Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources

HTML

ColorMaker Tutorial 
http://www.bagism.com/colormaker/

 

CSSI 
http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-CSS1-961217.html Cascading style sheets, level 1 for HTML documents

 

HTML 
http://hake.com/gordon/w3-index.html

 

HTMLelementary 
http://labrocca.com/htmlementary/ An introduction to HTML and Web pages / P.J. LaBrocca

 

HyperText Markup Language (HTML) 
http://www.w3.org/MarkUp/ Working and Background Materials

 

URN Namespaces (Uniform Resource Names) 
http://www.iana.org/assignments/urn-namespaces For all registries, see: http://www.iana.org/numbers.htm

 

Webmonkey 
http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/

 

Writing for the Web : a primer for librarians / Eric H. Schnell
http://bones.med.ohio-state.edu/eric/papers/primer/toc.html

XML, etc.

"The Semantic Web is a layered structure. XML forms the basis, being the transport syntax. RDF provides the information representation framework, and on top of this layer, schemas and ontologies provide the logical apparatus necessary for the expression of vacabularies, enabling inteliigent processing of information"--http://www.cetis.ac.uk/content/20010927172953/viewArticle (Eric Miller)

 

ADL Thesaurus Protocol 
http://www.alexandria.ucsb.edu/thesaurus/specification.html The ADL Thesaurus Protocol is a lightweight, stateless, XML- and HTTP-based protocol for accessing thesauri: structured, controlled vocabularies of words and phrases that represent conceptual categories. The protocol is based on the Z39.19 thesaurus model and supports downloading, querying, and navigating thesauri.

 

Berkeley DB XML 
http://sleepycat.com/products/xml.shtml Berkeley DB XML is an application-specific native XML data manager built on Berkeley DB. Berkeley DB XML is supplied as a library that links directly into the application's address space. Berkeley DB XML stores XML documents in collections. A single application may operate on many collections at the same time. A single application may also combine data from different collections easily. Berkeley DB XML enables fast look up by allowing individual collections to be indexed differently. This allows Berkeley DB XML to speed up the common queries over particular collections. Each collection supports multiple indexes. A wide variety of available indexing schemes support different XPath queries efficiently.

 

California Digital Library standards 
http://www.cdlib.org/services/dsc/contribute/docs/GDO.pdf CDL has adopted guidelines for the use of standards ... an XML DTD, Digital Image FOrmat Standards, and Online Archive of California Best Practices Guidelines ...using Encoded Archival Description for finding aids.

 

Extensible Markup Language 
http://www.w3.org/XML/ W3C (XML)

 

Extensible Markup Language (XML) 1.0 
http://www.xml.com/axml/target.html Interactive version http://www.xml.com/pub/axml/axmlintro.html

 

Data Documentation Initiative 
http://www.ddialliance.org A project to develop an XML document type definition for data documentation.

 

Publishing Dissertations at the University of Michigan in XML 
http://www.umdl.umich.edu/pubs/um_diss_study.html

 

Free XML Tools and Software 
http://www.garshol.priv.no/download/xmltools/

 

Getting Started with XML 
http://www.infomotions.com/musings/getting-started/ Designed for librarians and library staff.

 

HP's work on the Semantic Web 
http://www.hpl.hp.com/semweb/ Jena, a very powerful java API for RDF: http://www.hpl.hp.com/semweb/jena-top.html

 

Internet Explorer Tools for Validating XML and Viewing XSLT Output 
http://www.msdn.microsoft.com/

 

LibData: Library Web Management System 
">http://www.bpeters.com LibD LibData is a library-oriented web-based application consisting of an integrated database architecture and authoring environment for the publication of subject pathfinders, course-related pages, and all purpose web pages. This application was designed for, but is not limited to, academic and public libraries.

 

James (Java MARC Events) 
http://plato.lib.umn.edu/
http://sourceforge.net/projects/libdata/ James is a free Java package that provides an event model for MARC records through Java callbacks. It is inspired by the Simple API for XML (SAX). I provides a round trip from MARC to non-MARC and back again.

 

Mapping DTDs to Databases / Ronald Bourret http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2001/05/09/dtdtodbs.html Representing XML structures in RDBMS tables

 

MARCXML 
http://www.loc.gov/marcxml Official XML version of the complete MARC21 format and an architecture of transformations and programs.

 

MARC4J 
http://marc4j.tigris.org MARC4J is a continuation of James (Java Marc Events).

 

Metadata Authority Description Schema (MADS) 
http://www.loc.gov/mads A bibliographic element set that may be used for a variety of purposes, particularly for library applications.

 

Metadata Object Description Description Schema (MODS) 
http://www.loc.gov/mods The Library of Congress' Network Development and MARC Standards Office has drafted an XML schema for an authority element set that may be used to provide metadata about agents (people, organizations), events, and terms (topics, geographics, genres, etc.). This Metadata Authority Description Schema (MADS) was created to serve as a companion to the Metadata Object Description Schema (MODS).

 

MRML : Multimedia Retrieval Markup Language
http://www.rpbourret.com/xml/NamespacesFAQ.htm This FAQ provides information on combining elements from multiple namespaces.

 

Namespaces in XML 
http://www.mrml.net/ This is a brief description of the Multimedia Retrieval Markup Language (MRML). This XML-based markup language is the basis for an open communication protocol for content-based image retrieval systems (CBIRSs). MRML was initially designed as a means of separating CBIR engines from their user interfaces. It is, however, also extensible as the basis for standardized performance evaluation procedures.

 

National Library of Medicine's (NLM) XML format 
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/sample_records_avail.html

 

NLM MEDLINE DTD
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/databases/dtd/nlmmedline.dtd

 

ONIX International 
http://www.editeur.org/onix.html The ONIX International standard is the international standard for representing and communicating book industry proudct information in electronic form. The XML DTC supports the extended characters sets in HTML as well as full UNICODE implementations.

 

Open Directory Project 
http://www.dmoz.org

 

Ontology building: a survey of editing tools. 
http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2002/11/06/ontologies.html

 

PRISM : Publishing Requirements for Industry Standard Metadata
http://www.prismstandard.org The Publishing Requirements for Industry Standard Metadata (PRISM) specification is a standard for content description, interchange, and reuse in both traditional and electronic publishing contexts. PRISM defines an extensible, RDF-compliant metadata framework, a rich set of descriptive elements, and vocabularies for the values of those elements. PRISM is an extensible XML metadata standard for syndicating, aggregating, post-processing and multi-purposing content from magazines, news, catalogs, books and mainstream journals.

 

RDF 
http://www.w3.org/RDF/

 

Resource Description Framework (RDF) 
http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-rdf-syntax/ Model and Syntax Specification - W3C

 

RSS 1.0 
http://purl.org/rss/1.0/

 

Semantic Web Advanced Development 
http://www.w3c.org/2000/01/sw/ Semantic web - a web of data that can be processed directly or indirectly by machines. Advanced development by W3C.

 

SGML/XML Web Page 
http://www.oasis-open.org/cover/sgml-xml.html

 

Spectrum XML-DTD Testbed Project 
http://www.w3.org/RDF/

 

teiPublisher 
http://teipublisher.sf.net/ We are delighted to announce a beta release of teiPublisher, an extensible, modular and configurable xml-based repository. teiPublisher was developed to bridge the gap between having a collection of structured documents that are posted on the Web as static HTML or XML pages, and having a functional digital repository.

 

Topic Maps 
http://www.topicmaps.org/standards/

 

Web standards for describing data : portions of the landscape / Eric Miller and Diane Hillman. 1999.
http://www.oclc.org/~emiller/talks/ala99/ccdatf/

 

XML Cover Pages
http://xml.coverpages.org/ The XML Cover Pages is a comprehensive online reference work for the Extensible Markup Language (XML) and its parent, the Standard Generalized Markup Language (SGML). The reference collection features extensive documentation on the application of the open, interoperable "markup language" standards, including XSL, XSLT, XPath, XQuery, XLink, XPointer, XHTML, HyTime, DSSSL, CSS, SPDL, SVG, CGM, ISO-HTML, and others.

 

XML from the inside out 
http://www.xml.com/xml/pub

 

XML : Libraries' strategic opportunity / Dick Miller
http://www.ljdigital.com/xml.asp

 

XML Name Access Control Repository HKUST Library
http://library.ust.hk/info/nac/ This is a HKUST Library initiative for the creation of metadata for personal authors. It shows how XML technology can be applied to multilingual name representations, resulting in enhanced author identification and global data interchangeability.

 

XMLMARC 
http://xmlmarc.stanford.edu/ Lane Medical Library at Stanford University released XMLMARC software Dec. 29, 1999. This Java client/server program converts MARC to XML based on flexible maps and simplified, yet detailed DTDs for bibliographic and authorities formats.

 

XML query 
http://www.w3.org/TR/xmlquery-req

 

XOBIS: the XML Organic Bibliographic Information Schema 
http://xobis.stanford.edu/ XOBIs attempts to restructure broadly interpreted bibliographic information and authority records in an exploration of the feasibility of replacing MARC.

 

Zthes a Z39.50 Profile for Thesaurus Navigation - XML Specifications
http://zthes.z3950.org/xml/index.html

Note: When using XML's empty-element tag, as with the br, hr, and img elements, place a spece before the closing slash, e.g. "br /"