Qualitative Research
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Collection by ISBN: 9781473952133Publication Date: 2018-01-30Great starting point for qualitative research methods.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research Ethics by ISBN: 9781473970977Publication Date: 2018-03-29Addresses ethical considerations for qualitative research.
The SAGE Handbook of Online Research Methods by ISBN: 9781473918788Publication Date: 2017-03-15Addresses online research methods, such as social media, big data, data visualization, and more.
The SAGE Handbook of Survey Methodology by ISBN: 9781446282663Publication Date: 2016-08-15Covers methodology related to developing and evaluating surveys and survey data.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods by ISBN: 9781473916326Publication Date: 2017-02-27Addresses everything from the formulation of research questions to the interpretation of findings. Includes chapters on specific social media platforms such as Twitter, Sina Weibo and Instagram, as well as a series of critical chapters.
The major aviation databases do not have an easy way to limit to qualitative research. However, you can add qualitative research terms to your search topic to find them. For example:
(pilot fatigue) AND (survey* OR questionnaire* OR interview* OR coding OR framing OR “focus group” OR "focus groups")
- Aerospace Index This link opens in a new windowIncludes academic journals, ebooks, dissertations, trade publications, and more from aeronautics, space science, and related fields.
- AIAA Aerospace Research Central This link opens in a new windowContains journal articles, meeting papers, and ebooks published by AIAA, the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.
Depending on your topic, you may also be interested in searching a subject specific database, such as PsychInfo. PsychInfo does provide an option to limit by Methodology - Qualitative Study
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes full text articles from journals published by the APA and other top psychology journals.
UND subscribes to Qualtrics, which is very helpful for collecting and analyzing survey data.
UND also subscribes to SPSS (stastistical analysis software available through UND Labs Anywhere), and MATLAB (used for programming and data analysis).
You can also access free or discounted software from the UND Software Store, including NVivo, a qualitative coding software package.
If your research requires human participation (such as a survey or focus group), your research will need to be approved by UND's Institutional Review Board. You will also need to complete their IRB training prior to seeking approval for your research study.
- UND Research & Survey ToolsIncludes the Qualtrics login, Qualtrics tutorials, and more.
- UND Institutional Review BoardProvides links to UND's IRB training, tips for submitting an IRB application, IRB forms, and more.
- UND Software StoreProvides free and discounted software.