Research Guides: Global Language Literatures: Home

In this Guide

This guide is meant to assist you in searching for Global language literatures.

To get started refer to the following pages to help find articles, books and videos:

On each of these pages learn about Literature Reference material, selected works from each language translated to English, online resources and films for the following languages:

Information on global language learning is contained on its own guide.

Literature Encyclopedias

Literary Encyclopedia
The Literary Encyclopedia publishes biographies of major and minor writers; scholarly descriptions of all interesting texts written by these authors, including those often neglected; and a variety of descriptive and critical essays on literary, cultural and historical matters, which provide a finer understanding of the social contexts in which this writing was produced. Offers excellent coverage of English, American, German, Russian, Italian, French and Classical literatures, as well as substantial and increasing coverage of Hispanic, Japanese, Canadian, East European and various postcolonial literatures.

The library has many volumes of Gale Literature titles, both online and in-print. Gale Literature offers the ability to search by Person, Work or Topic. Note: no new titles 2022 onward.

Gale Literature
Gale Literature – cross-search platform to simultaneously search through Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism (Contemporary Literature Criticism and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism), Something About the Author, Contemporary Authors and other literary Gale eBook titles.

An excellent browsing tool, Gale Literature Criticism is organized by Popular Topics, Popular Works and Popular Authors:

Gale Literature Criticism
Gale Literature Criticism – a reference tool that offers over 1,000 discovery portals for browsing Gale literature titles, beyond what is owned by the library. Includes articles, suggested reading lists, bibliographies and other avenues for research.

More Resources

Information on Linguistics is contained on its own guide.

More Global language film titles are on the DVDs and Streaming Video guide.