Quality Publishers
What makes a High Quality Journal, beyond well-known reputable publishers and impact factors? (For more in impact factor, check out the Metrics Research Guide).
- Use tools (linked in a box below) like the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), The Journal Guide, ROAD, Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA), Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory and SHERPA/RoMEO to investigate the quality and publishing practices of a journal.
- From Berger & Cirasella, 2015, A Journal must:
- Be chiefly scholarly
- Make content available without embargo (immediately)
- Have an editor, editorial board and peer review structure (even better if this structure is transparent) for quality control
- Have an ISSN (International Standard Serial Number)
- Engage in transparency around APCs
- How to Assess a JournalBy CARL (Canadian Association of Research Libraries)
Think. Check. Submit.
- ThinkCheckSubmit.orgSharing research results with the world is key to the progress of your discipline and career. But with so many publications, how can you be sure you can trust a particular journal? Follow this check list to make sure you choose trusted journals for your research.
Open Access
Open Access & Open Data Publishing
- ARTiFACTSA simple, user-friendly platform, purpose built for academic and scientific research that leverages blockchain technology. Researchers can record a permanent, valid, and immutable chain of records in real-time, from the earliest stages of research for all scientific and scholarly artifacts, including citing/attribution transactions. Compatible with open and traditional publishing models.
- arXiv.org This link opens in a new windowOpen access to over one million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window2,125 free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
- How Papers Get Into PMCA paper can get into PubMed Central (PMC) as either the final published version of the article deposited directly in PMC by the publisher, or an author manuscript version (i.e., peer-reviewed, accepted manuscript) through NIHMS.
- Mendeley Data This link opens in a new windowA secure cloud-based repository where you can search and find data sets and store your own data, ensuring it is easy to share, access and cite, wherever you are.
- OSF Preprints This link opens in a new windowAggregates search results from various preprint providers. Over a million preprints can be searched by author, keywords, subject, preprint server, and recent contribution. Contributors are encouraged to provide supplemental data and materials. Existing OSF project are linked to preprints when relevant.
- Open Science FrameworkOSF is a free and open source project management repository that supports researchers across their entire project lifecycle.
- ScienceMattersPublishing Platform for single, valid observations (triple blind peer review), pre-registering hypotheses, data important for reproducibility, and more.
- SHERPA/RoMEO This link opens in a new windowLists journal publisher copyright and self-archiving policies including information on paid access options with direct links to the relevant publisher policies.
- Sherpa Juliet This link opens in a new windowEnables researchers and librarians to see funders' conditions for open access publication
- UND Scholarly Commons This link opens in a new windowThe institutional repository is a service of the University of North Dakota libraries. Research and scholarly output included here has been selected and deposited by the individual university departments and centers on campus.
Journal Tools
Tools for finding Journal Information
- Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new windowEasy to use database detailing over 3000,000 serials in more than 900 subject areas including ISSN, OA or subscription-based, peer-reviewed or not, place of publication, website, publisher, reviews written by librarians and abstracting, indexing and full-text database coverage and more.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowThis service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. There are now 2,125 journals in the directory. Nearly 91,000 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
- ROAD - Directory of Open Access Scholarly ResourcesROAD covers different types of online scholarly resources: journals, conferences proceedings, academic repositories, monographic series, and scholarly blogs (since the end of 2014)
- SHERPA/RoMEOA free, open access database of Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving.
- Crossref Title ListCrossref's journal membership title list.
- JournalGuideCan be sorted by discipline.
Journal Finder Tools for Publishing
- Edanz Journal SelectorData, including Impact Factors, are collected from publicly available information and are updated regularly. Impact Factors are based on information reported by a journal and may differ form the latest official figures. Official Journal Impact Factors are compiled by Thomson Reuters in their annual Journal Citation Reports®.
- Elsevier Journal FinderElsevier® Journal Finder helps you find journals that could be best suited for publishing your scientific article. Also read the Journal Authors page for step by step instructions for publishing with Elsevier.
- ERIH PLUSHumanities and Social Sciences approved journals list according to ERICH PLUS criteria.
- Springer journal suggesterThe Springer Journal Suggester uses semantic technology to help you quickly choose the Springer journal that is right for your paper.
Book Publishers
- Research Impact - metrics / Book impactSee this page for finding quality book publishers.
Current Hot Topics
- New Assessment Process Boosts Credibility of Developing-world JournalsBy SIÂN HARRIS on The Scholarly Kitchen blog.