Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources

Tools

 ABC Technical Services Homepage serves as the A/BC and CFL Technical Services Manual.

 

Cataloging rules, standards, resources, and manuals

 

* denotes those most often used for copy cataloging

*Anglo-American cataloguing rules. 2nd ed. Chicago: ALA, 1988.

*Anglo-American cataloguing rules. 1998 revisions. Chicago: ALA, 1998.

Art & architecture thesaurus. New York : Oxford University Press, 1990.

Art & Architecture Thesaurus http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/vocabulary/aat/index.html

Authorities user guide. Dublin, Ohio: OCLC Online Computer Library Center, 1994-

Authority control in music libraries, proceedings of the Music Library Association preconference, March 5, 1985. Canton, Mass.: Music Library Association, 1989.

Bibliographic formats and standards. Dublin, Ohio: OCLC, 1993-

Bibliographic input standards. Dublin, Ohio: OCLC, 1992-

Bratcher, Perry. Music subject headings : compiled from Library of Congress subject headings. Lake Crystal, Minn.: Soldier Creek Press, 1988.

Butler, Todd. Newspaper cataloging and union listing manual. Washington, D.C.: Serial Record Division, Library of Congress, 1990.

Cartographic materials : a manual of interpretation for AACR2. Chicago: American Library Association, 1982.

Cataloging user guide.Dublin, Ohio: OCLC Online Computer Library Center, 1993-

* Chan, Lois Mai. Library of Congress subject headings : principles of structure and policies for applications. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, 1990.

Clack, Doris H. Authority control : its principles, applications, and instructions. Chicago : American Library Association, 1990.

Columbia Lippincott gazetteer of the world. Morningside Heights, N.Y.: Columbia University Press, 1952.

Conser editing guide. Washington, D.C.: Serial Record Division, Library of Congress, 1994.

Cutter, Charles A. C.A. Cutter-Sanborn three figure author table. Littleton, Colo: Distributed by Libraries Unlimited, 1976.

Decisions on geographic names in the United States. Washington, D.C. Dept. of the Interior, 1963-

Dewey, Melvil. Dewey decimal classification and relative index. Albany, N.Y.: Forest Press, 1989.

* Diacritics and special characters. Dublin, Ohio: OCLC Online Computer Library Center, 1991.

Descriptive cataloging of rare books. 2nd ed. Washington, D.C. : Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1991.

Encoded archival description tag library : version 1.0. Chicago, Ill. : Society of American Archivists, 1998.

Examples to accompany Descriptive cataloging of rare books. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries, 1993.

Format integration and its effect on the USMARC bibliographic format. Washington, D.C: Network Development and MARC Standards Office, 1995.

Free-floating subdivisions : an alphabetical index. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1990-

Fritz, Deborah A. Cataloging with AACR2R and USMARC : for books, computer files, serials, sound recordings, video recordings. Chicago : American Library Association, 1998.

* Geographic cutters. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1989.

Genre terms : a thesaurus for use in rare book and special collections. 2nd ed. Chicago: Association of College and Research Libraries, 1991.

Graham, Crystal. Guidelines for bibliographic records for preservation microform masters. Washington, D.C.: Association of Research Libraries, 1990.

Guide to searching the Online Union Catalog. Dublin, Ohio: OCLC Online Computer Library Center, 1990-

* Guidelines for bibliographic description of reproductions. Chicago: Committee on Cataloging: Description and Access, Association for Library Collections and Technical Services, 1995.

*Guidelines on subject access to individual works of fiction, drama, etc. Chicago: American Library Association, 2000.

Hartsock, Ralph. Notes for music catalogers : examples illustrating AACR2 in the online bibliographic record. Lake Crystal, Minn.: Soldier Creek Pres, 1994.

Helena Zinkham and Elisabeth Betz Parker. Descriptive terms for graphic materials : genre and physical characteristics headings. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, 1986.

Hemmasi, Harriette. Music subject headings : compiled from Library of Congress subject headings. Lake Crystal, Minn.: Soldier Creek Press, 1998.

Hensen, Steven L. Archives, personal papers, and manuscripts : a cataloging manual for archival repositories. Chicago: Society of American Archivists, 1989.

Interactive Multimedia Guidelines Review Task Force. Guidelines for bibliographic description of interactive multimedia. Chicago, Ill. : American Library Association, 1994.

Kennedy, Michael. The concise Oxford dictionary of music. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1985.

Larsgaard, Mary Lynette. Map librarianship : an introduction. Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1998.

LC guidelines supplement to the USMARC Format for Authority data. Washington, D.C. : Library of Congres, Network Development and MARC Standards Office, 1998.

LC period subdivisions under names of places. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1994.

Leong, Carol L. H. Serials cataloging handbook : an illustrative guide to the use of AACR2 and LC rule interpretations. Chicago: American Library Association, 1989.

*Library of Congress Classification. Washington, D.C.: Office for Subject Cataloging Policy. (plus Additions and Changes)

*Library of Congress rule interpretations. 2nd ed. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1990-

*Library of Congress subject headings. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1975-

LSR Manual.

Map cataloging manual. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1991-

MARC code list for geographic areas. Washington, D.C.: Network Development and MARC Standards Office, 2000-

MARC code list for countries. Washington, D.C.: Network Developoment and MARC Standards Office, 2000-

MARC code list for languages. Washington, D.C.: Network Development and MARC Standards Office, 2000-

MARC code list for organizations. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 2000-

MARC code list for relators, sources, description conventions. Washington, D.C.: Network Development and MARC Standards Office, 2000.

MARC 21 Concise formats : for bibiographic, authority, and holdings data. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, 2000-

*MARC 21 Format for Authority Data : including guidelines for content designation. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1999-

*MARC 21 format for bibliographic data : including guidelines for content designation. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1999-

MARC 21 format for classification. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 2000-

MARC 21 format for community information, including guidelines for content designation. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 2000-

MARC 21 format for holdings data : including guidelines for content designation. Washington, D.C: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1989-

MARC 21 specifications for record structure, character sets, and exchange media. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1994.

Music Library Association. Working Group on Types of Compositions. Final report of the Working Group on Types of Compositions. 1997.
http://www.library.yale.edu/cataloging/music/types.htm

Music OCLC Users Group presents The best of MOUG. Austin, Tex.: Music OCLC Users Group, 1991-

NACO participants manual. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1994.

Name-address directory user guide. Dublin, Ohio: OCLC Online Computer Library Center, 1994-

Newsletter (Music OCLC Users Group) 1977-

OCLC batchloading guide. Dublin, Ohio: OCLC Online Computer Library Center, 1993-

OCLC-MARC tape and export record formats. Dublin, Ohio: OCLC, 1990-

Olson, Nancy B. Cataloging computer files. Lake Crystal, Minn.: Soldier Creek Press, 1992.

Olson, Nancy B. Cataloging motion pictures and videorecordings. Lake Crystal, Minn.: Soldier Creek Press, 1992.

Olson, Nancy B. Cataloging of audiovisual materials : a manual based on AACR2. DeKalb, Ill.: Minnesota Scholarly Press, 1998.

Parker, Elisabeth Betz. Graphic materials : rules for describing original items and historical collections. Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 1982.

Parker, Elisabeth Betz. LC thesaurus for graphic materials : topical terms for subject access. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1987.

PASSPORT software user guide. Dublin, Ohio: OCLC Online Computer Library Center, 1994-

Rand-McNally commercial atlas and marketing guide. Chicago, Ill.: Rand McNally, 1969-

Revised Library of Congress subject headings : cross-references from former to current subject headings. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, 1991.

* Saye, Jerry. D. Notes in the catalog records based on AACR2 and rule interpretations. Chicago: American Library Associaiton, 1989.

Smiraglia, Richard P. Describing music materials : a manual for descriptive cataloging of printed and recorded music, music videos, and archival music collections. Lake Crystal, Minn.: Soldier Creek Press, 1997.

Smiraglia, Richard P. Music cataloging : the bibliographic control of printed and recorded music in libraries. Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1989.

Smiraglia, Richard P. Shelflisting music : guidelines for use with the Library of Congress classification, M. Philadelphia: Music Library Association, 1981.

* Subject cataloging manual : classification. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1992-

Subject cataloging manual : shelflisting. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1995-

Subject cataloging manual : subject headings. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1984-

Thesaurus for Graphic Materials. Washington, D.C.: Cataloging Distribution Service, Library of Congress, 1995.

Thesaurus for Graphic Materials I : Subject Terms (TGM I). http://lcweb.loc.gov/rr/print/tgm1/

Thesaurus for Graphic Materials II : Genre and physical characteristic terms (TGM II) http://lcweb.loc.gov/rr/print/tgm2/

Thorin, Suzanne E. and Carole Franklin Vivaldi. The acquisition and cataloging of music and sound recordings : a glossary. Canton, Mass.: Music Library Association, 1984.

Union list user guide. Dublin, Ohio: OCLC Online Library Computer Center, 1994-

Urbanski, Verna. Cataloging unpublished nonprint materials : a manual of suggestions, comoments, and examples. Lake Crystal, Minn.: Solider Creek Press, 1992.

Weitz, Jay. Music coding and tagging : MARC content designation for scores and sound recordings. Lake Crystal, Minn.: Soldier Creek Press, 1990.

Numerous dictionaries and encyclopedias and other reference tools, particularly those specified as the accepted source for names or terms in a field.

Staff Levels

FORMAT AND MANUAL RESPONSIBILITY BY LEVEL OF STAFF

 

Library Associate
Copy Cataloging using OCLC Connexion standards and resources below
Aleph (ODIN) system records
Books Format, no fiction
AACR2, Chpt. 1-2, basic 21-22, 24
RDA
LC-PCC PS
LCSH
LCC
SuDocs
CSM:Su
MARC codes: language, country, geographic area
Free-floating subdivisions
Authority validation for personal and corporate names, series, and subjects
Microsoft Office

 

Library Specialist
Advanced Copy Cataloging using OCLC Connexion standards and resources below
Aleph (ODIN) system records
Books Format, fiction, microform
One other Format as determined by supervisor, Advanced Copy Cataloging
Original Cataloging as determined by supervisor, Books Format
AACR2, Chpt. 1-2; one of 3-12 may be assigned; basic 21-22, 24
RDA
LC-PCC PS
LCSH
LCC
SuDocs
Dewey
CSM:Su
CSM:Sh
MARC codes: language, country, geographic area
GSAFD
LCMPT
LCGFT
LCDGT
Additional subject theseauri: AAT, LCTGM, FAST
Free-floating subdivisions
LC Period Subdivisions
Authority validation for personal and corporate names, series, and subjects
Create NACO Name Authorities for review
Microsoft Office
CONTENTdm metadata per guidelines

 

Librarian
Advanced Copy Cataloging and Original Cataloging using OCLC Connexion standards and resources below
Aleph (ODIN) system records
Books Format, fiction, theses, microform
One other Format as determined by supervisor, Advanced Copy and Original Cataloging
Original Cataloging as determined by supervisor, Books Format
AACR2, Chpt. 1-2; one of 3-12 is assigned; 21-25, basic 26
RDA
LC-PCC PS
LCSH
LCC
SuDocs
Dewey
CSM:Su
CSM:Sh
MARC codes: language, country, geographic area, relators
GSAFD
LCMPT
LCGFT
LCDGT
Additional subject theseauri: AAT, LCTGM, FAST
Free-floating subdivisions
Bibliographic Input Standards
LC Period Subdivisions
Specialized manuals pertinent to assigned Format, or special collections or projects
Authority validation for personal and corporate names, series, and subjects
Create NACO Name Authorities per national PCC standards
Microsoft Office
Proquest dissertation admin
Archon metadata
CONTENTdm metadata per guidelines

 

Librarian, Department Head and Head Cataloger
Advanced Copy Cataloging and Original Cataloging using OCLC Connexion standards and resources below
Aleph (ODIN) system records
All Formats: Books, Serials, Cartographic, Mixed, Archival, Scores, Sound Recordings, Computer Files, Graphic Media, and Motion Pictures (video)
Emphasis on non-book Formats
Policy setting and problem resolution
AACR2, Chpt. 1-26
RDA
LC-PCC PS
LCSH
LCC
SuDocs
Dewey
CSM:Su
CSM:Sh
MARC codes: language, country, geographic area, relators
GSAFD
LCMPT
LCGFT
LCDGT
Additional subject theseauri: AAT, LCTGM, FAST, and other thesauri
Free-floating subdivisions
Bibliographic Input Standards
LC Period Subdivisions
Authority validation for personal and corporate names, series, and subjects
Create NACO Name Authorities per national PCC standards
All manuals and tools listed in "Cataloging rules, standards, and manuals used in A/BC"
Microsoft Office
HTML, webpage development
Proquest dissertation admin
Archon metadata
Dublin Core metadata and Metadata Registry
CONTENTdm metadata per guidelines