Research Guides: eBooks: eBook Collection Subscriptions

EBSCO eBooks

The Chester Fritz Library purchases individual titles from EBSCO, which offers ebooks from nearly every publisher and subject area. Like the other ebook platforms, these ebooks show up in the Library Search, but can also be accessed through the database.

Select EBSCO eBook Collection from the library's Quick Links
Search or use the "Browse by Category" option to limit by a topic, such as "Literature and Criticism"

See the Using eBooks page for more details on using EBSCO eBooks.

EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic books from Ebscohost. Note that most of the holdings in this collection are also listed in UND's catalog and can be searched for like any other book. (Formerly called NetLibrary.)

JSTOR eBooks

We have an evidence-based acquisition agreement with JSTOR, which gives us access to thousands of ebooks in nearly every subject area. While these titles show up in the Library Search, you can also go to JSTOR to browse what we have from them by subject:

Select from the library's Quick Links, JSTOR
Select "Browse - By Subject."
Select a topic and click on the "Books" tab to see a list of books for that topic.

Project Muse eBooks

Thousands of titles in history, literature, anthropology, and other areas of the humanities and social sciences, representing dozens of academic publisher. While these titles show up in the Library Search, you can also go to Project MUSE to browse what we have from them by subject:

Select from the library's Quick Links, Project MUSE
Select "Browse Books" options or
Perform a search and limit to Books

ProQuest eBooks

The Chester Fritz Library purchases individual titles from ProQuest, which offers ebooks from nearly every publisher and subject area. Like the other ebook platforms, these ebooks show up in the Library Search, but can also be accessed through the database.

Select ProQuest eBook Central from the library's Quick Links
Search or use the "All subjects and indexing" drop-down option to search for a particular subject, such as "engineering"

See the Using eBooks page for more details on using ProQuest eBooks.

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.

Salem Press eBooks

When the Chester Fritz Library purchases Reference titles from Salem Press, they freely offer an ebook version.

Subject Area handbooks and encyclopedias in:

Literature
- Access critical insights and surveys of various works
History
- Includes American decades; Countries, Peoples, and Cultures worldwide
Science
- Information relating to Earth Science, Global Warming, Forensic Science, etc.
Heath
- Explore various health topics
Careers
- In Chemistry & Physics

Like the other ebook platforms, these ebooks show up in the Library Search, but can also be accessed through the database.

Select Salem Press from the library's Quick Links
Search by keyword in individual titles or all books at once; browse contents of specific titles

Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Offers book-length reference works on literature, history, and science.

Subject Specific Collections

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides access to a collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty-made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize project information as they work. If you require an alternative accessibility plan, please contact Digital Initiatives, Systems, and Services.
ARTFL Project This link opens in a new window
The ARTFL Project: American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language is a digital collection of French language resources spanning a wide a variety of genres and topics, including several French dictionaries. The most significant database is ARTFL-FRANTEXT, which consists of more than 3,500 French language texts from the 12th through the 20th centuries. The platform includes other smaller databases as well as making some free publicly accessible databases on its platform.
Bloom's Literary Criticism eBooks This link opens in a new window
The Bloom’s Literary Criticism eBook Collection represents a comprehensive library covering a broad selection of literary works, their authors and genres. Each title in the collection was edited by Harold Bloom, a leading American literary critic and Sterling Professor of Humanities at Yale University.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Offers instant, searchable access to over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines. Covers these visual arts disciplines: Fashion & Textiles, Design & Illustration, Photography, Film & Animation, Architecture & Interiors, Marketing & Advertising.
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window
Offers instant, searchable access to a broad range of over 100 reference works, e-books, images, and exhibitions collections. Topics cover design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day (updated annually).
Making of Modern Law This link opens in a new window
"The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926" provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.

eBooks through Libby (Overdrive)

You can download popular eBooks and audio books from Libby (by Overdrive) by adding the app to your device (or from this website) and signing in with your UND credentials. On the app, search for North Dakota Academic Consortium, then choose the University of North Dakota from the list of libraries. You can have multiple libraries in your account, such as the GF Public Library (included in the North Dakota Digital Consortium) or your hometown library.

Libby (OverDrive)- North Dakota Academic Consortium This link opens in a new window
Libby (OverDrive) - North Dakota Academic Consortium - Popular eBooks, eAudiobooks, and other content downloadable to your device through the Libby app.

eBook renewals
You can extend the lending period by renewing it: Find the Renew option on your Loans page (under Loans). You can renew it 3 days before it expires, as long as the CFL still owns a copy and there are no holds.

Popular eBooks from GF Public Library

The Grand Forks Public Library also subscribes to Libby (formerly Overdrive), which includes thousands of popular ebooks. You can add both libraries (UND & GFPL) to your Libby account.

If you don't already have a Grand Forks Public Library card, you can get one using their online submission form:
- Use your dorm address or
- Off-campus housing address

If you belong to any public library in North Dakota, you also have access to RBDigital, which includes ebooks, magazines, and comics.