Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources

Archives and Linking

Berlin Declaration on Open Access 
http://oa.mpg.de/lang/en-uk/berlin-prozess/berliner-erklarung In this Declaration, all of Germany's principal scientific and scholarly institutions, including the Max-Planck Society, as well as a growing number of their counterparts from other countries (such as France's CNRS) have signed their commitment to open access to scientific and scholarly research.

 

Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI) 
http://www.soros.org/openaccess/

 

CLOCKSS / ensuring long-term access to digital content 
http://www.clockss.org/clockss/Home

 

eprints.org 
http://www.eprints.org Eprints.org is dedicated to the freeing of the refereed research literature through author-institution self-archiving.

 

Library without Walls / Los Alamos National Laboratory
http://lib-www.lanl.gov/lww/add.htm A bibliography on SFX, digital archives, and reference linking

 

Open Archives 
http://www.openarchives.org/ Eprints.org is dedicated to the freeing of the refereed research literature through author-institution self-archiving.

 

Metadata Harvesting and the Open Archives Initiative / Clifford Lynch
http://www.arl.org/resources/pubs/br/br217/br217mhp.shtml

 

Open URL 
http://www.exlibrisgroup.com/category/sfxopenurl NISO proposal for an Open URL standard. This work will enable development of user-specific services in the scholarly communications industry and other information fields.

 

OAI 1.0 
http://www.openarchives.org/OAI/openarchivesprotocol.htm The papers in all OAI-compliant Archives can be harvested using the protocol.

Preservation

Automatic Exposure - Technical Metadata for Digital Still Images 
http://www.oclc.org/research/activities/past/rlg/automaticexposure/ae_whitepaper_2003.pdf The project engages both manufacturer-vendors and cultural heritage professionals to determine how digital repositories and asset management systems can be supplied with technical metadata that is automatically captured by high-end scanners and digital cameras. The Digital Library Federation, Museum Computer Network, and former CIMI consortium have all expressed support for this effort.

 

CONTENTdm Software Suite 
http://contentdm.org Mission is to set the standard in providing powerful and cost-effective technologies for preserving, archiving, and accessing digital assets.

 

Data Dictionary for Preservation Metadata: final report of the PREMIS Working Group
http://www.oclc.org/research/projects/pmwg/premis-final.pdf The software places copyright information within the image to help identify unauthorized use.

 

DigiMarc 
http://www.digimarc.com The software places copyright information within the image to help identify unauthorized use.

 

Digital Preservation Management / Cornell University Library
http://www.library.cornell.edu/iris/tutorial/dpm/

 

Greenstone : digital library software
http://www.greenstone.org

 

The Handbook 
http://www.dpconline.org/publications/digital-preservation-handbook The handbook provides an internationally authoritative and practical guide to the subject of managing digital resources over time and the issues in sustaining access to them.

 

Preservation Resources 
http://www.oclc.org/services/collection/default.htm
Search database: http://www2.oclc.org/oclc/presres/presresearch.asp  Preservation Resources has made available online an annotated bibliographic database of publications related to preservation and digitization

 

Sustainablity of digital formats / Library of Congress
http://www.digitalpreservation.gov/formats/fdd/descriptions.shtml

Projects

Building a national strategy for preservation : issues in digital media archiving 
http://www.clir.org/pubs/reports/pub106/contents.html

 

CAMiLEON 
http://www2.si.umich.edu/CAMILEON/ The CAMiLEON Project will evaluate emulation as a digital preservation strategy.

 

Digital Libraries Initiative 
http://www.nsf.gov/pubs/1998/nsf9863/nsf9863.htm

 

Florida State Archives Photographic Collection 
http://fpc.dos.state.fl.us/

 

MINERVA : Mapping the INternet Electronic Resources Virtual Archive / Library of Congress 
http://www.loc.gov/minerva/

 

Minnesota Digital Library Project
http://www.mndigital.org The archives, historical society, libraries, and museums of Minnesota will collaboratively build a coordinated access to Minnesota's resources. Guide and best practices: http://www.mndigital.org/digitizing/standards

 

Digitizing Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for a full color, publicly accessible collecction 
http://www.dlib.org/dlib/july02/arlitsch/07arlitsch.html

 

Greenstone : digital library software 
http://www.dlib.org/dlib/october01/witten/10witten.html

 

Registry of Digital Masters / Digital Library Federation 
http://www.diglib.org/collections/reg/reg.htm

Note. To catalog digitized photographs, use: Type "k", BLvl "m" for still images, Form "s". 006 and 007 for the computer file aspects; an additional 007 for the nonprojected graphics aspect; GMD "[electronic resource]"; 246, 260, 300 for the original; 533 for details relating to reproduction, and 856 for the URL. See Rule and LCRI 1.11A. For subjects, assume these to be "actual" photographs, not reproductions which might be collections in a book. Try "su photographs and ft com and yr 2002-" for examples.