Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources

Standards

American National Standards Institute 
http://web.ansi.org/ ANSI promotes the use of U.S. standards internationally, advocates U.S. policy and technical positions in international and regional standards organizations, and encourages the adoption of international standards as national standards where these meet the needs of the user community.

 

ASCII table
http://www.asciitable.com/
Extended: http://www.ascii-code.com/

 

Data Dictionary for Technical Metadata for Digital Still Images (NISO Z39.87/AIIM 20) : draft for trial use
http://www.loc.gov/standards/mix/docs/NISODataDictionary_March2002.doc
Supporting draft XML schema (MIX): http://www.loc.gov/standards/mix

 

International Components for Unicode 
http://oss.software.ibm.com/icu/

 

ISBD(G) / IFLA Section on Cataloguing
http://www.ifla.org/VII/s13/pubs/isbdg.htm ISBD (G) is the generalized version of ISBD, the bibliographic description format which is implemented and expanded by AACR2. It is ISBD(G) which JSC is explicitly committed too implementing. Draft for review, 2003-:  http://www.ifla.org/VII/s13/guide/isbdg_wrd.pdf

 

ISBD(ER) : International Standard Bibliographic Description for Electronic Resources
http://www.ifla.org/VII/s13/pubs/isbd.htm The International Standard Bibliographic Description for Electronic Resources - referred to hereinafter as the ISBD(ER) -specifies the requirements for the description and identification of such items, assigns an order to the elements of the description, and specifies a system of punctuation for the description. Electronic resources consist of materials that are computer-controlled, including materials that require the use of a peripheral (e.g. a CD-ROM player) attached to a computer; the items may or may not be used in the interactive mode. Included are two types of resources: data and programs.

 

ISBD(M) : International Standard for Bibliographic Description for Monographic Publications / IFLA Section on Cataloguing, 2002 version 
http://www.ifla.org/VII/s13/pubs/isbd_m0602.pdf

 

ISNI International Standard Name Identifier 
http://www.isni.org/ ISO 27729 - The International Standard Name Identifier (ISNI) is a draft ISO Standard (ISO 27729) whose scope is the identification of Public Identities of parties: that is, the identities used publicly by parties involved throughout the media content industries in the creation, production, management, and content distribution chains. The ISNI system uniquely identifies Public Identities across multiple fields of creative activity.

 

ISBN Revision : 13-digit  Digital World and the Ongoing Development of ISBN : a position paper http://www.nlc-bnc.ca/iso/tc46sc9/docs/sc9n285.pdf FAQ http://www.nlc-bnc.ca/iso/tc46sc9/isbn.htm NISO http://www.niso.org/standards/resources/ISBN.html ISBN Standard Revision:   http://www.isbn-international.org/en/revision.html LC policy:  http://lcweb.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/13digit.html

 

ISRC : International Standard Recording Code 
www.usisrc.org/
ISSN 
http://www.issn.org/ The ISSN is the standardized international code which allows the identification of any serial publication independently of its country of publication, of its language or alphabet, of its frequency, medium, etc. The ISSN network is made up of National Centres, whose work, consisting in the identification and registration of serials is coordinated by the ISSN International Centre situated in Paris.

 

MARC 21 Specifications for Record Structure, Character Sets, and Exchange Media
http://lcweb.loc.gov/marc/specifications/speccharintro.html 

 

MARCXML 
http://www.loc.gov/standards/marcxml Official XML version of the complete MARC21 format and an architecture of transformations and programs.

 

Metadata Encoding and Transmission Standard (METS) 
http://www.loc.gov/standards/mets/ An XML schema designed for the purpose of describing digital objects in library collections. The schema provides a standard form for the recording and transmission of structural, administrative and technical metadata.

 

NCIP home page 
http://www.ncip.info

 

NISO Home Page 
http://www.niso.org/ The National Information Standards Organization (NISO) develops and promotes technical standards used in a wide variety of information services. NISO is a nonprofit association accredited as a standards developer by the American National Standards Institute, the national clearinghouse for voluntary standards development in the U.S. To obtain a copy of a standard, select "NISO Press", then "Standards, Books, and Software." You can search for the title you want or review a list of all approved and published NISO standards and technical reports.

 

ONIX International 
http://www.editeur.org/onix.html The ONIX International standard is the international standard for representing and communicating book industry product information in electronic form. The XML DTC supports the extended characters sets in HTML as well as full UNICODE implementations. In the USA, the Book Industry Study Group (BISG), http://www.bisg.org is coordinating implementation and input to the international steering group for ONIX.

 

ONIX for serials / EDItEUR
http://www.editeur.org/onixserials.html

 

Open eBook(G)
http://www.openebook.org Open eBook Forum (OEF) is an international, non-profit trade organization whose mission is to promote the creation of a thriving ePublishing market through the development of standards.

 

OpenURL standard, NISO 39.88 
http://www.niso.org

 

PALS Usage Statistics Working Group 
http://www.usagestats.org/ Publishers and Libraries Solutions (PALS) group ... to develop a Code of Practice for vendor based e-journal and the database usage statistics.

 

SUSHI 
http://www.niso.org/committees/SUSHI/SUSHI_comm.html NISO Standardized Usage Statistics Harvesting Initiative (SUSHI)

 

UNICODE 
http://www.unicode.org Unicode provides a unique number for every character, no matter what the platform, no matter what the program, no matter what the language. Founded in 1991 following several years of informal cooperation, the Unicode Consortium continues to develop and promote The Unicode Standard, aid in its implementation, and works to maintain quality control over future revisions to the Standard. Unicode 3.2 released, Apr. 2002. It adds 1,016 characters and updated conformance issues. It is fully synchronized with International Standard ISO/IEC 10646-1:2000. See http://www.unicode.org/unicode/reports/tr28/

 

US ISSN Center (Z39.7) 
http://www.loc.gov/issn/

 

Z39.50 profiles / Network Development & MARC Standards Office, Z39.50 Maintenance Agency
http://lcweb.loc.gov/z3950/agency/profiles/profiles.html The Z39.50 Maintenance Agency is involved in the development of profiles for Z39.50, and supports the development of IRPs; the development of ISPs is out of scope. However, some of the guidelines described in TR-10000 are useful, in particular, the elements of a profile, and the principles of profiles.