Research Guides: DVDs and Streaming Video: Streaming Video

Academic Video Online (AVON)

The Chester Fritz Library subscribes to Academic Video Online (AVON), which offers unlimited access and public performance rights for more than 70,000 streaming videos. These include:

Documentaries from Film Platform, BBC Landmark Collection, 60 Minutes, PBS (including Ken Burns), and more
Global films
Performances (dance and theater, including the Royal Shakespeare Company and BroadwayHD)
Award-winning films - browse by award
Classic films, including Sony Pictures Classics
Newsreels, interviews, commercials, and historical footage
Virtual Reality videos
Training and instructional materials, including Wiley For Dummies, SpringerNature and PACKT Publishing

More information about the AVON collection is available on the AVON webpage.

Select a channel or collection, search, or click on the filter icon to find a video of interest:

More information about the AVON platform searching can be found in the Proquest Academic Video Online LibGuide.

More information about making clips and other technical troubleshooting can be found in the Proquest Alexander Street Video LibGuide.

Library created tip sheets linked below:

AVON Training Tips
Basic information on searching and using Academic Video Online (AVON)
AVON Sharing Clips
Directions to create and share clips from films
AVON Video Transcripts
How to use the film transcripts feature

Streaming Video

CFL also has the following sources of online video content:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide variety of business full-text journals and magazines, including expanded access to Harvard Business Review’s (HBR) top 500 articles. Includes company information on over 1 million public and private companies with case studies, SWOT analysis, market research reports, and Standard and Poor’s Industry Surveys. Offers over 27,000 business videos from Academy of Management, HBR, Bloomberg and IGI Global.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
A library of over 300 training videos featuring master psychotherapists conducting therapy.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides access to a collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty-made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize project information as they work. If you require an alternative accessibility plan, please contact Digital Initiatives, Systems, and Services.

Credo Video Collection
This link provides a list of over 280 educational videos on a wide variety of subject areas. You can browse the list by title or you can do a keyword search. You can also view 22 titles of specific Credo Video Collections, such as Bloomberg, Cambridge Educational Videos, Food & Cooking, Inside Science, Masterworks for art history, National Geographic, and NewsHour.

Kaonpy at UND

Kanopy is available for limited use, and faculty should work with their subject librarian for access to films through Kanopy. More information can be found on the Faculty Resources: Chester Fritz Library research guide.

Grand Forks Public Library Streaming Media (Kanopy)

Grand Forks Public Library provides access to Kanopy

Request a library card if you don't have one already (this can be done online, see these directions). UND students living in Grand Forks, whether on campus or off, are eligible.
Add your library card number to the Kanopy account and create a login/password
Watch the available streaming titles. Play credits are used to play videos on Kanopy. You will receive 5 play credits per month through the Grand Forks Public Library. Each video will use 1 play credit each with the exception of those in Kanopy Kids. Once you press play on a video and a play credit has been used, you will have 3 days to view it as many times as you like without using another play credit. Your play credits will reset back to 5 on the 1st day of each month.