Chester Fritz Library Research How Tos

This section of the guide gives general information on how to locate articles:

• From the Library Homepage
• From a Library Database
• From a Specific Citation

Interlibrary Loan articles we don't own

Locating articles is sometimes tricky, Ask Us rather than doing without it

Looking for scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles? Most article search options allow you to narrow by scholarly or peer-reviewed journals! See Popular, Trade, Scholarly for more details on different types of articles.

Use Library Search from the library's homepage to search across library databases.

1. Type in a topic in the library search box

2. Select "in Articles" from the drop-down options

3. Click on "Full text available" to navigate to the full text of a specific article

Notes:

• The Library Search results only shows articles with online full text available unless you check the box "Expand Beyond Library"

• You will get many results because it searches all database at once, learn how to use Library Search

Quick Links Shortcut

• Once you know the name of the database, use the library home page Quick Links to access it
• In the upper right hand corner of the homepage click on the words Quick Links:

Connecting Google Scholar to UND

• Go to scholar.google.com
• At the top left of Google Scholar, click on the 3 bars, a menu will pop up from the left
• From the menu, click on 'Settings'

• In settings, select 'Library links', this tab will have a search bar
• Type in University North Dakota
• Select 'UND - Find it @ UND' is checked
  • For med students, check '...Find it @ SMHS' and leave @ UND unchecked
• Click 'Save'
  • If you are logged in or have cookies enabled, these settings will remain saved

Have a citation and want to find the full text? Here are a few ways you can find it:

Search for the article or journal title in the Library Search. Click on "Full text available."

• If you have a subtitle, don't include that in your search.

• Try excluding punctuation; sometimes the punctuation can throw off your search.

• Try using quotation marks if your initial search yields many unrelated results.

• If you don't find what you are looking for, try the "Expand beyond Library" box on the top left of your search results. This will include results not full text at UND, but you can request it through interlibrary loan.

Navigate to the article using Find e-journals.

• If you don't have any search results, try using the Library Search method above.
• Sometimes the article title may be slightly different, which can cause a failed search unless you use this method.
• If the journal title includes "&" and doesn't show up, try using "and" instead.
• Journal titles may appear similar, but may be completely different journals; the ISSN can help identify the correct journal [####-####]

1. Search for the journal title in Find e-journals. In this case, Health Information and Libraries Journal.

2. Click on the journal link from your search results

3. If you see multiple options for full text, look at the date ranges listed and select the link for an option that includes the year of your journal article. In this case, 2019 is the most recent year, so select the option that does not have the 1-year embargo (Wiley).

4. Navigate to the year, volume, and issue of your article citation (or search within the journal for the article title).

5. Browse through the issue for the page numbers/title of your article.