Research Guides: Global Language Literatures: Guides for specific classes

FREN 301 Selected Reference Works (International Cinema)

Cinema: A Critical Dictionary: The Major Film-Makers by ed. by Richard roud.
Call Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks PN 1993.45 .C5 (2 vols.)
Publication Date: 1980
Note: See entry on "French Cinema" by Henri Langois, and related entries.
Encyclopedia of Arab Women Filmmakers by by Rebecca Hillauer; trans. by Alison Brown, Deborah Cohen, & Nancy Joyce.
Call Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks PN 1998.2 .H553 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Note: Hint: remember your French overseas territories: Syria, Lebanon, Tunisia, Algeria, etc. (But what is the important difference between a film "in French" and a "French film"?)
Film Directors Guide: Western Europe by by James Robert Parish.
Call Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks PN 1998 .A1 P3
Publication Date: 1976
Note: Listing of directors and films they directed. Limited additional information.
French XX Bibliography: A Bibliography for the Study of French Literature and Culture Since 1885.
Call Number: Z 2171 .F7
Publication Date: Vol. 1 (1940) - Present.
Note: An annual bibliography. Among the culture under review each year is "Cinema" (Part 3 of each issue).
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers by ed. by Tom & Sara Pendergast.
Call Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks PN 1997.8 .I58 2000 (4 vols.)
Publication Date: 2000
Note: Volume 2 is devoted to just directors. Index by nationality pp. 1129-1131 of this volume.
Magill's Survey of Cinema: Foreign Language Films by ed. by Frank N. Magill.
Call Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks PN 1993.45 .M34 1985 (8 vols.)
Publication Date: 1985
Note: See index in volume 8 for "List of Film Titles by Country." A gratifying number are from France.
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by ed. by Barry Keith Grant.
Call Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks PN 1993.45 .G65 2007 (4 vols.)
Publication Date: 2007
Note: See article on "France" in vol. 2, plus related entries.

♦♦♦♦

Related Reference Sources for Background

on France & French Culture

♦♦♦♦

The Columbia History of Twentieth-Century French Thought by ed. by Lawrence D. Kritzman.
Call Number: CFL Floor 4 Book Stacks DC 33.7 .C575 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Note: Among the many things that you will discover the French have thought about in the 20th century, is Film.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture by ed. by Alex Hughes & Keith Reader.
Call Number: CFL Floor 4 Book Stacks DC 33.7 .E53 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Note: See "Classified Contents List" (p. xiv-xxii) for entries on Film, Media, Performing Arts, Visual Arts, etc.