Research Guides: NW Clinical Campus (Minot): FAMILY MEDICINE RESIDENTS

Mobile Apps

For information and download instructions on mobile apps available visit:

Mobile Resources

Janet Anderson

Email Me

Subjects: Faculty

Key Texts for Family Medicine

Case Files Family Medicine, Fifth Edition by Eugene C. Toy; Donald Briscoe; Bruce S. Britton; Joel John Heidelbaugh
ISBN: 9781260468595

Publication Date: 2020-11-10
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition by Richard P. Usatine; Mindy Ann Smith; E. J. Mayeaux; Heidi Chumley
ISBN: 9781259862045

Publication Date: 2018-12-11
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment in Family Medicine, 5th Edition by Jeannette E. South-Paul; Samuel C. Matheny; Evelyn L. Lewis
ISBN: 9781260134896

Publication Date: 2020-06-17
Essentials of Family Medicine by Mindy A. Smith
ISBN: 9781496364975

Publication Date: 2018-05-03
Graber and Wilbur's Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, Fifth Edition by Jason K. Wilbur; Mark Graber; Brigit Ray
ISBN: 9781260441079

Publication Date: 2020-02-24
Implementing High-Quality Primary Care by National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine; Health and Medicine Division; Board on Health Care Services; Committee on Implementing High-Quality Primary Care; Sarah K. Robinson (Editor); Marc Meisnere (Editor); Robert L. Phillips (Editor); Linda McCauley (Editor)
ISBN: 9780309685108

Publication Date: 2021-07-28
Macleod's Clinical Examination by Anna R Dover (Editor); J Alastair Innes (Editor); Karen Fairhurst (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323847704

Publication Date: 2023-04-20
SOAP for Family Medicine by Daniel Maldonado; Cynthia Zuniga
ISBN: 9781975216481

Publication Date: 2024-01-17
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: a Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, 3E by Gordon Guyatt
ISBN: 9780071790710

Publication Date: 2014-12-30

Library Book Catalog
This link allows you to search and have access to UND's Library Resources for specific electronic book titles.
You can search by book title or by subject.

The following texts are made available through the Trinity Health Resource Center.

To access these eBooks, use the following login credentials:
- E-mail: cameronlibrary@trinityhealth.org
- Password: Trinity2023!

Key Databases for Family Medicine

AccessMedicine
Medical titles, images and videos, case files, diagnostic tools, and drug database.
Anatomy.tv
Primal Pictures Anatomy.tv provides a 3D atlas of human anatomy, a 3D real-time interactive tool through which you can layer and remove organ systems, and several other helpful modules, including an imaging module and a quizzing module.
ClinicalKey
Evidence based search that provides health care professionals with point-of-care answers.
Embase
Index of peer-reviewed biomedical literature
PubMed
Health and life sciences journal article search.
VisualDx
Database of dermatologic, infectious, and drug-induced diseases.
Register for the mobile app!

Family Medicine Journals

Patient Education

AccessMedicine
Access Medicine has patient education handouts on various topics as well as specialty-specific patient education handouts.

Infographics from AccessMedicine
Quick visual synopses of various conditions.
Patient Education from Medline Plus
An online resource for patients providing easy to read information on health conditions, wellness conditions, etc., as well as videos.

Social Determinants of Health

UND's School of Medicine and Health Sciences focuses on these five areas for social determinants of health:

Opioid Use Disorder
Addiction and Substance Use Disorder
Anxiety, Depression, and Suicide
Adverse Childhood Experiences
Obesity

For background information on Social Determinants of Health:

Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Social Determinants Book Chapter
This book chapter explains the concepts of food shortages, transportation challenges, lack of access to care, physician difficulty providing resources to patients, and more from an Emergency Department perspective.

Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, Populations, Second Edition by Talmadge E. King; Margaret B. Wheeler; Alicia Fernandez; Dean Schillinger; Andrew B. Bindman; Kevin Grumbach; Teresa J. Villela
ISBN: 9780071834445

Publication Date: 2016-06-21

Rural Health Information Hub
The RHI Hub provides resources and program models to address a variety of social determinants of health in rural communities.
The RHI Hub also provides the following resources:
Rural Health Disparities Guide from Center for Rural Health
Social Determinants of Health for Rural People

Culture information for different ethnicities and regions:

CultureCard
A guide to build cultural awareness about American Indian and Alaska Native populations
American Indian Health and Nursing
History of American Indians with a focus on the drastic changes that occurred following European contact. The book includes coverage of indigenous knowledge and traditional approaches to health and healing.
U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services Office of Minority Health: Minority Population Profiles
This website provides "detailed demographic, language fluency (where relevant), education, economic, insurance coverage and health status information, as well as full census reports" for a variety of populations.

Professional Development

American Academy of Family Physicians
The mission of the AAFP is to improve the health of patients, families, and communities by serving the needs of members with professionalism and creativity. Career links, practice resources, Board Review prep, and more are available through the AAFP.
North Dakota Academy of Family Physicians
The mission of the NDAFP is to champion the Family Physicians of North Dakota in the delivery of excellent health care. The NDAFP Foundation provides awards, opportunities for continuing education and AAFP membership dues.