CFL Student Employee Training

These are typical questions - please note the answers and refer back to this page!

• Where is the Archives located?
  • This is not the coffee shop! It's another name for our Special Collections
• Where can I find genealogical information?
  • We have an ancestry database that can be used on campus!
• Does the library have materials about former UND students?
  • In Special Collections! Send them upstairs or refer to a librarian.
• Can large format items be scanned/copied in the library?
  • Also in Special Collections! Make sure you see what amazing scanner looks like and how it operates!
• Can I reserve a study room?
  • These are first come first serve, but you can help find alternate spaces to use such as the brody pods (ask what these are!) - (also note that the answer didn't start with "no" - it states the way things work, then a positive response)
  • CFL Room Use Policy
    • Please read this!
• How do I find a list of DVD's that the library owns?
  • We have instructions under libguides! Have a supervisor show you how to find it. You will then be able to show the patron!
• Can I get a guest pass?
  • Yes! Refer them to a librarian or to a staff member at the Access Services desk
• Can you help me with my bibliography citation format?
  • The Writing Center on 3rd floor is your best choice. 2nd best choice, we have a research guide (ask Karlene or Meaghan to show you where it is). It's also never a wrong answer to pass it to the librarian on call!
  • Much like medical and legal help, we are NOT allowed to do this. Your answer is to say "The best choice for answers to that is..." and direct them to the appropriate location.
• Can you page someone for me? / Can you let this person know their food is here?
  • See paging policy below
  • Best answer: "We ask that you use your phone to do that. The paging system is for building emergencies only."
• My child / spouse / etc. has items checked out with fines. Can you tell me what books they are so I can find them?
  • See Confidentiality policy below
  • Best answer: "If the person has given you permission to view their items, you will be able to review that with their login information."
  • If the person insists, IMMEDIATELY pass it to the supervisor for the Knowledge Commons

These ideally should be passed to the on call or subject librarian:

• Can you help me find a book on theories on motivation?
• Do you have the “Journal of Marketing”?
• I’m looking for some history about the Hyslop Sports Center at UND.
• I would like to see the Grand Forks Herald from January 1947.
• What are the best databases for accountancy / education?

CHESTER FRITZ LIBRARY

UNIVERSITY OF NORTH DAKOTA

PAGING POLICY

The public address system will be used for general building emergencies and other library and university purposes, to quickly contact all building occupants or to clear the building.

To promote a satisfactory research and study environment, and to minimize the disruption of patrons, there will be no paging in the library except in library-wide emergencies or notifications, such as calls for a physician, closing or weather announcements, evacuations of the building, tornado instructions, or fire alarm testing.

The PA system will not be used to make personal announcements. Access Services staff cannot page to locate friends or family members.

Approved by WS, Director of Libraries, July 31, 2012

UNIVERSITY OF NORTH DAKOTA

Chester Fritz Library

Policy on Confidentiality of Patron Records

Introduction

The purpose of this policy is to specify when and how library employees may disclose patron record information.

Confidentiality of Library Patron Records

Employees of the Chester Fritz Library and Branch Libraries shall adhere to the state law on patron records:

North Dakota Century Code, Section 40-38-12

Library Records – Open Records Exemption

“Any record maintained or received by a library receiving public funds, which

provides library patron’s name or information sufficient to identify a patron together with the subject about which the patron requested information, is considered private and excepted from the public records disclosure requirements of section 44-04-18. These records may be released when required pursuant to a court order or subpoena.

Library staff may not disclose information about library patrons unless directed to do so by Library Administration or the Office of General Counsel; this prohibition includes names, their presence in the building, identification numbers, addresses, and information attached to the patron’s record. Even when a court order or subpoena is presented, all such requests will be referred to the Library Administration in lieu of immediate compliance.

In addition, when displaying and working with sensitive and confidential information on computers, staff will make all reasonable effort to ensure such information is not visible to unauthorized persons and is not left on terminal screens at unoccupied work stations.

Revised and approved 3/28/13 WS