Shopping Smart
Do You Read Product Reviews On Websites?
A good cross-check to these types of reviews are ratings from the impartial Consumer Reports organization. In addition to helpful articles, their labs test all types of products and provide ratings. This magazine is published monthly, with a separate yearly buying guide. Click on the links below to access the Consumer Reports titles and learn how to use this valuable resource that is only available by subscription. Access is provided by the State Library of North Dakota.
- Consumer Reports Monthly Magazine Online Access LinkPresents articles on health, public safety, marketplace economics and the judicial & regulatory actions that affect consumers. Publishes results of tests on products ranging from major purchases such as automobiles & appliances to everyday items such as food & cleaning products.
- Consumer Reports Yearly Buying Guide Online Access LinkDedicated to product reviews on items featured throughout the year.
Once You Click on the Online Access Link You Have Two Options
(hint: for easier navigation, maximize your window)
To Browse By Issue Date and See Contents of the Online Magazine:
- click on the + preceding the year
- results display in page number order
- click the icon for PDF Full Text to read the article as it appears in the print version
- print or email the items
To Search a Specific Item, Product, or Brand:
- click Search within this publication on top left
- a new screen opens with 3 search boxes
- keep Consumer Reports on the top line
- click into the 2nd line and type the item or brand
- if no results, try other words that mean the same thing (footwear or sneakers or shoes)
- click the icon for PDF Full Text to read the article as it appears in the print version
- print or email the items
Family History
- Ancestry Library EditionAn enhanced edition of MyFamily.com genealogy database. Must be accessed in the CFL - there is NOT remote access to this database.
Looking for Family History Records?
Ancestry Library Edition (ALE) is a collection of historical and genealogical databases. It differs from a personal subscription by not having collaborative features. Although the bulk of the databases deal with U.S. records, there are also databases for Canada, the United Kingdom, and other countries.
Search Tips
- It is useful to have a research strategy, which includes identifying specific databases to search. Familiarize yourself with the navigation of the website and how to locate databases. It is generally advisable to search in one database at a time.
- Database titles are sometimes misleading. Check the details about the contents of a database, located below the search interface, before searching in it for the first time.
- Understand how and when to use wild cards in your searches as names can be misspelled in indexes. ALE uses both the asterisk(*) and the question mark (?) as wild cards.
- Less is usually better for database searching. Only one wrong entry among the search criteria will return a negative result.
- It is recommended to use the “Match all terms exactly” option at the top of the search form. This option gives you control over the results that are returned.
Contact the Department of Special Collections for more assistance with genealogical research.