In This Guide:
This guide is a quick introduction to the search tool on library's homepage. We'll help you take your research to the next level by teaching you:
-
what the library search is, how to use it, and how to get the most out of it,
-
how to refine your searches to quickly access the most relevant information,
-
the benefits of signing in to your library account to do research,
-
how to use additional features to save you time and prevent frustration!
-
watch a short introductory video to see search in action!
How does the Library Search work?
Searching the Library
When should you use the library search?
-
When when you want to know what UND Libraries has (articles, books, DVDs, journals, and more)
-
When your topic is multidisciplinary
-
When you want to find different kinds of resources
-
When you want to find a specific source
- When you want to limit to a specific collection (Children's/Dewey collection for example).
Looking for your textbook? Click here for more information!
Searching the Library
Everything - searches the library's print and online books, online journals, and online reference sources.
Articles - searches online journals, magazine and newspaper articles, reviews, and conference proceedings.
Books+ - searches all UND libraries' catalogs - books, videos, government documents, and journal titles in print.
Journal Titles - use this if you have the name of a journal and want to see if the library owns it online or in print.
Newspaper Search
The Library Searches for Everything and Articles exclude results from the library newspaper databases. Instead you are prompted to re-execute the search using the same terms when you scroll to the bottom of the results screen:
Refine Your Search
Topic |
Choose the topic(s) most relevant to your search or exclude unrelated topics |
Author/Creator |
Use this option if you are looking for results by a specific author. |
Publication Date |
Limit results by publication year to find both historical research and cutting-edge data. |
Resource Type |
Select the kinds of resources you want (like books or articles) or exclude those you don't want. |
Collection |
Narrow your results to holdings in a specific collection, like the Children's Collection, Special Collections, microfiche, or even online federal documents. |
Database |
Choose a specific database to view only sources and journals that are housed in that database and to take advantage of its customized tools. |
Journal Title |
View articles only from a specific journal. |
Genre/Form |
Limit results to biographies, DVDs, electronic books, and more. |
Classification LCC |
Limit results based on their subject classification in the Library of Congress system, which is organized by topic. |
Language |
Choose which language(s) you'd like to limit your results to. |
Library |
Limit by library when you're only interested in the physical holdings of a specific UND library. |
Maximize Features by Signing In!
Sign using your UND credentials to:
|
|
To take advantage of your customized research profile, simply click on "Sign in" at the top right corner of the library homepage, and then log in using your UND credentials. It's that easy!
Saving Search Queries for Later
-
Look at the top of the results page, to the right of the number of results
-
Click "Save Query" -- now you're done -- find it in your favorites later!
Saving Sources for Later​
Quickly save search results with the click of a button. Don't chance not being able to find something again--save anything that might be helpful!
To save an item:
-
Click the push-pin button at the top right of the source entry.
-
Assign customized tags to each source (optional) to sort research quickly and efficiently.
-
If you decide against needing a source, just click the push-pin button again to remove it.
Additional Features
-
Generate Citations:
-
Click the quotation mark button located in the top right corner of the source entry.
-
The citation will appear at the bottom of the source entry.
-
Select the citation style you need.
-
Click "Copy the Citation to Clipboard."
-
Paste it into your document--all finished!
-
-
Email a Source:
-
Click the envelope button between the citation and save buttons.
-
If you're already signed in, your email address will appear automatically.
-
Add a note to remind you why the source is helpful.
-
Press send, and you're done!
-
eResource Linking Problems during Transition
Trouble shooting online full text access during Library Search transition Summer/Fall 2020
Library Search upgrades may cause problems getting to our eResources through the catalog (links to the full text of articles or ebooks may not seamlessly get you to the item). We have many “workarounds” so please provide us with specific citation if a link is not taking you to its “target.” Here is a troubleshooting hint to try on your own:
- When you clicked on that link you were brought to a screen with a black band across the top that says Chester Fritz Library
- You saw the words Full Text Available at Name of Database
- Go back to library.und.edu and towards the upper right you see the words QUICK LINKS
- Click on that and start to type the name of the database and you’ll see an option to directly go to that database
- From there you could type the article title into the search box and get to it that way
- QUICK LINKS also has links to eBook packages or visit the eBook research guide for more help
Example:
Full Text Available at American Society of Civil Engineers ASCE Journals. Go to QUICK LINKS and start typing American and you’ll see an option to directly go to that database by clicking on the name in the list.