Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources

MARC21 Format for Holdings Data

MARC21 Concise Format for Holdings Data
http://www.loc.gov/marc/holdings/

 

MARC21 Holdings training notes - July 2004 (see document below)

 

MARC21 Holdings Cheat Sheet (see document below)

 

Basic compliance with MARC Holdings: a definition
http://www.loc.gov/acq/conser/patthold-MHLDdefinition.html

 

856 - Bibliographic and/or Holdings Format
http://lcweb.loc.gov/marc/856guide.html

 

UNC-CH Holdings Forum / Frieda Rosenberg
http://www.lib.unc.edu/cat/mfh/ Includes a presentation, USMARC Format for Holdings Data Handbook, models, basic questions, selected resources, CONSER Task Force on Publication Patterns and Holdings

 

Holdings Statements for Bibliographic Items / NISO 
HoldingsZ39-71.pdf (see document below)

 

LDR updating : OCLC Batch Processing
http://www.oclc.org/batchprocessing/localdatarecords/

 

NASIGuide: Serial Holdings / Frieda Rosenberg
http://www.nasig.org/publications_serialholdings.cfm This guide is designed to serve libraries automating their local serial holdings, particularly those implementing the MARC21 Format for Holdings Data (MFHD).

 

OCLC - Local Holdings Record Updating Service User Guide
http://www.oclc.org/support/documentation/localholdings/LHR_batch_updating_guide/LHRUS_user_guide.pdf What is presented are a number of questions and suggestions that may serve to influence a library's decision to union list none, all, or some of its serials. Includes links to MARC21 Holdings documentation, Union List User Guide, etc.

Encoding Level 17 & 18

/17  ENCODING LEVEL

A one-character code that indicates the level-of-specificity of the holdings statement. Codes 1, 2, 3, and 4 reflect the requirements of Levels 1, 2, 3, and 4 of Holdings Statements for Bibliographic Items (ANSI/NISO Z39.71) formerly Serial Holdings Statements (ANSI/NISO Z39.44)) and Holdings Statements for Non-Serial Items (ANSI/NISO Z39.57) and codes 1, 2, and 3 reflect the requirements of Levels 1, 2, and 3 of Holdings Statements-Summary Level (ISO 10324). The MARC content designators given in the description of each holdings level are the ones required by Z39.71. Optional data elements for each level are not mentioned here; they are given in each standard. A single-part item holdings statement is normally recorded at level 1. A multipart or serial item holdings statement may be recorded at any level.

When holdings information is embedded in a USMARC bibliographic record, this informationmay be contained in field 841 $e (Encoding level) of field 841 (Holdings Coded Data Values), which is also embedded in the bibliographic record.

 

  • 1 - Holdings level 1
  • 2 - Holdings level 2
  • 3 - Holdings level 3
  • 4 - Holdings level 4
  • 5 - Holdings level 4 with piece designation

Physical piece designation is contained in subfield p (Piece designation) of field 852 (Location) or one of the 863-865 Enumeration and Chronology fields, or in subfield $a (Textual holdings) in one of the 866-868 Textual Holdings fields.

 

  • m - Mixed levels
Holdings are recorded at more than one level. The value in the first indicator position (Field encoding level) of the applicable 863-868 field indicates the level for each holdings data field.
  • z - Other level

1 - Holdings level 1

Code 1 indicates that the holdings statement is formulated according to level I of the applicable standard. Minimally, it consists of an item identifier for the bibliographic item for which holdings are recorded and a location identifier. The item identifier may be contained in one of the following fields:

 

  • 004 Control Number for Related Bibliographic Record
    • 010 Library of Congress Control Number
    • 014 Linkage Number
    • 020 International Standard Book Number
    • 022 International Standard Serial Number
    • 023 Standard Film Number (when defined)
    • 024 Standard Recording Number
    • 027 Standard Technical Report Number
    • 030 CODEN Designation

    The location identifier is contained in subfield $a (Location) of field 852 (Location).

    2 - Holdings level 2

    Code 2 indicates that the holdings statement is formulated according to level 2 of the applicable standard. Minimally, in addition to the requirements for level 1, it includes a code in each of the following 008 (Fixed-Length Data Elements) and, when appropriate, 007 (Physical Description Fixed Field) character positions:

     

    • 007/00 Category of material
    • 007/01 Specific material designation
    • 008/06 Receipt or acquisition status
    • 008/12 General retention policy
    • 008/16 Completeness
    • 008/26-31 Date of report

    3 - Holdings level 3

    Code 3 indicates that the holdings statement is formulated according to level 3 of the applicable standard. Minimally, in addition to the requirements for level 2, it includes summary holdings information, that is, holdings at the first level of enumeration and chronology, in one or more of the following holdings data fields:

     

    • 853 Captions and Pattern-Basic Bibliographic Unit
    ul> 863 Enumeration and Chronology-Basic Bibliographic Unit
  • 866 Textual Holdings-Basic Bibliographic Unit
  • 854 Captions and Pattern-Supplementary Material
  • 864 Enumeration and Chronology-Supplementary Material
  • 867 Textual Holdings-Supplementary Material
  • 855 Captions and Pattern-Indexes
  • 865 Enumeration and Chronology-Indexes
  • 868 Textual Holdings-Indexes

4 - Holdings level 4

Code 4 indicates that the holdings statement is formulated according to level 4 of the applicable standard. Minimally, in addition to the requirements for level 2, it includes detailed holdings information, that is, the first and all subsequent levels of enumeration and chronology in either itemized or compressed form or a combination of the two, in one or more of the 853-855 Captions and Pattern, 863-865 Enumeration and Chronology, and 866-868 Textual Holdings fields.

5 - Holdings level 4 with piece designation

Code 5 indicates that, in addition to the requirements for Level 4, the holdings statement includes information that identifies a single physical part in subfield p (Piece designation) in an 852 (Location) field, in subfield $p (Piece designation) in an 863-865 Enumeration and Chronology field or in subfield $p (Piece designation) in an 876-878 Item Information field, or in subfield a (Textual holdings) in an 866-868 Textual Holdings field.

 

  • m - Mixed levels
Code m indicates that the level of the holdings statement is mixed, for example, when the levels for retrospective and current holdings differ. The applicable 863-865 Enumeration and Chronology and 866-868 Textual Holdings fields contain a value in the first indicator position (Field encoding level) that indicates the level of each holdings data field.
  • z - Other level
Code z indicates that the holdings statement does not meet any of the levels of specificity defined by the other codes.

$p - Piece designation

Subfield $p contains an identification of a single piece when the holdings information does not contain an 863-865 (Enumeration and Chronology) or 876-878 (Item Information) field that contains a subf ield $p (Piece designation). The designation may be an identification number such as a bar code number or an accession number.

Basically, my understanding of Enc/L 5 is that your barcode number or accession number is contained somewhere on the MFH record. Since most people use the item record to hold the barcode number, you would not use Enc/L 5 on your MHF record.[review]

/18 - ITEM INFORMATION IN RECORD

One character code that indicates whether item information is in the record, contained in one or more occurrences of fields 876-878 (Item Information fields).

 

  • i - Item information
  • n - No item information