Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources

Library of Congress

Library of Congress 
http://lcweb.loc.gov/ Home Page

 

Library of Congress information especially for librarians and archivists. 
http://lcweb.loc.gov/library/ Home Page

 

Library of Congress RDA: Resource Description and Access Training Materials 
http://www.loc.gov/catworkshop/RDA%20training%20materials/index.html
http://www.loc.gov/catworkshop/RDA%20training%20materials/LC%20RDA%20Training/LC%20RDA%20course%20table.html

 

Library of Congress BIBFRAME 
http://bibframe.org/
http://bibframe.org/documentation/

 

Library of Congress Frequently Asked Questions 
http://www.loc.gov/about/faqs.html General information, digital services, library services, special services and programs

Library of Congress Cataloging Directorate

Library of Congress Acquisitions and Cataloging Access Directorate (formerly Cataloging Directorate)
http://www.loc.gov/aba/ The cataloging Directorate's mission is to provide innovative and effective bibliographic control of the library's collections and leadership to the library and information community in the development of cataloging theory and practice

 

Classification Weekly Lists 
http://www.loc.gov/aba/cataloging/classification/ Scroll down the page to the section titled Library of Congress Classification. The approved weekly lists of new and changed classification numbers appear as the first item in this section.

 

Subject Headings Weekly Lists 
http://www.loc.gov/aba/cataloging/subject/ Weekly updates to Subject Headings, both new headings and cancels.

 

Library of Congress Online Catalog 
http://catalog.loc.gov Search LC Catalogs and view Search Help pages for BROWSE, WORD including Simple Name/Title, Advanced, and Derived Key, or COMMAND to telnet to LOCIS. This is another way to access the Experimental Search System which is a test database and not updated since Sept. 1997.

Library of Congress, Network Development and MARC Standards Office

MARC Home Page 
http://lcweb.loc.gov/marc/ Includes links to the Concise Formats, MARC code lists, general information, documentation, MARC SGML, etc.

 

MARC Documentation Overview 
http://lcweb.loc.gov/marc/status.html Publication status relating for MARC21 formats and code lists published by the Network Development and MARC Standards Office

 

MARC Advisory Committee Proposals (MARBI) 
http://www.loc.gov/marc/marbi/list-p.html

 

MARC Advisory Committee Discussion Papers (MARBI) 
http://www.loc.gov/marc/marbi/list-dp.html

 

MARC Records, Systems and Tools 
http://www.loc.gov/marc/marcservice.html This page lists record services, vendor systems and specialized tools used to support MARC21 formats. Separate lists are maintained for both free and fee-based services, tools, or system.

Program for Cooperative Cataloging

Program for Cooperative Cataloging (PCC) 
http://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/ Program seeks to cooperatively increase the timely availability of authoritative records created and maintained under accepted standards, to facilitate the cost-effective creation and use of these records. Includes BIBCO, NACO, SACO, and CONSER.

 

Bibliographic record component of the PCC (BIBCO) 
http://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/bibco/bibco.html Participants contribute bibliographic records for monographs in all formats to the national databases and participate in the development of national standards.

 

Cooperative Program for Serials Cataloging (CONSER) 
http://lcweb.loc.gov/acq/conser/ A cooperative online serials cataloging program. A source of high quality bibiographic records and documentation for the cataloging of serials.

 

MARC 21 encoding to accommodate new RDA elements in 046 and 3XX in NARs and SARS 
http://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/rda/PCC%20RDA%20guidelines/RDA%20in%20NARs-SARs_PCC.doc

 

Name Authority Component of the PCC (NACO) 
http://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/naco/naco.html NACO provides the means for libraries to submit name headings to the Library of Congress.

 

NACO Frequently Asked Questions 
http://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/naco

 

PCC RDA BIBCO Standard Record (BSR) Metadata Application Profile 
http://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/bibco/documents/PCC-RDA-BSR.pdf

Combined BSR, RDA, and P-N E-Resource Guidelines

 

Relationship Designators - PCC�s Training Manual for Applying Relationship Designators in Bibliographic Records 
http://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/sct/documents/rel-desig-guide-bib.pdf

 

RDA CONSER Standard Record (CSR) Metadata Application Profile 
http://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/conser/documents/CONSER-RDA-CSR.pdf

 

Subject Authority Cooperative Program (SACO) 
http://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/saco/saco.html SACO provides a means for libraries to submit subject headings and classification numbers to the Library of Congress.

 

URIs in MARC / PCC Task Group on URIs in MARC 
http://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/bibframe/TaskGroups/URI-TaskGroup.html

Cataloging Distribution Service (CDS)

Cataloging Distribution Service 
http://www.loc.gov/cds

CDS develops and markets products and services which provide access to Library of Congress resources.

Searching

Library of Congress Online Catalog
http://catalog.loc.gov Search LC's Voyager OPAC by Subj-Name-Title-Call #, Guided Keyword, Command Keyword, Keyword. Authorities not available.

 

Library of Congress WWW/Z39.50 Gateway 
http://lcweb.loc.gov/z3950/gateway.html Z39.50 interface to over 90 online catalogs and databases outside of the Library of Congress.

 

Library of Congress Online Authorities
http://authorities.loc.gov/

Other

CIP 
http://cip.loc.gov Purpose of the CIP Program

 

LC Portals Applications Issues Group : LCPAIG 
http://www.loc.gov/catdir/lcpaig/paig.html The Library of Congress Portals Applications Issues Group ( LCPAIG) started its work in mid-2002 and developed this Web site to organize information about federated search and academic portals and OpenURL resolver products and to share this information with LC staff and the library community. This Web site also organizes links to other Web sites on portals and OpenURL resolvers found in current literature, projects, initiatives and resources from library organizations and professional standards groups and meetings.

 

U.S. Copyright Office Home Page 
http://lcweb.loc.gov/copyright/

 

Library of Congress: State Libraries
http://www.publiclibraries.com/state_library.htm Links to state libraries, state library agencies, and state library networks in the United States.