Library Materials
The library provides access to a variety of materials, including:
- journals (in scholarly databases and some in print)
- books (both print and e-books)
- magazines & newspapers (both print and online)
- theses/dissertations (both print and online)
- government documents (both in print and online)
- music (both in print and online)
- maps (both in print and online)
- streaming video / DVDs
- rare and special materials
The library generally does not have textbooks, but you have options:
- Work with the librarians to find alternates such as Open Educational Resources
- Work with access services to place items on Course Reserve
- Note for Fall2023: Any course materials already in the library collection have been relocated to Permanent Reserve for 2 Hour in library use - these could be transitioned to Course Reserve by faculty request
- . You can also direct students to the Textbook Savvy guide.
If you have previously shown a DVD in class and are now teaching online, the library can help. Contact your subject librarian for assistance or see more information for Online Access to Videos for Classes.
- Chester Fritz Library Research How Tos: Finding ResourcesFollow this link to another library guide which provides information and quick links for utilizing the services, resources, and spaces offered by the CFL.
Online Access to Videos for Classes
AVON
The Chester Fritz Library subscribes to Academic Video Online (AVON), which offers unlimited access and public performance rights for more than 70,000 streaming videos. If you want to ensure perpetual access to a video used for a class, provide your subject librarian with the title(s). More information can be found here.
Kanopy
Kanopy is available for limited use. Faculty can request a title that's available on Kanopy by navigating to a title and requesting access. The library will evaluate the requests and let faculty know when the video is available. We have limited funds for Kanopy, which means the library will determine which license to get (either 1 year, 3 year, or perpetual access) depending on the title. Please contact your subject librarian for more information.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Faculty, staff, and students have full access to the Chronicle through the CFL - use the link below.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowYou need to be logged in to your library account to access this publication and most other library resources.
NYT InEducation
Now that you've created an account and can log into the New York Times website, it's time to register for your NYT InEducation account. This account will give you access to customized resources for a variety of academic disciplines.
How to Register to Use the New York Times for Classroom Learning
- Step One: Navigate to the New York Times inEducation website
- Go to nytimesineducation.com
- In the upper right-hand corner, click on "Register"
- Step Two: Register for inEducation
- Register using your school email address
- Indicate whether you are a student or faculty/staff
- Optionally select your area of study to receive related notifications
- Step Three: Login to Your Account
- Select "Click Here" to login to your account
- Ensure you have access to inEducation
Faculty use of NYT inEducation:
- Articles recommended by faculty are often accompanied by prompts for discussion, critical thinking, or analysis. Article recommendations typically include a summary of the article as well as sections such as "Why Does This Matter," "Digging Deeper," or "Discussion Prompts."
- Faculty-recommended articles always include tags for sorting by subject and learning outcomes. These tags are useful when teaching a class with a specific learning outcome or one that focuses on a particular subject.
- There are also subject tags for different levels of study, such as “Level: 300-400" or “Level: Graduate” to help when deciding if the material is appropriate for a particular class.
Access and Checking Out Materials
- Item checkout/Borrowing policiesUse your U Card to check out materials at the desk or self checkout kiosks on the 2nd floor of the CFL. There is also an app you can install on your phone: find "UND Libraries Checkout" in the app store. Visit the borrowing policies page linked here for more detailed information.
- Loan policiesMany items can be kept until the end of each semester. Visit the loan policies page linked here for information about the loan period for other items. The current maximum number of items is 200. There are no late fines for overdue items, however, a fee will be charged for lost items.
- Interlibrary LoanThis page contains a form to request books, journal articles, or other materials from thousands of other libraries.
- Forms, including Faculty Proxy Agreement & Adjunct Faculty Proxy AgreementUnder "Forms" on this page are forms which allow faculty members to designate a student proxy for CFL borrowing privileges
Course Reserves
- Course ReservesInstructors may use the online form to put items on reserve. Access Services will handle copyright clearances as necessary. If the item is library-owned, our Access Services staff will collect your materials from the stacks and place them on reserve. However, if you are putting a personal copy on reserve, please bring it to the library.
Linking to Library Materials
It's best to use the permalink (permanent link) to upload articles into Blackboard or to send to a student in an email. When articles are accessed with the permalink, it allows each individual who receives the item to log into the library system with their own UND credentials and ensures that people can access the items.
As shown in the screenshot below, permalinks are labeled with "permalink" or look for the chain link icon.
More detailed information about using permalinks can be found in the Research How Tos research guide.
Library Guidelines and Policies
Learn more about CFL Library Policies guiding the management of library resources, including
- collection development guidelines (how decisions are made about purchasing items for the library)
- electronic resources (guidelines for managing online access to materials)
- periodicals (guidelines regarding database and journal subscriptions)
- how gifts and donations are handled
- guidelines governing special collections