Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources

Associations

Early Music America 
http://earlymusic.org/ A not-for-profit service organization for the field of historical performance in North America.

 

Music Library Association (MLA) 
http://www.musiclibraryassoc.org

 

Music Libraries and Library Associations 
http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/musiclib.htm

 

Music OCLC Users Group : MOUG 
http://www.musicoclcusers.org/ The Music OCLC Users Group was established in 1977 and developed from a task force organized by OCLC to address matters associated with OCLC's implementation of the MARC music formats for scores and sound recordings.
Sibly Music Library 
http://www.rochester.edu/Eastman/sibley/reference/guides/ Suggested class numbers and subjects by instrument.

Cataloging

Best Practices for Music Cataloging Using RDA and MARC21 / Music Library Association's Bibliographic Control Committee 
http://bcc.musiclibraryassoc.org/BCC-Historical/BCC2015/RDA_Best_Practices_for_Music_Cataloging_v1.1-150217.pdf

 

Composer Cutter Table 
http://staff.library.mun.ca/staff/toolbox/tables/composer.htm

 

Composer timeline - Classical music 
http://www.classical-composers.org/page/time

 

Dating LPs 
http://s.faculty.umkc.edu/sistrunkw/poster.htm This site includes a bibliography of selected reference resources all catalogers will find useful for dating LPs, provides examples of cover art and styles indigenous to certain eras, and gives anecdotal evidence to illustrate the finer art of dating LPs.

 

Genre, medium, subject, and other controlled vocabularies / Music Library Association, Cataloging and Metadata Committee
http://www.musiclibraryassoc.org/page/cmc_genremediumproj

 

Music Cataloging at Yale 
http://web.library.yale.edu/cataloging/music

 

Music Discovery Requirements 2 (MDR2) 
http://www.musiclibraryassoc.org/mpage/mdr_es The MDR2 explores �discovery needs specific to and especially important for music materials, particularly scores and recordings.� We recommend it to everyone creating or configuring discovery systems that will include music, including vendors, systems librarians, and music librarians. The MDR2 updates the 2012 MDR and in particular incorporates: RDA updates, MARC updates, LCGFT, and LCMPT. The MDR2 is available in an easy-to-navigate HTML version and as a full PDF version

 

Notes Style Sheet 
https://www.areditions.com/mla/notes/stylesheet.html Scores, books, and CD's

 

OCLC Bibliographic Formats and Standards : Type for hymnals 
http://www.oclc.org/oclc/bib/type.htm Use code "a" (i.e., BKS format) for hymnals with only text and no music and for collections of hymnal text not related to a particular hymnal. Opera librettos and other texts of musical works are also "a"

 

Subject Headings for Instrumental Music / Yale 
http://www.library.yale.edu/cataloging/music/subinstr.htm

 

Types of compositions for use in music uniform titles 
http://www.library.yale.edu/cataloging/music/typesrda.htm A manual for use with RDA

 

Using Uniform Titles / David E. Fenske ...
http://www.music.indiana.edu/collections/uniform/uniform.html

 

Metadata for Music Resources / Music Library Association Bibliographic Control Committe 
http://www.musiclibraryassoc.org/page/bcc_meta_resources

Online

All Music Guide 
http://www.allmusic.com

 

Fiddle Tunes of the Old Frontier: The Henry Reed Collection 
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/hrhtml A multi-format ethnographic field collection of traditional fiddle tunes performed by Henry Reed of Glen Lyn, Virginia.

 

Fiddler's Companion 
http://www.ceolas.org/tunes/fc/

 

Fold Music Site Search 
http://www.contemplator.com/search/search.htm

 

"Now What a Time": Blues, Gospel, and the Fort Valley Music Festivals, 1938-1943 
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/ftvhtml/ Consists of approximately one hundred sound recordings, primarily blues and gospel songs, and related documentation from the folk festival at Fort Valley State College

Publishers

ABC Acquisitions Vendors 
https://libguides.und.edu/c.php?g=885639&p=6363944

 

AcqWeb's Music Publishers and Vendors 
http://www.acqweb.org/pubr.html

 

Boosey & Hawkes, Inc. 
http://www.boosey.com Scores, books, and CD's

 

Electronic Score Publisher 
http://www.score-on-line.com Free full music scores for various instruments, including the piano. Search by title or author. Scores arrive by e-mail in PDF within minutes.

Resources

Bach Bibliography Database 
http://www.music.qub.ac.uk/~tomita/bachbib.html

 

Beethoven Database 
http://www.sjsu.edu/beethoven/

 

ChoralNet Internet Center for Choral Music 
http://www.choralnet.org/ ChoralNet's purpose is to be the one place on the Internet where choral musicians can go to begin any of their activity. There are well over 1000 links from the ChoralNet Web Site to other web pages on the Internet having to do with choral music and related fields. It is an officially sanctioned activity of the International Federation for Choral Music and so attempts to encompass more than regional or national efforts.

 

Copyright for music librarians 
http://copyright.musiclibraryassoc.org/

 

Lyrics 
http://www.lyrics.ch/index.htm
http://www.lyrics.com
http://www.lyricsconnection.com/
http://www.lyricsofsongs.com/
http://www.lyricsworld.com
http://www.ohhla.com

 

Necrology : Gaylord Music Library 
http://library.wustl.edu/units/music/necro/ Musicians' birth / death dates

 

Thematic Indexes : Music Library Association 
http://bcc.musiclibraryassoc.org/BCC-Historical/BCC2011/Thematic_Indexes.htm Thematic indexes being used in the creation of authorized and variant access points in the LC NACO Authority File

 

Worldwide Internet Music Resources / Indiana University, Music Resources
http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/

Scores

Allegro Music Online 
http://www.allegromusiconline.com/ Source for print music and music supplies. A full line of piano teaching materials and supplies, classical, sacred, popular, Broadway, vocal, wedding, and children's sheet music and books, CD Sheet Music, Suzuki method materials, violin strings and supplies.

 

Brodt Music Company 
http://www.brodt-music.com/ Internet source for printed music of all publishers, musical merchandise and gifts. Brodt Music Company in Charlotte, North Carolina, serves the needs of the music professional and amateur.

 

Burt & Company Discount Music Supply 
http://www.burtnco.com Retail Discount Distributors of Alfred, Associated Board of Royal Schools, Amsco, Augsburg, Barenreiter, Beckenhorst, Benson, Belwin Mills, Boosey & Hawkes, Boston, Breitkopf & Haertel, Broude Bros, Carl Fischer, Concordia, Faber & Faber, Flammer, F J H Music, Frederick Harris, Galaxy, Hal Leonard, Henle, Hinshaw, Hope, International, Kalmus, Koenemann, Lillenas, Lorenz, Mark, Foster, Masters, Mel Bay, Myklas Press, Neil A. Kjos, Peters, Presser, ReSa, Schaum, Schirmer, Schott, Shawnee, Summy Birchard, TheoryTime, Trinity College, Warner Bros, Willis, Word ...and more!

 

Music Publications / A-R Editions, Inc.
http://www.areditions.com/rr/ Publishes seven series of musicological editions that present music brought to light in the course of current research. Each Recent Researches edition is devoted to works by a single composer or to a single genre of composition.

 

Catalog of Sheet Music 
http://www.carus-verlag.com/index.php3?BLink=Noten

 

ClarinetPuppy.com 
http://www.clarinetpuppy.com/ Music for clarinet. Access available for other instruments.

 

Cyber Hymnal 
http://www.cyberhymnal.org Over 2,700 Christian hymns and gospel songs from many denominations; lyrics, scores, MIDI files, pictures, history, etc.

 

Dorn Publications, Inc. 
http://www.dornpub.com/ We publish Saxophone Journal and Jazz Player magazines and sell saxophone sheet music and books, saxophone teaching videos, saxophone performance videos, classical saxophone recordings, axophone method books, saxophone reeds, reed accessories, clarinet sheet music and books, clarinet reeds, reed accessories, clarinet recordings, jazz books, jazz instrumental books, jazz composing and arranging books, jazz theory books, jazz performance videos, jazz people and history books, Jamey Aebersold play-alongs, big band charts, flute books, oboe books, violin & piano music, brass music, percussion & piano music.

 

DoverPublications.com 
http://store.doverpublications.com/by-subject-music.html Over 100 books on music and over 600 scores--piano, orchestral, opera, chamber music, miniature scores, and more--at the best prices in music publishing today!

 

Educator's Music 
http://www.educatorsmusic.com Music stores; sheet music

 

Encore Music Company 
http://www.encoremusic.com/

 

Carl Fischer 
http://www.carlfischer.com Music publishers

 

Flute Network 
http://www.flutenet.com/ The Flute Network is a non-profit educational corporation which is now in its 17th year of serving flutists, flute teachers

 

Flute World Online 
http://www.fluteworld.com/ Flute World is America's flute specialty house. We offer the largest variety of top quality student and professional flutes and piccolos. Our Web site provides access to over 12,000 products including instruments, sheet music, recorded music, and accessories.

 

Theodore Front Musical Literature, Inc. 
http://www.TFront.com/ This site was designed as a primary resource for the serious musician, institution and music lover. Our goal is to provide easy access to performing and study music editions as well as historical, biographical and theoretical monographs (books).

 

GIA Publications, Inc. 
http://www.giamusic.com/ Sacred choral music, hymnals, sacred music recordings, music education materials.

 

Global Electronic Music Marketplace Music, books, videos - 11 million items.

 

Grove Diciontaries, Inc. 
http://www.grovereference.com/

 

Harrassowitz 
http://www.harrassowitz.de/ HARRASSOWITZ specializes in the distribution of scholarly books, periodicals, e-journals, and music scores to academic and research libraries.

 

Hickey's Music Online 
http://www.hickeys.com Music catalog

 

International Music Company 
http://www.internationalmusicco.com/

 

Edwin F. Kalmus & Co., Inc. 
http://www.kalmus-music.com/ In addition to the standard repertoire Orchestral works, we offer music for School and Community Orchestra, String Orchestra, Wind Ensemble, Choral and Vocal Works, Arias, Operas and Operettas (also in reduced orchestrations), Christmas Music (including the renowned arrangements of Arthur Harris), Symphonic Pops, Music of Early America, Hymns and Patriotic Songs and individual Orchestra Albums for winds and strings.

 

Ladyslipper Music 
http://ladyslipper.org/ Ladyslipper is a non-profit organization whose primary purpose is to heighten public awareness of the achievements of women artists and musicians, and to expand the scope and availability of recordings by women.

 

Hal Leonard Online 
http://www.halleonard.com/ Sheet music, music books, software and videos.

 

J. & J. Lubrano, Music Antiquarians 
http://www.BookMarque.Net/Lubrano/ Musical Autographs & Manuscripts, Rare Printed Music & Musical Literature, Rare Dance Books

 

Lux Nova Press 
http://www.luxnova.com/

 

Music Catalog Directory 
http://www.magnamusic.com/catalogdir.html

 

Makoche 
http://www.makoche.com/ The music presented by Makoch� is influenced by Native American culture; both traditional and contemporary.

 

Masters Music Publications, Inc. 
http://www.masters-music.com/ Catalog of the finest in rare, out-of-print, and foreign editions of musical works

 

MENC : the National Association for Music Education 
http://www.menc.org/

 

Meredith Music Publications 
http://www.meredithmusic.com/

 

MMB Music, Inc. 
http://www.mmbmusic.com/ Books, tapes and videos in the areas of music, art, drama, poetry, movement/dance, and the prevention and treatment of injuries in performing artists.

 

Mostyn Music : Woodwind solos and ensemble
http://www.mostynmusic.com/index.asp

 

Music Publishers Association of the United States 
http://www.mpa.org/

 

Music Shoppe 
http://www.music-shoppe.com/ Gospel music

 

Online Music Scores (to Download) 
http://plato.acadiau.ca/courses/musi/callon/2273/scores.htm Scores that may be downloaded free of charge

 

Oxford University Press. Music Dept. 
http://www.oup.com/us/catalog/general/subject/Music/ Publishes concert, educational, and sacred music

 

Panyard, Inc. 
http://www.panyard.com PANYARD, INC. offers pans (steel drums), accessories, recordings, and sheet music for today's panists and steelbands. We are the largest manufacturer of steel drums in North America

 

Peermusic 
http://www.peermusicclassical.com/ American composers of the mid-20th century, the soundworld of Latin America, and the cutting-edge voices of some of today's most exciting composers from around the world. Highlights below are adapted from an essay by Frank J. Oteri..

 

Pel Music Publications Catalog 
http://www.pelmusic.com/catalog.php

 

Pendragon Press 
http://www.pendragonpress.com/ Pendragon Press has served the musicological community with the publication of reference works of the highest quality, research tools of lasting value, and seminal scholarship not otherwise available.

 

J.W. Pepper 
http://www.jwpepper.com/ Sheet music retailer

 

Princeton University Press 
http://www.pup.princeton.edu/

 

Repertoire International de la Press Musicale (RIPM) 
http://www.ebscohost.com/academic/ripm-retrospective-index-to-music-periodicals The R�pertoire international de la presse musicale (RIPM) is one of four international cooperative bibliographic undertakings in music.

 

Santa Barbara Music Publishing 
http://www.sbmp.com/ Choral catalog and music scores

 

G. Schirmer, Inc. 
http://www.schirmer.com

 

Shattinger Music Online 
http://www.shattingermusic.com Sheet music, etc.

 

Sony Classical 
http://www.sonymasterworks.com/ You can use this site to find out about your favorite artists, the latest releases, and to discover new music. You can research a performer or composer, find out when your favorite artist is appearing near you

 

Southern Music Company 
http://www.southernmusic.com/ Southern Music Company publishes music of many well-known composers and is a distributor of music for over 500 publishers from around the world.

 

Stanton's Sheet Music Online 
http://www.stantons.com/ Order sheet music for choral, jazz, band, elementary, etc. music.

 

Trillium Music Company and Tunbridge Music 
http://www.trillmusic.com/ Sheet music

 

VocalSource 
http://www.vocalsource.com/ Strives to be the best source of sheet music for vocal professionals and students.

 

Woodwind, Brasswind 
http://www.wwandbw.com/ Musical instrument supplies

 

Woodwind, Brasswind 
http://www.westmusic.com/ Percussion instruments and music instruction

Sound Recordings

Advancing Independent Music Organization 
http://AIMusic.ORG Children's, jazz, Native American, celtic, bands, bluegrass, rock, new age, etc.

 

All Record Labels 
http://allrecordlabels.com A database of over 15,000 record label web sites indexed by genre, format, and location.

 

Arhoolie Records 
http://www.arhoolie.com/ Blues, zydeco, cajun, country, oldtime, gospel, jazz, tejano, world music, videos, books.

 

Arsis Audio Catalog 
http://www.arsisaudio.com/

 

Berkshire Record Outlet 
http://broinc.com/ Various. Includes search screen.

 

Camsco Music 
http://www.camsco.com/ Folk music recordings

 

CDNOW 
http://www.cdnow.com/ Various. More than 500,000 music and entertainment-related products, including CDs, vinyl, cassettes, music videos, movies, DVDs, electronics, digital music downloads, and special product offerings

 

CD Universe 
http://www.cduniverse.com/ Music, DVD, movies, games.

 

Centaur Catalog 
http://www.centaurrecords.com/ Instrumental, classical, ensembles, electronic/computer and electro-acoustic, contemporary, world music, etc.

 

Crystal Records Inc. 
http://www.crystalrecords.com/ Instrumental solo and ensemble music recordings

 

iClassics 
http://www.iclassics.com/ Classical music, soundtracks, Broadway shows, and jazz

 

Descarga.com 
http://www.descarga.com/ Tropical Latin compact discs, videos, books, instructional material and percussion instruments.

 

Gothic Records 
http://www.gothicrecords.com Organ and choral recordings

 

H & B Recordings Direct 
http://www.hbdirect.com/

 

Music Library Service Company 
http://www.mlscmusic.com/ Music Library Service Company is a wholesale provider of recorded music and videos exclusively for libraries.

 

Parnassus Classical Compact Discs and Records 
http://www.parnassusrecords.com/ Videos, CD's. Includes re-issue and contemporary classical compact discs

 

Sound Sensations Music 
http://www.soundsensationsmusic.com CD�s, Cassettes or DVD�s

 

Smithsonian Folkways 
http://www.si.edu/folkways/ 2,500 historic recordings

 

TowerRecords.com 
http://www.towerrecords.com:80/ Classical, DVD, videos, "music" including international music, blues, jazz, folk, gospel, etc.

 

Ultimate Band List 
http://www.ubl.com/ Alternative, blues, classical, country, electronic, hip hop, jazz, reggae, rock, soul/R&B, spoken, world.

 

Universal Classics.com 
http://www.universalclassics.com/ Classical music

 

Virginmega.com / Virgin Records
http://virginmega.com/

 

World Music Store.com 
http://www.worldmusicstore.com/ Worldmusicstore.com is the web site of Audio Alternatives, a company dedicated to providing the best and widest selection possible of traditional and contemporary world music and dance compact discs, videos, books, and CD-ROMs. The site is designed to meet the needs of music educators and researchers around the world, librarians, music and dance faculty, media centers, as well as world music and dance fans.