Peer Research Consultants

There are many different types of resources out there. Many of us started with Google, Wikipedia, etc., but how do we know if it's a good resource? Your job is to help UND's students move away from most internet searches and learn to use our databases, and to help them discover if what they need is relevant and appropriate to their assignments. Do you know the different types of journals? Do you know what to look for on websites? How do you determine if what you see if a fact or an opinion?

Please review the next three tabs in this box (and come back here often!) to be sure you know what type of material you will be finding and using!

Assignment 2: Search Plan Using a Table

To help with your comfort level as you start learning how to research, for this assignment you will pick a topic of interest to you. Maybe it's something you already need to write a paper on for a class! If you are unsure about your choice, just ask Karlene! You ARE expected to

• Use the Search Plan document template posted above
• Use the library resources as opposed to going to Google
• Fill in the Search Plan document - this allows us to copy your path as we review the work!
• Include the permalink to the item you deem to be the best choice out of those found
• You MAY include a link to the results list

Instructions / Explanation:

1. Search Plan
   1. As noted on the document, think like a reporter and include the WHO, WHAT, WHERE, WHEN, and WHY
   2. The document also asks for a CONTINGENCY PLAN – where do you plan to go if the search doesn't work? (this is considered BEFORE starting the assignment.
2. Search Strategy
   1. In the Research Path, list all the steps taken to reach your destination.
   2. These steps may need to be repeated multiple times. In between each, you may make notes on what was wrong or where it went off track for you. The example above went on to use Resource: Google and Google Scholar for additional ideas before returning to Resource: Westlaw. (you CAN look in Google - just come back to the library resources!)
3. Search Results - screen shot and hyperlink
4. Analysis – provide a few paragraphs that answer.

Include the name of your search topic at the top of the 2nd page.

You may add columns to the document to account for:

• Date of Search
• Filters used (such as publication date, peer-reviewed, etc)
• Permalink to research results instead of a screenshot
• Articles of Note

When complete, upload the worksheet to Teams and let Karlene know. Start working on Assignment #3

Assignment 3: Charged Language

"Charged Language" is defined as using controversial words or phrases that imply judgments and feelings about the subject. It is often filled with logical fallacies and innuendos and can elicit an emotional response from the listener or reader. At its worst, it could include veiled accusations or threats. 

Some examples could include using "fanatic" instead of "enthusiastic" or describing something as a "plague" rather than it being a "difficult situation."

You might experience different cases where folks ask you questions, and the language may create a response in yourself or be biased. It's important to recognize charged language so you can help meet the patron's needs without swaying them towards one direction or another. Sometimes you may get difficult questions like this, and just know it's ok if you can't answer it or if you feel there might be a bias present in yourself. Please connect with your librarian to help you. 

Please read the following example that one of our reference librarians experienced.  

Chat session: 

Patron: I need help researching welfare abuse in small communities. When I search for welfare abuse in small communities in Academic Search Ultimate, it always brings up child abuse cases and barely anything on the topic I'm looking for. 

Librarian: Okay, it sounds like the abuse word was getting picked up separately. Maybe "welfare abuse" with quotes around it would help? Hmm, the initial search I tried with the quotes had no results 

Patron: That does help, but when I add small communities then no results are found 

This is a review of how one librarian handled the question:

• I recall from the English 130 assignment that you are looking for some peer-reviewed journal articles. I'm going to try some searches in Academic Search Ultimate and see if I can figure out some keywords that work. 
• I see welfare reform is another search term the database suggests...  
• I'm thinking you won't find an article exactly on your topic from what we saw from trying to search ASU (zero results for that one search), but we could find some articles on related topics that you could piece together in your essay. 
• Substitute names of specific programs for the phrase Welfare Reform or Welfare Abuse : e.g. (temporary assistance to needy families OR SNAP) AND rural AND abuse 
• Basically, since "welfare abuse" didn't work for that initial search, now that we learned a little more about the topic (what are examples of welfare abuse), we can try some different words to see if we get more results. 
• Also – try to give guidance/suggestions to “operationalize” the issue because eventually in the course they come up with a local proposal, e.g. 
• For example, maybe you are making the point that welfare shouldn't support drug abusers and use that article and then you add something about what a local community could do - use that welfare money to support a drug treatment program instead. And if you look at a certain community, you could add details like Organization B could organize the drug treatment program. 

Now that you've seen tips, please answer:

• How would you break this down? What search terms might you try?
• Do you see examples of “charged language” in this question? 

By this time you should have met with the Team about Assignment 1and 2. If this is done in time, we can cover it at the same meeting. If not, let Karlene know to schedule a meeting, and move on to Assignment #4.

Assignment 4: Revised Search Plan Using a Table

Now that you've met with the librarian about Assignment 1 and 2, and learned several tips and treasures, please repeat the steps of Assignment 2, utilizing your new tools. You can use the same topic or choose a new topic.

This assignment is to reflect on what you learned in this process. Please include (or be ready to discuss):

1. All the databases you've tried in the exercise and the revisions
2. How did those databases influence the results / pros and cons of each
3. A discussion about relevance and recall of the result lists (how relevant were the results to the search terms?)
4. Recognition of different collections of journals / material types in the different databases
5. Differences of functionality in differing databases
6. Kristen uses a toolbox analogy - which database "tool" do you choose when researching your topic and why?

Please wait before moving on! You may be asked to revise and expand your searches!

As a reminder: as noted on the Home tab, when assisting patrons, you still need to have a librarian taking the lead, with you listening. You know a little, but there's a ways to go yet! After a patron interaction, discuss your thoughts with your librarian buddy. Keep working on those critical thinking skills as you move ahead with the training.

Assignment 5: English 130 Sample Questions

• When you get to assist with English 130, you will need to know how to work with questions like these.
• Use the search plan template

Often times when we start, the topic is extremely broad.

Choose two of the following English 130 Topics for this assignment:

• Work & Leisure
• Sustainability & Community
• Technology & Community
• College Education
• Democracy and public spaces

This assignment is to demonstrate your ability to navigate the Research Guides. While it may seem logical to start with the Eng 130 guide, that may not be where the topic best fits. This helps you start thinking "outside the box" and to consider what subject areas the topics may better fit. Use the Search Plan model for documenting your path.

For each question, list:

1. Which Research Guides did you look at?
2. Which links did you follow on the Guides?
3. Why did you make each decision you did?

Let Karlene know when you are done so she can set a meeting with the team. Go on to Assignment #6

Assignment 6 - Selling the Program

You now understand enough of the PRC program that you're ready to start representing us for outreach opportunities! This allows you to:

1. Help librarians create content for flyers (note that you do NOT create the flyer - that is for the Marketeers!)
2. Table with librarian at activities like National Library Week

To do this, you need to be able to tell them who you are and what your job is. There are three things you need to create for this assignment:

1. 30 Second Elevator Pitch
   1. “Hi, my name is <X> and I’m a Peer Research Consultant at the Chester Fritz Library. I work with undergraduates using the library databases and online resources. So it’s taking what you learned from when the librarians came to Eng 130 or any other class and going more in-depth with the databases and resources, in a personalized one on one 30 minute session. I understand the struggle and frustration of finding resources for your papers since I have taken some of the same classes and have been in the same boat before. There is a lot of information that I learned, that I wish I knew as an undergraduate. My overall goal is to make you a better researcher.”
2. 1 minute Elevator Pitch
   1. “Hello my name is <X> and I will be helping out Kristen. My job at the Chester Fritz Library is a Peer Research Consultant. I work with students with learning how to help their searches by using different tricks or tips like keywords or filtering out to what you specifically need. Sometimes I help you figure out what information you are really looking for. All of the Peer Research Consultants have been or are undergraduates at UND. I have all sat in and seen the Eng 130 and for a ceramics course the lecture on how to use the databases and library resources. I know it is a lot of information to take in and can sometimes be confusing or you miss a step or later cannot remember what Kristen did to find a good search. I know from personal experience that when I would look for articles or journals, I almost always got overwhelmed by the number of results I got and frustrated that a lot of them had nothing to do with my topic. There has definitely been a lot of information that I learned that I wish I knew back then. All of our sessions are 30 minutes and are one on one. I let you do all the typing and clicking so that way you can understand what is being taught better rather than if I simply did it for you. You can set up an appointment online by going onto Starfish, or if you go to the library and go to the Circulation Info desk, they can help you to see if we are available for a session.”
3. Profile - This short "bio" will be included on the library website and on Starfish, which you will be gaining access to soon.
   1. Please write a short profile of yourself to include on the library website. See this example from University of Minnesota for ideas.

Please submit to Karlene after creating. Go on to Assignment #7 under Reference Interviews.