Spanish Literature Resources
Reference Materials give you a general overview of Spanish literatures, language, history and culture.
Dictionary of Spanish Literature by Call Number: PQ6006.N4
A Sourcebook for Hispanic Literature and Language by Call Number: Z2695.A2 B55 1995In its two previous editions, this work has proven to be an indispensable guide for students and scholars of Hispanic literature and linguistics. It is extremely useful for courses in bibliography and research methods, and librarians have found it a valuable reference tool for identifying the essential books and scholarly journals in its field.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish CultureCall Number: DP233.5.E63 1999Some 750 alphabetically arranged entries provide insights into the exciting cultural and political features of contemporary Spain. Including Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country, coverage spans from 1939 to the present-day.
Encyclopedia of MexicoCall Number: Ref. F1210.E63 1997Presents a processional view of Mexican history, society and culture, from ancient civilizations to the present day. The primary emphasis of the text is on broad historiographic issues, although it includes many supplementary entries on people and specific events.
From Latin to SpanishCall Number: PC4101.L48 1987Historical phonology and morphology of the Spanish language.
The States of MexicoCall Number: Ref. F1228.9.S73 2009Mexico comprises 32 diverse states, and this provides a contemporary snapshot of the most important information to know about the state, with essay sections on its characteristics, flora and fauna, cultural groups and languages, history, economy, social customs, arts, noteworthy places, and cuisine with representative recipes. Familiar and noteworthy names in Mexican culture are highlighted in the applicable sections. The format is perfect for students studying Spanish and travelers and general readers wanting a different angle from that provided in guidebooks and more authoritativeness than they can offer. Readers learn about the pulsing metropolis of Mexico City to the jungle isolation found in the Yucatan Peninsula.
Selections below are in English, but you can search for works in Spanish by using the Advanced Search and choosing "Spanish" from the list of languages.
2666 by Call Number: PQ8098.12.O38 A12213 2009An American sportswriter, an elusive German novelist, and a teenage student interact in an urban community on the U.S.-Mexico border where hundreds of young factory workers have disappeared.
The Adventures of Don Quixote by Call Number: PQ6329.A2 1950Don Quixote has become so entranced reading tales of chivalry that he decides to turn knight errant himself. In the company of his faithful squire, Sancho Panza, these exploits blossom in all sorts of wonderful ways. While Quixote's fancy often leads him astray—he tilts at windmills, imagining them to be giants—Sancho acquires cunning and a certain sagacity. Sane madman and wise fool, they roam the world together-and together they have haunted readers' imaginations for nearly four hundred years.
The House of the Spirits by Call Number: PQ8098.1.L54 C313 1985The House of the Spirits brings to life the triumphs and tragedies of three generations of the Trueba family. The patriarch Esteban is a volatile, proud man whose voracious pursuit of political power is tempered only by his love for his delicate wife, Clara, a woman with a mystical connection to the spirit world. When their daughter Blanca embarks on a forbidden love affair in defiance of her implacable father, the result is an unexpected gift to Esteban: his adored granddaughter Alba, a beautiful and strong-willed child who will lead her family and her country into a revolutionary future.
Like Water for Chocolate by Call Number: PQ7298.15.S638 C6613 1992This classic love story takes place on the De la Garza ranch, as the tyrannical owner, Mama Elena, chops onions at the kitchen table in her final days of pregnancy. While still in her mother's womb, her daughter to be weeps so violently she causes an early labor, and little Tita slips out amid the spices and fixings for noodle soup. This early encounter with food soon becomes a way of life, and Tita grows up to be a master chef, using cooking to express herself and sharing recipes with readers along the way.
One Hundred Years of Solitude by Call Number: PQ8180.17.A73 C513 1970One Hundred Years of Solitude tells the story of the rise and fall, birth and death of the mythical town of Macondo through the history of the Buendia family. Inventive, amusing, magnetic, sad, and alive with unforgettable men and women—brimming with truth, compassion, and a lyrical magic that strikes the soul—this novel is a masterpiece in the art of fiction.
Internet Resources
Online sources for Spanish literature.
- Hispanic Reading Room Online Collections (Library of Congress)Interpretive exhibits featuring the Library of Congress' extensive and remarkable collections. Includes many books, documents, maps, and more on the various themes covered--all relating to the history of culture of the Hispanic world.
Films in Spanish
Available streaming options provided through AVON:
- Collection of 67 contemporary Spanish Language feature films
- To access the films, click the link for Chapulin Films
DVDs
There are a number of Spanish language films in the library's collection. The DVD's are on the third floor of the library and can be checked out with your student ID just like books! (Make sure to check out the popular releases when you're there, too!).
Disclaimer: Make sure to check the Region number of the DVD you are going to check out. When viewing DVDs manufactured outside the U.S./North America ...DVD's produced in other countries are manufactured using a different format than those made in the U.S. Most computers and modern DVD players can easily accommodate these formats. Manufacturers also include region codes which prevent DVDs manufactured in one region from being played on computer equipment from another region. The Chester Fritz Library has dedicated computer equipment which can play those non-US DVDs which have region codes other than 1 (North America) or 0 (no region code--may be played on any equipment). The settings on your personal computer will be permanently adjusted if you attempt to play DVDs with region codes other than 0 or 1. Once these codes are reset on your computer (typically automatic after about 5 viewings), you will not be able to adjust it back, nor will you be able to view DVDs made in the U.S., which will likely be your more typical viewing preference. Please use library equipment only for viewing international DVDs.
BlancanievesCall Number: PN1997.2.B5833 2013 DVDA twist on the Snow White fairy tale set in 1920s Seville, Spain centered on a female bullfighter.
ButterflyCall Number: PN1997.B88 2000 DVDA shy young boy is brought out of his cocoon by a wise teacher who shows him the wonder of the natural world around him, amidst the growing tensions and chaos of the Spanish Civil War in Galicia.
La Piel Que Habito/The Skin I Live InCall Number: PN1997.2.S55 2012 DVDSince his wife was burned in a car crash, Dr. Robert Ledgard, an eminent plastic surgeon, has wanted to create a new skin with which he could have saved her. After twelve years, he cultivates a skin that is a real shield against every assault. Now, besides the years of study and experimentation, the unscrupulous doctor needs to find an accomplice, and a human guinea pig. Marrilia, the woman who looked after him from birth, is his most faithful accomplice. But where will they find the human pig?
MPAA rating: R; for disturbing violent content including sexual assault, strong sexuality, graphic nudity, drug use, and language.
Maria Full of GraceCall Number: PN1997.2.M3753 2004 DVDMaria, a poor Colombian teenager, is desperate to leave a soul-crushing job. She accepts an offer to transport packets of heroin -- which she swallows -- to the United States. The ruthless world of drug trafficking proves to be more than for which she bargained.
YermaCall Number: PN1995.9.F67 Y47 1998 DVDerma is the lonely housewife of a Spanish farmer. She longs to have a child, but believes she is unable to conceive. Upon learning from an elderly psychic woman that the problem may have more to do with her husband, Yerma rebels against her lonely life and her place in society.
A Companion to Spanish Cinema by Call Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks (PN1993.5.S7 B462 2008 )
