American Indian Studies

This guide has curated a number of resources to assist you in your research.

Included are: 

• Academic Databases, Journals and Newspapers where you will find:
  • Best Bets databases to search from
  • A sampling of Academic Journals in our collection (also searchable)
  • 3 of the databases to search newspapers
• Internet Resources has links to:
  • Government websites
  • NGO & Advocacy Organization Websites
  • UND resources
  • Pages beneath Internet Resources have:
    • Historical Resources from museums, other universities, and national parks.
    • NAGPRA - Native American Graves Protection & Repatriation Act
    • Indian Boarding Schools information with investigative reports, maps and lists of locations, and more
• Resources for Research and Writing provides links to helpful research guides on
  • Creating research papers
  • Citation Style Guides (like MLA and APA)
  • Citation Managers (places to store resources you find)
  • and Finding Images that are open source and free to use
  • Pages beneath Resources for Research and Writing have:
    • Featured books in the collection and where to look in our shelves
    • Encyclopedias and Reference resources (online and physical)
    •  

There are several other research guides that will be have beneficial information. A few of those include:

We can help!

• You are able to Schedule Appointments with a librarian.
• Distance Learning Assistance
  • For those living outside the Grand Forks/East Grand Forks Zip Code area (58201, 58202, 58203, or 56721) and do not come to campus regularly
• 24/7 Ask Us chat service
  • Assistance from a librarian around the clock
• UND Writing Center
  • Get one-on-one writing assistance, in person or virtually
• Interlibrary Loan
  • The library can try to acquire a book or article on loan from another library. Textbooks do not qualify.