Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources

Astronomy

Astronomy Thesaurus Index
http://msowww.anu.edu.au/library/thesaurus/english/

A thesaurus of terminology in the field of astronomy.

Birds

Bird Families of the World : The Sibley and Monroe Classification
http://montereybay.com/creagrus/list.html

Climate

Glossary (Weather Channel) 
http://www.weather.com/glossary/

Fossils

Royal Tyrrell Musem 
http://www.tyrrellmuseum.com

 

The Leakey Foundation 
http://www.leakeyfoundation.org/ A member supported organization committed to research related to human origins.

Insects

Orthoptera Species File Online
http://orthoptera.speciesfile.org/HomePage.aspx

Mammals

Mammal Species of the World / National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution
http://www.vertebrates.si.edu/msw/mswcfapp/msw/index.cfm

The Mammal Species of the World (MSW) contains the names of the 4,629 currently recognized species of mammals, in a taxonomic hierarchy that includes Order, Family, Subfamily, and Genus.

Plants

Dictionary of Common Names 
http://www.joyofplants.com/plantfinder.phpm

 

The Families of Flowering Plants 
http://www.biologie.uni-hamburg.de/b-online/delta/angio/

 

Forestry : Terminology Collection - Online Dictionaries
http://www.uwasa.fi/comm/termino/collect/forestry.html Directory of online directories about forestry.

 

Grass Genera of the World 
http://www.biologie.uni-hamburg.de/b-online/delta/grass/index.htm

 

Index Nominum Genericorum (Plantarum) 
http://botany.si.edu/ing/ The Index Nominum Genericorum (ING), a collaborative project of the International Association for Plant Taxonomy (IAPT) and the Smithsonian Institution, was initiated in 1954 as a compilation of generic names published for all organisms covered by the International Code of Botanical Nomenclature.

 

Index Nominum Supragenericorum Plantarum Vascularium 
http://www.inform.umd.edu/EdRes/Colleges/LFSC/life_sciences/.plant_biology/.WWW/supragen.html The purpose of the project is to capture all valid and legitimate extant vascular plants names, as defined by the International Code of Botanical Nomenclature, proposed above the rank of genus.

 

Plants National Database 
http://plants.usda.gov/ The PLANTS Database is a single source of standardized information about plants. This database focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. The PLANTS Database includes names, checklists, automated tools, identification information, species abstracts, distributional data, crop information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant materials information, plant links, references, and other plant information

 

Vascular Plant Families and Genera 
http://www.rbgkew.org.uk/web.dbs/vascplnt.html The data presented here are taken from the publication  Vascular Plant Families and Genera compiled by R. K. Brummitt and published by the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew in 1992.

Reptiles

The EMBL Reptile Database 
http://www.reptile-database.org/

Taxanomic

Index to Organism Names (OIN) 
http://www.organismnames.com/ The Index to Organism Names is a tool for biologists sponsored and hosted by BIOSIS, incorporating name data from resources of BIOSIS and several other collaborating organizations. It is maintained in the UK by staff of the Zoological Record

 

Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS) 
http://www.itis.gov/ The Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS) is a partnership of U.S., Canadian, and Mexican agencies, other organizations, and taxonomic specialists cooperating on the development of an on-line, scientifically credible, list of biological names focusing on the biota of North America.

Viruses

Index Virum : Catalogue of Viruses
http://www.ictvdb.org