Research Guides: Language Learning: Spanish

Learning and Practice

Print

In-library print resources to help you learn and practice Spanish.

501 Spanish Verbs
Call Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks PC4271.K38 2003

The most important and most commonly used Spanish verbs are presented alphabetically in chart form, one verb per page, and conjugated in all persons and tenses, both active and passive. This thorough guide to the use of verbs features many additional references and tips, including a bilingual list of more than 1,250 additional Spanish verbs, helpful expressions and idioms for travelers, and verb drills and tests with answers explained at the back of the book.
Spanish Vocabulary
Call Number: CFL Floor 3 Book Stacks PC4112.S62 2006

Kaplan's Spanish Vocabulary Flashcards includes more than 360 challenging Spanish vocabulary words that often appear on tests, conveniently designed in a handy flashcard format

Online

Online resources to help you learn and practice Spanish.

Spanish Flashcards (StudyStack)
Collection of Spanish vocabulary flashcards.
DuoLingo (App)
Online or App Store/Google Play free language learning application.

Spanish Dictionaries

The Oxford Spanish Dictionary

Translation in Spanish-English and English-Spanish ; and this volume has 300,000 words and phrases; 500,000 translations.

Spanish English Bilingual Visual Dictionary

Newly revised and updated, introduces a range of useful current vocabulary in thematic order, using full-color photographs and artworks to display and label all the elements of everyday life -- from the home and office to sport, music, nature, and the countries of the world -- with panel features on key nouns, verbs, and useful phrases. The illustrations in the Spanish-English Bilingual Visual Dictionary provide a quick and intuitive route to learning a language, defining the words visually so it is easier to remember them and creating a colorful and stimulating learning resource for the global-language and EFL/ESL student.

Internet Resources

Hispanic Reading Room Online Collections (Library of Congress)
Interpretive exhibits featuring the Library of Congress' extensive and remarkable collections. Includes many books, documents, maps, and more on the various themes covered--all relating to the history of culture of the Hispanic world.
Galician (Galagos)
Galician is spoken primarily in the Spanish province of Galicia. This website includes a general overview, dialect map, descriptive grammar, and a selection of medieval texts in Galician.
Spanish American Political Texts (University of Minnesota)
A selection of Spanish American political text held by the James Ford Bell Library.
Spanish Civil War Memory Project
As is widely known, General Francisco Franco, together with other generals, and with the military support of Nazi Germany and Fascist Italy, headed a coup d’état in 1936 that interrupted the democratically elected government of the Second Republic (1931-1936). Since the coup d’état faced stiff opposition from many loyalists to the Republic, it gave rise to a civil war that lasted from 1936 to 1939. After the victory of the rebellious generals, Franco took power thus inaugurating the longest dictatorship in the history of Europe (1939-1975). The Spanish Civil War Memory Project seek to join forces with several organizations in order to create an audiovisual record with the testimonies of those who suffered and resisted the systematic violence implemented by the Francoist regime. Interview videos may be browsed alphabetically by speaker.
TES -- Spanish Teaching Resources
Resources for Spanish teachers. Preschool through higher education.
HLAS: Handbook of Latin American Studies
Contains records describing books, book chapters, articles, and conference papers published in the field of Latin American studies. Coverage includes relevant books as well as over 800 social science and 550 humanities journals and volumes of conference proceedings. Most records include abstracts with evaluations

Language Learning