Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources

Dictionaries, etc.

Akronyme und Abkürzungen / Acronyms and Abbreviations 
http://www.chemie.fu-berlin.de/cgi-bin/acronym This is a searchable index.

 

ARTLEX 
http://www.artlex.com/ A dictionary of visual art with definitions for more than 2,600 terms and links to other resources on the Web.

 

Bookbinding and the Conservation of Books 
http://palimpsest.stanford.edu/don/don.html A dictionary of descriptive terminology.

 

Catholic Encyclopedia 
http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/02389c.htm Catholic encyclopedia.

 

Dictionary.com 
http://dictionary.reference.com

 

Digital Media Glossary 
http://www.realnetworks.com/glossary.html

 

Glossary of book terms 
http://www.alibris.com/glossary/

 

Herbal-Medical Glossary 
http://chili.rt66.com/hrbmoore/ManualsMM/MedHerbGloss2.txt Michael Moore's definitions of terms as used by an herbalist.

 

Information Professional's GLossary 
http://www.sir.arizona.edu/resources/research.html#glossaries School of Information Research and Library Science, University of Arizona

 

Multilingual Dictionary of Cataloguing Terms and Definitions / IFLA 
http://subito.biblio.etc.tu-bs.de/muldicat/ It contains terms and definitions of cataloguing in various languages. It contains all terms defined in AACR and FRBR, English and German. This IFLA project is to be extended to other languages.

 

Multilingual glossary for art librarians - HTML 
http://archive.ifla.org/VII/s30/pub/mg1.htm

 

ODLIS: Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science 
http://www.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_about.aspx ODLIS is designed as a reference resource for library and information science professionals, university students and faculty, and the general reader and library user. The primary criterion for including a new term is whether a librarian or other information professional might reasonably be expected to encounter it at some point in his (or her) career. The technical vocabulary of publishing, printing, book history, and computer science has been included when, in the author's judgment, a definition might prove helpful, not only to library and information professionals, but also to laypersons.

 

One Look 
http://www.onelook.com/ Search engine for words and phrases: If you have a word for which you'd like a definition or translation, it will quickly shuttle you to the web-based dictionaries that define or translate that word. If you don't know how to spell the word, it will help you do that too. No word is too obscure: More than 5 million words in more than 900 online dictionaries are indexed by the OneLook search engine.

 

Pharma Lexicon 
http://www.pharma-lexicon.com/ Look up the most popular medical and pharmaceutical acronyms and abbreviations.

 

Comprehensive Russian Computer Dictionary 
http://www.russian-dictionary.org Russian-English, English-Russian Dictionary and Thesaurus of Computer Terms.

 

Solomon's Glossary of Technical Musical Terms 
http://solomonsmusic.net/glossary.htm Index of musical terms.

 

Teachers Net Reference Desk 
http://www.teachers.net/library/encyclopedia.html List of online encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and quotations.

 

Translate 
http://babelfish.altavista.com/translate.dyn The Alta Vista Translation web site allows you to translate German, Spanish, French, Italian, or Portuguese words and phrases to their English equivalents. It also allows you to translate English words and phrases to their German, Spanish, French, Italian or Portuguese equivalents. Just type in the words you want translated and pick the languages and the computer will make the translation.

 

Union List of Artist Names 
http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/vocabulary/ulan/index.html/ ULAN is a database of biographical and bibliographical information on artists and architects, including a wealth of variant names, pseudonymns, and language variants.

 

Webopedia 
http://www.webopedia.com

 

The WorldWideWeb Acronym and Abbreviation Server 
http://http://www.m-w.com/ Search for an acronym and see its expansion, or search for a word in the expansions and see the related acronyms.

 

The WWLIA Legal Dictionary 
http://www.wwlia.org/diction.htm Searchable English language dictionary.

 

Your Dictionary 
http://www.yourdictionary.com Search foreign language dictionaries; search Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus

Terms

t^ete-beche = Two different works bound together at the time of publication, where the back work is inverted so that the back cover serves as the front cover when you turn the book over and upside down.

dos-'a-dos = Two items share a common back cover, which actually appears in the middle of the volume.