Education

This guide has curated a number of resources to assist you in your research.

Included are:

• Academic Databases & Journals is where you can find:
  • Teacher / Education specific databases
  • Professional and Practitioner journals at CFL
• Resources for Research and Writing includes:
  • Research guides on
    • Literature reviews
    • Citation style guides
    • Citation managers
    • eBook collections
  • Types of Research such as quantitative, qualitative, and systematic reviews
  • Explanation of what peer-review is
  • Readers Advisory links for recommendations on what to read next, such as NoveList, Goodreads, and Fantastic Fiction
• DVDs and Streaming Video Platforms
  • Chester Fritz Library has access to a large collection of online movies related to documentaries, foreign films, award-winners, training and more
• Helpful Video Tutorials on how to:
  • search the library
  • database usage
  • know what type of research you're doing
  • learn what peer review is about
• State and National Education Resources takes you to relevant websites for:
  • Education in North Dakota
  • National associations, foundations and councils
  • Federal data
• Education Data and Statistics for:
  • statistics, survey results, and assessment
  • data from countries other than the United States

There are several guides related to Education that might be useful for you beyond what you'll find here.

• American Indian Studies
• Children's Literature
• Lakota Language Education
• T&L 524: Reading in the Content Areas
• Images is about sources for credible visual images in the library databases and on the internet that can be cited

We can help!

• You are able to Schedule Appointments with a librarian.
• Distance Learning Assistance
  • For those living outside the Grand Forks/East Grand Forks Zip Code area (58201, 58202, 58203, or 56721) and do not come to campus regularly
• 24/7 Ask Us chat service
  • Assistance from a librarian around the clock
• UND Writing Center
  • Get one-on-one writing assistance, in person or virtually
• Interlibrary Loan
  • The library can try to acquire a book or article on loan from another library. Textbooks do not qualify.

• Finding Resources in Chester Fritz Library's website

  Research How Tos page on finding and using resources including how to search the library for books, articles, eBooks, and more.

• Finding books on education. The Library of Congress shows the general subject area for education is in the L section. Subsequent letters and numbers narrow the subject area and author to a single book.

  • Library of Congress subject headings for Education

  • Browsing Chester Fritz Library, visit LC 3701-3740 on the third floor

• eBook Collections

• WorldCat - Available from QuickLinks. You can search books from anywhere in the country and request Chester Fritz Library borrow that book for you.

• Research Skills

• Google Scholar Instructions

  • This can be helpful if you're having some issues finding resources on a topic where there might be a limited amount of available published literature or if you've found some good articles but they're not the most recent publications.

    • Look for the Cited By link underneath the article info. This will link you to more currently published material. Look for the PDF or FindIt@UND button to access the articles.           

Finding a Dissertation or Theses

• Dissertations & Thesis Guide

  Addresses how to find and access UND and non-UND dissertations and theses.
• UND Scholarly Commons

  Holds many dissertations produced at UND in full text for anyone
• Proquest dissertations

  If full text is not listed as available, an Interlibrary Loan Request can be submitted.