Aviation

Advances in aviation psychology. Volume 2, Using scientific methods to address practical human factors needs

View Online & Open source in a new window.

3 users at a time.

1 user at a time.

Read Online or Download Free PDF.

1 user at a time.

1 user at a time.

1 user at a time.

1 user at a time.

ONLINE EBOOK. The Drone Debate offers a thorough investigation of the where, why, how, and when of the United States' use of UAVs. Beginning with a historical overview of the use of drones in warfare, it then addresses whether targeted killing operations are strategically wise, whether they are permissible under international law, and the related ethical issues. It also looks at the political factors behind the use of drones, including domestic and global attitudes toward their use and potential issues of proliferation and escalation. Finally, the use of drones by other countries, such as Israel and China,
Includes bibliographical references and index.

1 user at a time.

1 user at a time.

Click PDF Full Text to read and search within online.
Can also Download for 7 day checkout.

1 user at a time.

1 user at a time

Covers many relevant topics to Aerospace with a U.S. focus.

Includes key figures and first events in U.S. aviation. (JSTOR EBA collection)

1 user at a time.

Click PDF Full Text to read & search within online.
Can also Download for 7 day checkout.

1 user at a time

This book discusses the emerging field of industrial neuroscience, and reports on the authors' cutting-edge findings in the evaluation of mental states, including mental workload, cognitive control and training of personnel involved either in the piloting of aircraft and helicopters, or in managing air traffic. It encompasses neuroimaging and cognitive psychology techniques and shows how they have been successfully applied in the evaluation of human performance and human-machine interactions, and to guarantee a proper level of safety in such operational contexts. With an introduction to the most relevant concepts of neuroscience, neurophysiological techniques, simulators and case studies in aviation environments, it is a must-have for both students and scientists in the field of aeronautic and biomedical engineering, as well as for various professionals in the aviation world. This is the first book to intensively apply neurosciences to the evaluation of human factors and mental states in aviation.

Click on PDF Full Text & read & search within online.
Can also Download for 7 day checkout.

1 user at a time.

The structure of the airport industry -- Airport economics and performance benchmarking -- The airport/airline relationship -- Airport operations -- Airport service quality and the passenger experience -- Provision of commercial facilities -- Airport competition and the role of marketing -- The economic and social impact of airports -- The environmental impact of airports -- Future prospects.

THIS IS AN OLDER EDITION OF THE BOOK. See newer edition above.

1 user at a time.

John Stringfellow is included.

3 users at a time.

1 user at a time.

3 users at a time.

1 user at a time.

1 user at a time.

Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (Fla.)
1 user at a time.

1 user at a time

1 user at a time.

Click PDF Full Text to read and search within online.
Can also Download for 7 day checkout.

Includes Chuck Yeager, X-1, wind tunnels etc. (JSTOR EBA collection)

1 user at a time.

(JSTOR EBA collection)

Otto Lilienthal.

Joseph Kittinger

Covers many historic figures and first events in U.S. aviation.

Includes people such as John Stringfellow.

Chapter 9: Domestic drones.

Joseph Kittinger

George Cayley.

3 users at a time.

1 user at a time.

1 user at a time.

1 user at a time.

1 user at a time.
Click PDF Full Text -- to read and search within online.
Can Click to Download for 7 day checkout.
Under Search Within there is only 1 section that mentions a court case with United & 5 of the Unions--related to a Janet Hansen & Clinton Oster book.

1 user at a time.

online book

1 user at a time -- online book

1 user at a time -- online book

1 user at a time.

1 user at a time

1 user at a time.

1 user at a time

"Aircraft emissions currently account for ~3.5% of all greenhouse gas emissions. The number of passenger miles has increased by 5% annually despite 9/11, two wars and gloomy economic conditions. Since aircraft have no viable alternative to the internal combustion engine, improvements in aircraft efficiency and alternative fuel development become essential. This book comprehensively covers the relevant issues in green aviation. Environmental impacts, technology advances, public policy and economics are intricately linked to the pace of development that will be realized in the coming decades. Experts from NASA and industry review current technology development in green aviation that will carry the industry through 2025 and beyond. This includes increased efficiency through better propulsion systems, reduced drag airframes, advanced materials and operational changes. Clean combustion and emission control of noise, exhaust gases and particulates are also addressed through combustor design and the use of alternative fuels. Economic imperatives from aircraft lifetime and maintaince logistics dictate the drive for "drop-in" fuels, blending jet-grade and biofuel. New certification standards for such fuels are outlined. Life Cycle Assessments are used to evaluate worldwide biofuel approaches, highlighting that there is no single rational approach for sustainable buildup. In fact, unless local conditions are considered, the use of biofuels can create a net increase in environmental impact as a result of biofuel manufacturing processes. Governmental experts evaluate current and future regulations and their impact on green aviation. Sustainable approaches to biofuel development are discussed for locations around the globe, including the US, EU, Brazil, China and India."--Provided by publisher.

online book

1 user at a time -- online book

The structure of the airport industry -- Airport economics and performance benchmarking -- The airport/airline relationship -- Airport operations -- Airport service quality and the passenger experience -- Provision of commercial facilities -- Airport competition and the role of marketing -- The economic and social impact of airports -- The environmental impact of airports -- Future prospects.

1 user at a time.

3 users at a time.

1 user at a time -- online book

1 user at a time.

1 user at a time.

Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (Fla.)
1 user at a time -- online book

1 user at a time

1 user at a time.

1 user at a time.

In 1921, a young woman arose from the poverty of the Texas cotton fields. She captured the hearts of the American Black population, teaching them to overcome not only the racial barriers of the time but also the barriers within themselves. She dared to dream, and she challenged them to do so as well. Her name was Bessie Coleman. And, for Bessie Coleman, the sky was the limit... The Legend: The Bessie Coleman Story presents the story of a renowned young woman of vision and courage who, despite the persistent threats of racism, simply refused to compromise herself, her principles, and her race!

"Florence ''Pancho'' Barnes was the first woman stunt pilot in Hollywood in 1929. She shattered Amelia Earhart's air speed record in 1930. In the 1940's and 50's, Pancho entertained the greatest test pilots in the world, the men with the right stuff at the infamous ''Happy Bottom Riding Club'' guest ranch near Edwards Air Force Base. When Chuck Yeager broke the sound barrier in the Bell X-1 in 1947, he partied with Pancho." -- from Amazon

A history of the legendary Concorde, the passenger plane that flew from the late 70s until 2003 at twice the speed of sound. Designed and built by French and British engineers, the Concorde was the ultimate in speed and luxury for a select group of global jet setters, and the birthplace of many breakthroughs in aviation science. Ultimately, it was not sustainable because of enormous fuel consumption and high-ticket prices.

120 min. NOVA follows the team and pilots with Solar Impulse II, which takes off on March 2015 to be the first solar-powered airplane to fly around the world.

"On December, 21, 1988, 270 people were murdered when a terrorist bomb destroyed Pan Am flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland. This extraordinary new feature-length documentary tells the heart-wrenching story of these first American victims of terrorism, who proved that ordinary people can accomplish extraordinary feats in the wake of politically fueled mass murder."--Container.

Includes men such as Air Force Captain Joseph Kittinger.