Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources

Cataloging

North Dakota W1040300 W0963300 N0490000 N0455600
Grand Forks W0970134 N0475538
Zero datum = 779.00 ft msl
flood stage = 28 ft USGS: Nortern most: 49'0" (49.0000), Southern most: 45'56'46" (45.9460) Eastern most: 96'33'32" (-96.5590) Western most: 104'3'14" (-104.0540)

 

Bounding Box Tool / use for 034 and 255 
http://boundingbox.klokantech.com/

 

Date Codes for Maps / compiled by Phil Hoehn 
http://www.waml.org/datecode.html

 

Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Cartographic)
http://rbms.info/dcrm/dcrmc/ Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Cartographic) is available as a free PDF. Use with the MARC 040 code "dcrmc." It will be in Cataloger's Desktop and the PCC BIBCO Standard Record (BSR) will also be updated to include DCRM(C).

 

DMS Converter (which converts geographic coordinates from degrees, minutes, and seconds to decimal degrees) 
http://vancouver-webpages.com/META/DMS.html

 

Subclass G (Cartographic Materials) - Special Instructions and Tables of Subdivisions 
https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/class_g.html
https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/class_g.pdf

 

G schedule cutters (G1548-G9804) 
http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/gcutter.html

 

LC Guidelines for distinguishing cartographic computer files 
http://lcweb.loc.gov/marc/cfmap.html

 

Map Projections 
http://www.colorado.Edu/geography/gcraft/notes/mapproj/mapproj_f.html

 

MARC21 description of 342 field 
http://www.loc.gov/marc/bibliographic/bd342.html

 

Scale calculator 
http://reeset.net/scale-calculator/

 

State Coordinates 
http://www.ala.org/magirt/publicationsab/usa

 

USGS topo symbols 
http://egsc.usgs.gov/isb/pubs/booklets/symbols/

 

Western Association of Map Libraries� Map Librarian�s Toolbox 
http://www.waml.org/maptools.html

Geographic Names

U.S. Board on Geographic Names
The Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) is the Federal and national standard for geographic nomenclature. Includes option to search Domestic for United States and its Territories - Geographic Names Information System (GNIS) and another option to search Foreign names - NGA GEOnet Names Server (GNS)
[short form] https://usgs.gov/geonames
https://www.usgs.gov/core-science-systems/ngp/board-on-geographic-names

Domestic (i.e. US)
https://www.usgs.gov/core-science-systems/ngp/board-on-geographic-names/domestic-names
Search: https://geonames.usgs.gov/apex/f?p=138:1:16661509668713  OR
https://geonames.usgs.gov/apex/f?p=138:1:0

Foreign
NGA GEOnet Names Server
http://geonames.nga.mil/gns/html
Under GNIS Search, select Text Based Page to retrieve:  GeoNames Search ( http://geonames.nga.mil/namesgaz/ )

Gazetter of Australian Place Names 
http://www.ga.gov.au/place-name/

 

Canada's official geographic names Web site 
http://www4.rncan.gc.ca/search-place-names/name.php

 

Geographic names and the world wide web 
http://lcweb.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/geogname.html Library of Congress, CPSO links and instructions how to use the GNIS search form for U.S. domestic names or the GEOnet Names Server for foreign names.

 

USGS National Mapping Information : Home Page 
http://www.usgs.gov Links to geographic resources by subject, links to GNIS, National Atlas of the United States, etc. and Geospatial data sites.

 

Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names (TGN : Getty Information Institute) 
http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/vocabulary/tgn/index.html Search the world. Hierachically arranged geographic data that is global in scope. It comprises records for approximately 900,000 places in the modern world, and including vernacular and historical names, place types, and other relevant information.

 

New Zealand Geographic Place-Names Database 
http://www.linz.govt.nz/placenames/

 

Ordnance Survey 
http://www.ordnancesurvey.co.uk/oswebsite Gazetteer of place names (U.K.)

 

U.S. Gazetteer 
http://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/gazetteer

Online Maps

Broer Map Library / Cartography Associates 
http://www.broermapsonline.org/ The Broer Map Library has nearly ca. 2,800 maps including historic USGS maps in 45 states.

 

David Rumsey Map Collection / Cartography Associates 
http://www.davidrumsey.com Over 6000 maps including Lewis & Clark Expedition

 

Graphical Locator Home Page 
http://www.esg.montana.edu/gl/index.html Northwest quarter of earth

 

Landsat archive 
http://landsat.usgs.gov The USGS Landsat archive is an unequaled 35-year record of the Earth?s surface that is valuable for a broad range of uses, ranging from climate change science to forest management to emergency response, plus countless other user applications. Landsat scenes can be previewed and downloaded using the USGS Global Visualization Viewer at http://glovis.usgs.gov [under ?Select Collection? choose Landsat archive: L7 SLC-off (2003-present)]. Scenes can also be selected using the USGS Earth Explorer tool at http://earthexplorer.usgs.gov [under ?Select Your Dataset? choose Landsat Archive: L7 SLC-off (2003-present)]. For further information on Landsat satellites and products, see http://landsat.usgs.gov

 

National Map Viewer 
http://nmviewogc.cr.usgs.gov/viewer.htm In the National Map Catalog,layers were added to the catalog, and data is visible in the National Map Viewer.

 

NOAA's historical database for maps and nautical charts 
http://historicalcharts.noaa.gov/historicals/historical_zoom.asp

 

Perry Castenada Map Collection / University of Texas
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/Libs/PCL/Map_collection/Map_collection.html Collection holds more than 230,000 maps covering every area of the world.

 

Street maps 
http://www.google.com/help/features.html#maps Google lets you search for street address maps by typing in the name of an address in the search box.

 

USGS maps, including Topo maps 
Select Product Catalog at: http://store.usgs.gov/

Geographic Based Information

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps 
http://www.dlib.org/dlib/july02/arlitsch/07arlitsch.html D-Lib article: Arlitsch, Kenning. Digitizing Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps ...

 

U.S. Census Bureau 
http://www.census.gov/main/www/access.html Data aacess tools including: people, housing, business, geography, news, etc.

 

World Factbook 
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html CIA information on countries of the world.

Travel

MapQuest 
http://www.mapquest.com/

 

How far is it? 
http://www.indo.com/distance/ Gives straight distance; option for driving distance takes you to MapQuest to plot trips. This service uses data from the US Census and a supplementary list of cities around the world to find the latitude and longitude of two places and calculates the distance "as the crow flies".

 

Expediamaps 
http://www.expediamaps.com/ Look here if you need to find an address, a place, a business, or want driving directions.

General

About.com's Geography site 
http://geography.about.com/ Includes links to map sites, online world atlas, a glossary, etc.

 

Alexandria Digital Library 
http://www.alexandria.ucsb.edu/

 

Archaeological Research Resources 
http://www.har-indy.com/Links.html Includes some GIS and digital mapping, GPS, in addtion to other archeological resources: societies, internet directories, research and reference, journals, and historic archaeology sites.

 

Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative (ECAI) 
http://ecai.org/projects/epublications.html

 

Geo- listservs 
http://spatialnews.geocomm.com/community/lists/

 

MAGERT / ALA Map and Geography Round Table
http://www.ala.org/ala/magert

 

Maps-L : archives
http://www.listserv.uga.edu/archives/maps-l.html

 

National Geographic 
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/maps/index.html

 

National Geologic Map Database / USGS
http://ngmdb.usgs.gov

 

NIMA public home page 
http://www.nga.mil/

 

Odden's bookmarks: the facinating world of maps and mapping 
http://oddens.geog.uu.nl

 

Online map catalogs in North America and Europe 
http://www.sunysb.edu/libmap/libcats.htm An article including web links intended as an introduction for researchers who need basic information about how to find and use online map catalogs. By David Y. Allen.

 

Other sources of map information 
http://www-sul.stanford.edu/depts/branner/collections/map_collections.html

 

Place name servers on the Internet 
http://libguides.asu.edu/content.php?pid=10928&sid=79050

 

Open Directory - Reference: Maps: Libraries 
http://dmoz.org/Reference/Maps/Libraries/ University of Michigan's Map Library

 

Thomas R. Smith Map Collection / University of Kansas.
http://www.lib.ku.edu/mapscoll/  Easy access to a wide variety of Internet resources: electronic reference, links to online maps, government mapping, etc.