Research Guides: NW Clinical Campus (Minot): Evidence Based Practice Tools

Tools

This page includes a variety of FREE tools you can use to help you apply evidence-based practices to your ongoing work and education. For more resources or assistance using any of these, contact the NW Clinical Campus Librarian.

Summaries / Reviews

Cochrane
The Cochrane Library is a collection of seven databases, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). The CDSR is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials.
PubMed Clinical Queries
The PubMed Clinical Queries Page provides search results filtered into three categories: Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics. The Clinical Study Categories can also be filtered by study type: therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, and clinical prediction guides.

Papers and Research

UND Resources:

Embase
Index of peer-reviewed biomedical literature

Evidence-Based Medicine (journal)
The BMJ Evidence-Based Medicine journal "publishes original evidence-based research, insights and opinions on what matters for health care." The publication focuses on the basic tools, methods, and concepts that are integral to practicing evidence-based medicine.

PubMed
This database includes more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed is especially useful for searching for health and life sciences articles.

Other Resources:

ACP Annals of Internal Medicine Journal Club
The American College of Physicians/American Society of Internal Medicine publishes the Annals of Internal Medicine's Journal Club. This resource "summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 120 clinical journals. Research staff from McMaster University and clinical editors rigorously assess the scientific merit of the medical literature as it is published and a worldwide panel of over 3600 physicians assesses the clinical relevance and newsworthiness of rigorous studies."
Google Scholar
Use "Library Links" in your setting to gain access to full text articles from the SMHS Library Resources.

Clinical Guidelines

View the Clinical Guidelines page linked under "Popular Databases" on the left.

Other Online Tools

CATWalk
University of Alberta Libraries
Center for Evidence-Based Medicine
University of Oxford
Evidence-Based Medicine Worksheets
Dartmouth Biomedical Libraries
KT Clearinghouse
Canadian Institute of Health Research (CIHR)