Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources

General

ALCTS CCS Subject Analysis Committee. Subcommittee on Metadata 
http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alcts/mgrps/ccs/cmtes/ats-ccssac.cfm

 

ALCTS-CC:DA Taskforce on Metadata 
http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alcts/mgrps/taskforces/metadataenrichment.cfm

 

Digital Libraries : Resources and Projects
http://www.ifla.org/II/diglib.htm

 

Federal Geographic Data Committee
http://www.fgdc.gov/metadata

 

Global Information Location Service (GILS) 
(Global Information Location Service) GILS uses ISO 10163 (ANSI Z39.50) to search labeled metadata that has been used to describe digital resources

 

LC American Memory : Background papers and technical information
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/ftpfiles.html

 

Library application profile for Dublin Core : draft 
http://dublincore.org/documents/library-application-profile/

 

Metadata at W3C 
http://www.w3.org/Metadata/

 

Standardized Handling of Networked Resources : an annotated bibliography
http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alcts/resources/preserv/digitres/index.cfm

 

UKOLN Metadata 
http://www.ukoln.ac.uk/metadata

 

University of Minnesota. Digital Collections Unit. 
https://www.lib.umn.edu/digital/digital-collections​ U of M projects to digitize archival and rare collections and general information on digitization.

Crosswalks

Dublin Core/MARC/GILS Crosswalk
http://www.loc.gov/marc/dccross.html The following is a crosswalk between the fifteen elements in the Dublin Core Element Set and MARC 21 bibliographic data elements. In addition, it includes a crosswalk from Dublin Core to GILS attributes. The crosswalk may be used in conversion of metadata from another syntax into MARC. For conversion of MARC 21 into Dublin Core, many fields may be mapped into a single Dublin Core element.

 

IFLA -- Digital Libraries: Metadata Resources 
http://www.ifla.org/II/metadata.htm

 

MARC SGML : MARC DTD's (Document Type Definitions) 
http://www.loc.gov/marc/marcxml.html An implementation of Standard Generalized Markup Language ( SGML) for use with MARC data.

 

MARC to Dublin Core Crosswalk / Network Development and MARC Standards Office, Library of Congress
http://www.loc.gov/marc/marc2dc.html Conversion of metadata from MARC into Dublin Core. Since MARC is richer in data than Dublin Core, it differs from the Dublin Core/MARC Crosswalk in that multiple MARC fields are mapped to a Dublin Core element.

 

Metadata. Alexandria Digital Library. 
http://www.alexandria.ucsb.edu/public-documents/metadata/
 
Metadata basics / University of Texas Libraries
https://guides.lib.utexas.edu/metadata-basics/crosswalks
 
Metadata : Mapping between metadata formats / Michael Day 
http://www.ukoln.ac.uk/metadata/interoperability/

 

ONIX to MARC 21 Mapping 
http://www.loc.gov/marc/onix2marc.html This is a mapping between the 211 data elements in the ONIX International Standard and data elements in the MARC21 Format for Bibliographic Data. The ONIX International standard is intended to provide publishers with a means to share product and supplier information usable on the Internet.

DTD

MARC DTDs 
http://lcweb.loc.gov/marc/marcdtd/marcdtdback.html

MARC DTD, Document Type Definitions, background and development.

Dublin Core

Dublin Core Metadata Initiative 
http://dublincore.org

 

Dublin Core and the Cataloging Rules 
http://www.libraries.psu.edu/psul/cataloging/deptinfo/deptgroups/metadata/resources.html

 

Dublin Core Metadata Element Set : ANSI/NISO Z39.85-2001 

 

Dublin Core Metadata Element Set 
http://dublincore.org/documents/dces
Example of guidelines at Claremont: http://www.libraries.psu.edu/psul/cataloging/deptinfo/deptgroups/metadata/resources.html
-- or-- http://scelc.org/callimachus/CCDL-DC-Metadata-Best-Practices
Example of guidelines at North Carolina: http://www.ncecho.org/documents/ncdc2007.pdf
And metadata at North Carolina: http://www.ncecho.org/dig/ncdctemplate.shtml

 

Dublin Core Metadata Element Set Reference Description, Version 1.1 (1999) 
http://dublincore.org/documents/1999/07/02/dces/ The document summarizes the proposed updated definitions for the Dublin Core metadata elements as originally defined in [ RFC2413]. These new definitions will be officially known as Version 1.1.

 

Dublin Core Metadata Templates  http://www.worthingtonmemory.org/DC_Form.cfm
http://www.ncecho.org/dig/ncdc.shtml

 

DC-dot, a Dublin Core Generator 
http://www.ukoln.ac.uk/metadata/dcdot/ [prefer template above]
Library Application Profile 
http://dublincore.org/documents/library-application-profile/

 

Dublin Core Application Profiles 
http://dublincore.org/documents/profile-guidelines

 

LD4PE- Exploring Linked Data : competency-based learning resources 
http://explore.dublincore.net/

EAD - Encoding Archival Description

Encoded Archival Description 
http://lcweb.loc.gov/ead/ Library of Congress

 

Encoded Archival Description Tag Library: Version 1.0 
http://www.loc.gov/ead/tglib/elements/eadgrp.html

 

Encoded Archival Description. Finding Aids 
http://lcweb.loc.gov/rr/ead/ at the Library of Congress

 

Library of Congress Finding Aids [using EAD] 
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/faid/ search page

 

Society of American Archivists
http://www.archivists.org/saagroups/ead/

HTML-XML

See HTML-XML

FGDC

Federal Geographic Data Committee 
http://www.fgdc.gov/ Tasked by Executive Order 12906 to develop procedures and assist in the implementation of a distributed discovery mechanism for digital geospatial data.

 

Federal Geographic Data Committee. Standards 
http://www.fgdc.gov/standards/

 

 

RDF

Frequently asked questions about RDF 
http://www.w3.org/Metadata/RDF/FAQ

 

Resource Description Framework (RDF) / Mozilla 
http://www.mozilla.org/rdf/doc/

 

Resource Description Framework (RDF) Model and Syntax / W3C
http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-rdf-syntax/

SQL

Introduction to Structured Query Language (SQL) 
https://www.w3schools.com/sql/

TEI

Guidelines for Electronic Text Encoding Interchange (TEI P3) 
http://www.hti.umich.edu/t/tei/

 

TEI 
http://www.ariadne.ac.uk/issue24/tei/ Text Encoding for Interchange: a new consortium. Lou Burnard on the Text Encoding Initiative Consortium which has been created to take TEI Guidelines into the XML world an beyond.

VRA

Visual Resources Association Foundation - VRAF
https://vrafoundation.com/

Membership and activities include: information specialists, digital image specialists; art, architecture, film and video librarians, museum curators; slide, photograph, microfilm and digital archivists, architectural firms, galleries, publishers, image system vendors, rights and reproductions officials, photographers, art historians, artists, and scientists.

Articles on Metadata

A commond Model to Support Interoperable Metadata 
http://www.dlib.org/dlib/january99/bearman/01bearman.html

 

CORC, the Dublin Core, and Cartograpahic Materials 
http://www.sunysb.edu/libmap/corcart.htm

 

Dublin Core metadata initiative 
http://www.dlib.org/dlib/december00/weibel/12weibel.html

 

Dublin Core Metadata Initiative Progress Report and Workplan / Makx Dekkers, Stuart L. Weibel 
http://www.dlib.org/dlib/february02/weibel/02weibel.html

 

Functional Requirements Study 
http://www.ifla.org/IV/ifla64/084-126e.htm

 

Internet, interoperability and standards 
http://www.niso.org/publications/white_papers/wp-gatenby

 

Interoperability, what it is and why should I want it? / Paul Miller 
http://www.ariadne.ac.uk/issue24/interoperability/

 

Introduction to Metadata : pathways to digital information 
http://www.getty.edu/research/publications/electronic_publications/intrometadata/ Articles, crosswalks, glossary, acronymns & URLS, and book order.

 

Issues in crosswalking content metadata standards / Margaret St. Pierre, Willilam P. LaPlant 
http://www.niso.org/publications/white_papers/crosswalk

 

Mapping Entry Vocabulary to Unfamiliar Metadata Vocabularies 
http://www.dlib.org/dlib/january99/buckland/01buckland.html

 

Metadata demystified : a guide for publishers / Amy Brand, Frank Daly, and Barbara Meyers 
http://www.niso.org/standards/resources/Metadata_Demystified.pdf

 

Recording Bibliographic Citation Information for Journal Articles in Dublin Core 
http://epub.mimas.ac.uk/metadata.html##dc