Cataloging

There are number of different situations regarding serials with supplements. Decisions need to be made if the item is to be cataloged (*), retained, bound, etc. These will be evaluated by the Head Cataloger and/or Bibliographers. Decisions and handling procedures will be recorded on serials checkin records in ODIN.

1. Some supplements may be determined to be of little importance; others may be significant works. The decision may be made to either not catalog or discard or route. If the issue is numbered in the sequence of a journal's enumeration and it is retained, it will be bound/shelved with the journal according to its enumeration sequence.

    

2. For some serials, supplements may be an occasional occurence and some may require analytics.

   1. If they are enumerated in the sequence of the serial, they will be handled as part of the serial and bound/shelved with the serial. Individual issues will have Aleph Description + suppl. (or appropriate term) and the suppl. will be the final enumeration on tab 5. When bound, the description will have + suppl. at the end e.g. v.2(1998) + suppl.
   2. If individual titles are to be cataloged, in addition to item #1, send to ABC for analytics . The individual titles will have LKR ANA fields added.
   3. If individual titles are not to be cataloged separately but retained, they will be bound/shelved with the serials. If enumeration does not match the serial, bind the supplement at the end of the volumes for the year the supplement was issued, but before a separately issued cumulative index for the volume or a number of volumes. Follow instructions in 1 above.
   4. If they are to be cataloged but are unnumbered, they will be cataloged separately in the stacks.
3. Supplements may be regular and are another serial in themselves. Most commonly, they will be cataloged. (*) Cataloged - create a bibliographic record for the supplmental title(s) distinct from the bibliographic record for the main serial.

   NISO Definitions

   Secondary bibliographic unit. Discrete bibliographic unit that is supplementary or complementary to a basic bibliographic unit or to another secondary bibliographic unit. Note: Examples of secondary bibliographic units are a map in a pocket inside a book, a supplement to a newspaper, a separate index to a serial publication, a set of updates to a loose-leaf publication, an answer book accompanying a textbook, a serial update service to a single part of a multipart unit, or a pamphlet accompanying an audiodisc. A secondary bibliographic unit may itself be a single-part unit, multipart unit, or serial unit. Note that an equal bibliographic component of a set of differing units, such as a multimedia kit or a musical score and parts, is considered a basic bibliographic unit. Individual parts (for example, volumes) of serial and multipart units are considered parts, not secondary bibliographic units. See also basic bibliographic unit; bibliographic unit.

   The "+" is used for "secondary bibliographic unit" for Tab2 Description.

   Supplement. For the purpose of this standard, a publication closely connected in subject matter to the basic bibliographic unit, issued by the same publisher, secondary to but separate from the basic bibliographic unit. Supplements are frequently devoted to a special aspect of the subject matter of the basic bibliographic unit. Some supplements are issued serially, either regularly or irregularly, and others are issued as monographs. A supplement having its own item identifier (hence bibliographic description) is considered a basic bibliographic unit, and not treated as a supplement in this standard. A supplement included in the item identifier for a main work (basic bibliographic unit) is considered a secondary bibliographic unit, so long as it is not enumerated as part of the main work, in which case it is considered a part of the basic bibliographic unit.

   1. Supplements that are serial in nature issued in the enumeration of the main serial: A term designating the item to be a supplement is clearly stated.
      These are cataloged with their own bibliographic record with a call number matching the main series. Predictions are made and issues are checked in via the HOL on the supplemental bib record. The supplemental issues are linked via 760-787 tags to their bibliographic record. If the relation is analytical in nature, a LKR ANA field should be added to the supplemental bib.
   2. Supplements issued as serials with their own enumeration but also bearing the enumeration of the main serial: The supplemental nature of the item may be unclear. These may also be a series-within-a-series with the title and numbering of the subseries more prominent than the main series.
      These are cataloged with their own bibliographic record. Call numbers may be different depending on binding and/or shelving decisions. They are linked with 760-787 linking fields as appropriate. If the relation is analytical in nature, a LKR ANA field should be added to the supplemental bib.
   3. Supplements issues with their own enumeration only.
      These are cataloged and shelved according to the nature of the material. They are linked only with 760-787 linking fields as appropriate and Subscription List tab3 notes explain payment and receipt linkages.

These must exist:

    Bibliographic record  
    An order record is not required for Summary holdings to work, but if a library is using Aleph Acquisitions, create an order.
    Holdings record  
    Subscription record
    Prediction pattern
    Item(s)
 

Summary Holdings details:

    Bibliographic record
        it should be a serials or a record for another format with 006 for serial added
        ANA LKR 773 must use same format of numbering to work. Consider value of LKR higher than Summary holdings; may need 866.
    Order record
        create order for serial or standing order with subscription coverage dates
    Holding record
        a holding record must exist for each Collection
        each must contain 853/4/5 pair(s)
        $9 must link to the correct Subscription record Sequence no.
        each Location in the Holdings screen shows a Summary for each Collection
        link subscription order to correct holdings record
    Prediction pattern
        simple vol. holdings may work with just 2 lines: 853 $8 1 and 85X $8 1
        complex holdings require a full set of prediction fields
        prediction patterns must exist for current and dead titles *(exception-see 7.g)
        853/85X should be in the correct format, but the actual vol. and year doesn’t affect the Summary holdings display
    Items
        material type must be ISSUE for predicted issues
        tab2 85X Type/linking number must be 3 then 1 or whatever corresponds to the appropriate 85X field in the HOL; if frequency changes so there is a 853/X pair with $8 2, then the 85x Type/linking number would be 3 then 2
        the first item and currently predicted items must have the Type/linking number; at least, first and last item must have it for dead titles
        Copy ID must match the Copy ID in the subscription record; if we own multiple copies of an issue in one Collection, they will all be the same copy number
       Description follows NISO standards
        ENUM/CHRON levels must exist and be consistently applied.  Example: if some have $i and some don’t, it won’t work.             Some Summary holdings to not be created; use 866.
        Non-receipt affect creation of the Summary display; use JLS1WDN
     866
        If the material type is for something other than print, the predicted pieces are ISSUE but once checked in, the material type should be changed to the correct format; use 866
        Summary holdings show the broad span; if you need to show large gaps, use 866
        If numbering style changes, use 866 for former style. Example: 1993-1997; v.6(1998)-
        If holdings don’t work or the title is dead, enter an 866 field in the Holding record.
        If the 866 is being used to display a static span with current issues, enter with closing semi-colon for example: v. 1-20(1950-1970); [current predicted issues display next]
        If the 866 is being used to display a continuing span with current issues, enter with closing text: -current issues: Example: v. 1(1950)-current issues: [current predicted issues displa
         If the title is dead, then the 853/X fields can be removed and the 866 should describe the full run using NISO standards.