND will use "separate" v. 1:no.1-v.12:no.12(1910:Jan.-1922:Dec.)
This also means 866 summary or textual holdings are:
866 31 v.1-v.38(1910-1948)
====================
MARC21 Holdings format applies to monographs, multipart monographs, and continuing/integrating resources
NISO notes:
New series is "new ser." not "n.s." and it is the first level of enumeration incl. Vol
e.g. 853 $a new ser.::v.#
Enumeration and chronology must be displayed at same level
e.g. v. no. (year) (month) not v. no. (year) - NISO p. 25
Use Arabic numerals, not roman numerals or other numbers
see NISO p. 29, 41 for mixed numbers and text
Years are always 4 digits - NISO p.33
Use "/" for span and "-" to join two entities
Punctuation must be followed
NISO p. 11
Leader
Monographs commonly: cx2n
Multiparts commonly: cv4n
Serials commonly: cy4n
006 and 007 Fixed fields
Not common but can have
008 Fixed Field
Usually
06 - monographs 2, current serials 4, dead serials 5
07 - purchased = p, g = gift SEE LIST for more
22-24 often missed - fill in to match Lang. of BIB; exception: seasons
Seasons: set Lang to "dum"
852
use indicators, generally 2
GPO mixed formats on one bib (preferred is 2 separate bibs each with own HOL)
- one HOL for paper
- one HOL for fiche
TEXTUAL HOLDINGS
Textual holdings 866-868
MARC Hol in Aleph p. 12-15
NISO - gap and non-gap p. 25-26
Handling gaps
Standard allows 1 continuous line with lots of "," and a $z note
-- Or --
Separate lines for each held group
UND will do up to 3 gaps on separate lines, but if more, do 1 continuous line with $z note)
NISO numbered with hierarchical unnumbered p. 29
Example
(In Aleph the system librarian can set a label for 866, 867, 868)
866 3 summary $a v.1:no.1-
866 4 detail - every specific barcoded item
Indicator 2
1 = trying to follow standard
0 = not trying to follow standard, e.g. used for "workbook", "teacher's guide"
NISO p.23 for elvl 3 vs. 4
Examples
No.1
v=multipart
4=detail
866 41 $81 $a 1v.
866 41 $81 #a 1 CD-ROM
OR
866 39 1 book, 1 CD-ROM
No..2
866 41 $82 $a 1 videocassette $z PALS format
867 41 $82 $a "teachers guide"
(use " " for bound descriptor)
No.3
866 41 $83 v.1-v.8
868 41 $83 1 v.
No.4
866 41 $8 CDROMs $z lacks teacher's guide
or
866 41 $8 CD-ROMs
867 41 $z teacher's guide lacking
No.5
866 41 $8 1 $a v.22 (1978)-v.31:no.1(1987), <comma - gap we missed>
866 41 $8 1 $a v.31:no.4(1987)-v.45:no.4(2001); >semicolon - pbd gap>
866 41 $8 1 $a v.47:no.1(2002)-v.47:no.2(2002)
856
MARC Hol in Aleph p. 11-12
MULTIPART Monographs and SERIALS
853/4/5
Multiple 853/4/5 fields may occur in one HOL record
Abbreviations for holdings -
First base on Append. B of AACR
Then establish list to be used consistently
OCLC Pre-stamp and Post-stamp $k $m
Notes
$x is non-public
$z is public - set policy, establish standard notes
Difference between 852 notes and 853 notes
853/853X indicators, generally 20
863 Don't use in Aleph because it uses 853X
SERIALS PREDICTION
853/4/5 subfields
MARC21 p. 4-16
853 is the "pattern"
$v restart
$w freq
$x when you start no.1
this also formats the Aleph "Description" field in the item record
Compressibility - determined by 1st indicator - not used by Aleph
2 = can compress or expand
- this would allow compression, e.g. v.1-v.38(1910-1948)
- this would also allow, e.g. v. 2-v.5(1952-1955) v.6:no.3(1956:July) v.7-v.10(1957-1960) v.11 <1961 rev.ed.>
Captions create the public display - 2nd indicator says if all levels are present
When frequency changes use a new $8 number
853 $8 1 monthly
853 $8 1.1
853 $8 1.2
853 $8 2 quarterly
853 $8 2.1
853 $8 2.2
866 $8 1 would be summary for monthly
OR
866 $8 0 (zero) trumps all and summarizes everything (Aleph has a table to create summary holdings IF the holdings are 'perfect')
$8 1.1 == > all merge into 1 statement
$8 1.2
$8 2.1
$8 2.2
853X
853X is an Aleph field - this is where Ex Libris deviates from the standard
853X is what says where number 1 starts with the holdings in it
853X is what is used to open next years publication schedule
Aleph replaces the 863-5 with 853X, but if you have problems with your workforms, you will need to edit the MARC format and follow everything else about MARC21 Holdings Format
Aleph does not use 876-878
More 853-855 subfields
THIS IS NOT A PLACE TO INVENT - YOU MUST USE THE CODES
$u - how many issues before volume goes up
- if you only have a $a, you will never have a $u value (for only $a or $g)
$v - when does the numbering start?
- if continuous = c ; e.g. no.1 2 3 4 is 1994 then no. 5 6 7 8 is 1995 etc.
- if restarts = r ; e.g. v. 1, no.1, 2,3,4 v. 2, no. 1,2,3,4 etc.
$w - frequency
$y - regularity pattern - used with $v, e.g. monthly but not one month - it "omits" one month
omit
o = omit
m = month
e.g. $y om 07 means we won't get July
combined
$y cm03/04
$a v. $b no. $u 11 $v r $i (year) $j (month) $w m $y cm 03/04
or
pm - published monthly
pm01,02,03/04,05/06,07,08,09,10,11,12
$a v $b no. $u 7 $v r $i (year) $j (month) $w 7
NOTE: if you use $w <number>, you MUST use $y pm 01,02,03, etc.
if in a year, multiple vols with multiple issues
$a v. $b no. $u 2 $c pt. $u 2
2 pts. Cause no. to change once - you get all those, then your vol. goes up
or Nature, vols. change $v r
numbers continue $v c
$a v. $u .. $v r $b no. $u .. $v c
MARC21 says: if no enumeration and only have chronology, you MUST move year mo day to $a $b $c
UND - give both to make public view cleaner - $a $b $c $i. $j $k
=============
FREQUENCY CHANGES
Fequency changes on one title - this doesn't need a new HOL
You do a new 853 with new $8 number
If you choose, you can also use 866
This is usually done when you have a chunk of old barcodes and holdings
Create for current, both sets of 853/853Xs:
853 $8 1
853X $8 1 (start of title)
v. 37(2003) is new frequency so
853 $8 2
853X $8 2
Example:
v.3:no.1(2003:Jan.) monthly
853
$8 1
$a v.
$b no.
$i (year)
$j (month)
$w m
etc.
853X
$8 1
$a 3
$b b 1
$i 2003
$j 01
etc.
v.7:no.(nnnn) quarterly
853
$8 2
$a v.
$b no.
$w q
853X $a 7
$b 1
You may also want to say you have v.1-36
you can do 866 $8 --- v.1-v.36(1962-2003)
indicators
1 - if you put in "1" the computer is to use 853/863 plus 866
0 - if you put in "0" it will override the automated summary display to the public
=============
MULTIPLE 853 854 855 FIELDS ON ONE RECORD
A holding record can have multiple tags for any of these fields
Example: a serial, with an annual suppl. and a biennial index
v.3:no.1(2003:Jan.) monthly
853
$8 1
$a v.
$b no.
$i (year)
$j (month)
$w m
etc.
853X
$8 1
$a 3
$b b 1
$i 2003
$j 01
etc.
854
$8 1
$a (year)
$w a
etc.
854X
$81
$a 2003
$i 2003
etc.
855
$8 1
$a (year)
$w g
etc.
855X
$81
$a 2003/2005
$i 2003/2005
etc.
=====================
EXAMPLES
A-D monographic, E-G serial
Example A
Type x
852 0blank $h F614.D8 $i. J64 1996
856 42 $u ..
866 #0 $a Copy signed by author
Example B
Type x
852 4 $j AB358
Example C
Type v
852 0# $h DR82.3 $i .H65 1990
866 41 $a v.1-4
Example D
Type v
852 4blank $j DVD110 $z guidebook
866 #0 $a 1 DVD
866 #0 $a 1 guidebook
Examples E
Type y
852 0 $h HG1 $I .S356
853 30 $81 $a v $b no. $u 12 $v r $i. (year) $j (month) $w m
Example F
Type y
Records status is c for completed
852 0 $h JA1 $i. .N46
853 20 #8 1 $a v $b no. $u 4 $v r $I (Year) $j (month) $w q
863 etc
866 4 would be each level of enumeration, e.g. v.1:no.1 (1992:Jan.)
866 3 would be less detail, e.g. v.1 (1992)
========================
PUBLIC NOTES
Where they are placed depends on situation
Can be in 852 $z
Can be in 866 $a
Or
Can be in 866 $a $z
=======================
Examples
853 $8 1 $a v $b no. $v c $i. (Year) $j (month) $w b
863 $8 1.1 $a 24 $b 1 $i...
863 $8 1.2 $a 24 $b 2 $i
863 $8 1.3 $a 25 $b 1 $i
863 $8 1.4 $a 25 $b 2 $i
863 $8 1.5 $a 26 $b 1 $i
============================
CALCULATING YOUR PATTERN
1. Create your 852 - HOL record
2. Write down
853
3. Determine indicators
853 20
4. Determine $8
5. Look at the holdings you are trying to work with.
E.g. a weekly with vols. numbers, years, months, days
$a ---- $b ---- $u ---- $v --- $i. ---- $j --- $k --- $w --- $x ---
v. no. #units restarts year month day frequency
$a v. $b no. $u 52 $v r $i. (year) $j (month) $k (day) $w w
Note: 3 = unknown compression
Note: 0 = all levels present
These are common for new serials when you don't know what is going to happen with it. If establishing and 853 for something new that you also received backfiles for, you may set these indicators more appropriately
5a. Again.
Something is mostly monthly but no June or July issue
$a ---- $b ---- $u ---- $v --- $i. ---- $j --- $w --- $y ----
v. no. #units restarts year month day frequency published/omit
853 30 $8 1 $a v. $b no. $u 10 $v r $i. (year)$j (month) $w m $y om 06,07
Note: $w (frequency) should be the standard frequency code; if it is absolutely non-standard, you can use the explicit number of issues but you must also use $y to list each issue expected to be published
e.g. $w 7 $y pm01,02,05,06,08,10,12
6. Next figure out the 863, i.e. Aleph 853X which contains your numbers
$a ---- $b ---- $u ---- $v --- $i. ---- $j --- $k --- $w ---
v. no. #units restarts year month day frequency
853 30 $8 1 $a v. $b no. $u 52 $v r $i. (year) $j (month) $k (day) $w w
863 40 $8 1.1 $a 1 $b 1 $i. 2002 $j Jan. $k 01
863 40 $8 1.2 $a 1 $b 2 $i. 2002 $j Jan. $k 02
$a ---- $b ---- $u ---- $v --- $i. ---- $j --- $w --- $y ----
v. no. #units restarts year month day frequency published/omit
853 30 $8 1 $a v. $b no. $u 10 $v r $i. (year)$j (month) $w m $y om 07,08
863 40 $8 1.1 $a 4 $b 1 $i. 2004 $j Sept.
863 40 $8 1.2 $a 4 $b 2 $i. 2004 $j Oct.
CREATING PREDICTION PATTERNS
Find: search for title
Two methods are possible - follow Prediction Patterns manual
Switch to Serials
Check Subscription List and correct as needed
Generally:
Method 1
Click HOL link
Edit
Ctrl E to get menu to expand from template
Pick closest
Ctrl F to get form for 853 853X
Method 2
Highlight patterns in tree
Add
Select ODN60 ALWAYS
Top, Patterns tab - Add
Go to tab 3 and edit
Click "template" - template will add what you didn't enter
Pick closest
Add
Switch to Overview
Click HOL
Click Catalog record
In either method you must further edit the MARC record
Edit Marc Holdings record
Fixed field
Tag subfields
Select Menu>Cataloging>Print to see pattern
Save on server
Continue
Make corrections to errors
Switch to Acq/Ser Module
Click Link or make sure red check is present
Open items
Switch to Checkin mode
You will ALWAYS have to go to the item you check and add Item Statistic (except JLS1 and JLS2)
====
|
LDR |
^^^^^cy^^^22^^^^^4n^4500 |
|
004 |
0028355338 |
|
005 |
200402181046721 |
|
008 |
^^^^^^0u^^^^8^^^0001uueng0000000 |
|
LKR |
a HOL 1 ODN01 b 001118811
|
|
OWN |
a UND |
|
852 20 |
a NdU b UNDPD c JLS1 h QD1 I .A36
|
|
853 |
8 1 a v b no. u 12 c pt. u 2 I (year) j (month) w s x 01 y om07 |
|
853 X |
a 1 b 1 c 1 I 2003 j 01 k 01 3 20030101 9 00001 8 1 |