Resources

BIBCO Standard Record - BSR 

 

http://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/

bibco/documents/PCC-RDA-BSR.pdf 
 

Cataloger's Desktop
http://dekstop.loc.gov Cataloging rules, LC rule interpretations, special manuals. [Limited access]

Cataloger's Desktop 
http://www.loc.gov/cds/desktop/tips/preferences/ Cataloger's Desktop: tips for setting preferences
http://www.loc.gov/cds/desktop/web-faqs.html Cataloger's Desktop Quicktips http://www.loc.gov/cds/desktop/web-faqs.html#Workshops Cataloger's Desktop "Workshops", Q&A, training resources

Cataloger's Reference Shelf 
http://www.tlcdelivers.com/tlc/crs/crs0000.htm / The Library Corporation

The Cataloger's Reference Shelf provides the following resources. Select from the graphics, or click for text format. To select from a topical area: MARC Data Formats, MARC Code Lists, Other Reference Manuals, Subject Cataloging Manuals

Cataloging Correctly for Kids [restricted access]
https://ezproxy.library.und.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&scope=site&db=nlebk&db=nlabk&AN=45113

 

Cataloging Web Sites : Chester Fritz Library Guidelines
Cataloging Websites

ClassWeb
https://classweb.org/Auto/

or: https://classweb.org/Menu/

Classweb, LC subjects, and classification and subject correlations. [Limited access]

Contract Cataloging web sites
MINITEX http://www.minitex.umn.edu/Cataloging/Contract.aspx/

Cooperative cataloging rules
http://sites.google.com/site/opencatalogingrules/cataloging-ru Created by James Weinheimer as an alternative to RDA [UND is using RDA]. It does however link to a variety of cataloging-related guidelines

Dewey to LC http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Dewey_and_Library_of_Congress_subject_classification
http://www.questionpoint.org/crs/html/help/en/ask/ask_map_ddctolcc.html

Evidence in Hand : Report of the Task Force on the Artifact in Library Collections
http://www.clir.org/activities/details/artifact-docs.html This report on the importance of the artifact in library collections, written by a task force of scholars, librarians, and archivists, is designed to address frankly the critical need to preserve the valuable (books, media, etc.) evidence in research institutions and other libraries.

RSC : RDA Steering Committee (formerly: JSC, Joint Steering Committee for the Revision of Anglo-American Cataloging Rules
http://www.rda-rsc.org The RDA Steering Committee (RSC) is responsible for maintaining RDA: Resource Description and Access.

LC to Dewey (incl. Medical)
http://www.questionpoint.org/crs/html/help/en/ask/ask_map_lcctoddc.html

MARC 21 Tutorial 
http://www.lib.usm.edu/legacy/techserv/marc21_tutorial_ie/marcgsIE.htm / Ann Branton and AIping Chen-Gaffey ; based on the LC publication "Understanding MARC bibliographic"

MarcEdit
http://oregonstate.edu/~reeset/blog/groups/marcedit/ Utility to clean-up bib records, particularly Marcive problems.

Non-filing / Non-sorting characters / Library of Congress http://www.loc.gov/ marc/nonsorting.html
Guidelines for the Non-Sorting Control Character Technique. It defines guidelines for using the technique, along with tables listing the MARC 21 subfields and fields in which the technique may currently be used. Many detailed examples are also included in the document. http://lcweb.loc.gov/ catdir/cpso/nonfil.html 
LC implemented a change in practice that the Library of Congress implemented on February 20, 2003. Since the method of counting non-filing characters is a MARC 21 convention, presumably the aim of all PCC participants would be, sooner or later, to follow that convention.

Provider-Neutral E-Monograph MARC Record 

• The guide has been posted to the BIBCO Web site: http://www.loc.gov/catdir/pcc/bibco/PN-Guide.pdf
• There is a link to the Provider-Neutral E-Monograph MARC Record Guide on the BIBCO Web site, listed under the BIBCO Participants Manual http://www.loc.gov/catdir/pcc/bibco/bibco.html
• CONSER standard record guidelines (CSR) at http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/conserdoc.pdfhave been revised to incorporate PCC practices for online series qualifiers
• For series background see: http://www.loc.gov/acq/conser/Online-Series.pdf
• For government documents, LTIS began applying this cataloging practice to all electronic resource monographs cataloged beginning on Monday, August 3, 2009. For an example, see CGP system number 000648752
• MARC record guide for Monograph Aggregator Vendors: http://www.loc.gov/catdir/pcc/sca/FinalVendorGuide.pdf

RDA 

• RDA Toolkit  http://access.rdatoolkit.org/
• RDA FAQ (archive)  http://www.rda-jsc.org/rdafaq.html
• RDA FAQ  http://rda-rsc.org/content/rda_faq
• LC ABA RDA: http://www.loc.gov/aba/rda/index.html
• RDA presentations: http://www.rda-rsc.org/rscpresentations
• Bibliographic Framework Transition Initiative: http://www.loc.gov/marc/transition/
• RDA Registry: http://www.rdaregistry.info/
• RDA elements - RSC/RDA/Element analysis table: http://www.rda-rsc.org/sites/all/files/RSC-RDA-element-analysis-table-rev-5_3.pdf

Series Numbering : final report / BIBCO Working Group on Series Numbering
http://www.loc.gov/catdir/pcc/archive/tgsernum02_rpt.pdf

Summary notes for catalog records / OLAC
http://www.olacinc.org/drupal/?q=node/21

Understanding MARC bibliographic : machine-readable cataloging / Library of Congress
http://www.loc.gov/marc/umb/