CFL Student Employee Training

You will be located at the metal desks between the stairwells on second floor. You'll be assisting librarians with tasks that allow you to remain at this location. Your job is basic tech assistance and wayfinding, in all it's forms!

If someone needs information about the library, the campus, or the Grand Forks Community, we're here for them! Primary sources we'd like you to use are

• Knowledge Commons Partners
• Chester Fritz Library
• Special Collections Hours
• Campus
• Campus Shuttle Routes
• Guide to Grand Forks
  • This also connects to our Learning Outcomes! Get familiar with it!
• Proquest Dissertations (for graduate students)

Other sources that can get you items:

First shift of the day at the desk:

• Get signed in
• plug in lights at Info Desk
• Turn on fireplace
  • insert the 3 AAA batteries into the remote and remove them when you are done. W
  • Store the batteries in the box the remote sits in at Mr. Brown.  
• Check the Red Binder
• Check Projects tab
• Check bulletin board in South entry for any posters that are outdated
• Check paper in public printers, let UIT know if it is low
• Refill staplers
• empty 3-hole puncher
• sharpen golf pencils

If the doors do not open at the appointed time, you will need to contact the Ops (Operations) Center at the Department of Public Safety.

P 701.777.2591  und.opscenter@und.edu

Please be vigilant and leave a Teams note @Karlene, @Jay, and @Stan

This shift is primarily for our senior students.

• Get signed in
• Determine who is #1 and who is #2 on your shift
• Check the Red Binder
• Check Projects tab
• Wipe down / clean computers, phone, keyboards, chair arms, countertop
• wipe down door handles and places people regularly touch
• Tidy up scrap paper left lying around the area by stacking it for re-use, cutting it to size, or throwing it away if not appropriate for re-use.
• Complete the checklist on the clipboard

If you are not a senior

• You will be #2 on the shift. Ask to review the cards seniors have on their lanyards
• Follow Senior asks for items on above list

If the doors do not lock at the appointed time, you will need to contact the Ops (Operations) Center at the Department of Public Safety.

P 701.777.2591   und.opscenter@und.edu

Please be vigilant and leave a Teams note @Karlene, @Jay, and @Stan

Once you triage what it is the person needs, if you've spent more than 3-5 minutes talking to them, it should be passed to the On-Call librarian or the Subject Librarian.

This game is a good example of why we pass to librarians. Please play through

Why do I have to pass the question?

As Subject Librarians, we each have a Masters degree in library science, and we:  

• Reference: answering questions in-person in the Consult room, by chat, phone or e-mail
• Research: more in depth assistance - set up a research appointment(s) in person, on Zoom, or with Starfish
• Instruction: we work closely with faculty to teach in their classrooms (in-person or online) as well as in the library

        We also make sure that our departments have access to books, journals, DVDs and other resources that they need!

How do YOU contact a Reference Librarian for assistance?

• In Teams - In the Public Services Team, All Schedules Channel
  • type @all Schedules
  • type @<insert subject librarian name here>
  • This allows all librarians to know help is needed!

Some librarians do not have specific subject areas, but are always available to help. They include:

• Karlene Clark (your supervisor!)
• Staff in DISS (the library's IT on 2nd floor)
• Curt Hanson in Special Collections
• Administrative offices - don't forget Laura Egan in Collection Development and Dean Rebecca

How do Patrons Contact Us?

• Reference email account: reference@library.und.edu
• Use 24/7 online chat
• Research Guide for Reference and Research Services: http://libguides.und.edu/reference-research-services

What hours are the Reference Librarians available?

• Ask Us Desk Hours: https://library.und.edu/services/ask-us.html

There are a few things you can do using Quick Links at the top right of the library's home page. Please read more about these under the Reference Interview and Do you have... tabs

• Course Reserves is an important one!
• Finding a specific database. However It's important to recognize that this is a task best passed on to a librarian. If there is no one available, please recommend the 24/7 chat. If the patron needs something in that exact moment, then AND ONLY THEN - in an emergency - do we want you to search as shown below.

How do I use Quick Links?

• Click once on the Quicklinks A-Z button to scroll an alphabetical list or
• type the first corresponding letter or first few letters on the keyboard (such as "course")

This is an alternate method of looking up a specific Database!

• From the library's homepage, look under "Research" for Databases A to Z.
• Once on the A-Z database, there are 305 databases available.
• They can be sorted out alphabetically or by subject. 
  • Click on the "All subjects" box, then one is able to find the databases that relates to the subject.