Research Guides: Language Learning: Greek and Latin

Classical Language Resources

Print

In-library print resources to help you learn and practice classical languages like Latin and Ancient Greek.

A Greek-English Lexicon
Call Number: Ref. PA445.E5 L6 1996

A Greek–English Lexicon is a standard lexicographical work of the Ancient Greek language.
Latin Grammar
Call Number: PA2087.P27513 2006

In Latin Grammar, Dirk Panhuis has created an innovative reference that makes use of many of the advances that have taken place in linguistics during the last half century. Using a syntactic—instead of the traditional morphological—approach to syntax, Panhuis explains linguistic concepts clearly, thoroughly describing the structure of the sentence and its parts.
Wheelock's Latin
Call Number: PA2087.5 W44

The sixth edition of Wheelock's Latin has all the features that have made it the bestselling single-volume beginning Latin textbook, many of them revised and expanded.

Online

Online resources to help you learn and practice classical languages, like Latin and Ancient Greek.

Textkit: Greek & Latin Learning Tools
Textkit began in late 2001 as a project to develop free of charge downloads of Greek and Latin grammars, readers and answer keys. We offer a large library of over 180 of the very best Greek and Latin textkbooks on our Ancient Greek and Latin Learning pages. Since that time we have distributed millions of PDF textbook free of charge world-wide. Our grammars, readers and keys are public domain textkbooks which Textkit has converted. Many of the very best public domain Greek and Latin grammars, such as D’Oogle’s Latin For Beginners, Smyth’s Greek Grammar and John Wiliams White’s First Greek Book were first posted to the Interent here at Textkit.
Ancient Greek Tutorials
By Donald J. Mastronarde with the assistance of the Berkeley Language Center of the University of California, Berkeley.
An Intermediate Greek-English Lexicon
Part of the Tufts University Perseus Digital Library.

Greek and Latin Dictionaries

Online

English-Greek Dictionary: A Vocabulary of the Attic Language
Online, searchable English-Greek dictionary.
Greek-English Lexicon
Search all text in the Perseus Digital Library using a specific language. This search will also return links to entries in language dictionaries (Lewis & Short, LSJ, Buckwalter, etc.).

Print

Oxford Latin Dictionary
Call Number: Ref PA 2365 .E5 O9 1982

The Oxford Latin Dictionary is the standard English lexicon of Classical Latin, compiled from sources written before AD 200.
Eureka! A Dictionary of Latin and Greek Elements in English Words
Call Number: Ref. PE1582.L3 B97 1987

A dictionary of Latin and Greek elements in English words.

Internet Resources

The Chicago Homer
The Chicago Homer is a multilingual database that uses the search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make the distinctive features of Early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek.
Nestor
Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. It is published monthly from September to May (each volume covers one calendar year) by the Department of Classics, University of Cincinnati. It is currently edited by Carol R. Hershenson.
Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum
The Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum (CSL) is a collaborative project among scholars from a variety of disciplines with the main purpose of creating a digital library of Latin literature, spanning from the earliest epigraphic remains to the Neo-Latinists of the eighteenth century.
Searchable Greek Inscription
Searchable database of Greek inscriptions found on artifacts, etc.
Epigraphic Database Heidleberg
The Epigraphic Database Heidelberg contains the texts of Latin and bilingual (i.e. Latin-Greek) inscriptions of the Roman Empire. The epigraphic monuments are collected and kept up to date on the basis of modern research. With the help of search functions specific queries can be carried out - e.g. a search for words in inscriptions and / or particular descriptive data. The search results are often displayed together with photos and drawings.
Perseus Project
Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Society for the Oral Reading of Greek and Latin
Sound recordings of classics of Greek and Latin literature read by scholars and experts.

Maps of the Ancient World

40 Maps that Explain the Roman Empire
Travel, war, volcanoes, it's all here. Site is a project of Vox Media, and web publishing company.
Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations
The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds. Site also includes helpful LINKS to other digital mapping projects of this region and the chronological period.
Maps of the Ancient World
A selection of digital & downloadable maps of the ancient world from the Oxford Classical Dictionary Online.
Polis (Inventory of Archaic & Classical Greek City-States)
This site allows scholars and students of classical Greek (and to some extent Roman) history to visualize data about Places (especially archaic and classical Greek city-states) and People (those famous enough to be included in a standard Classical dictionary) from two large data-sets, and to generate maps and simple statistical information from them. Based on Mogens Herman Hansen' & Thomas Heine Nielsen's Inventory of Archaic and Classical Poleis (New York: Oxford, 2004; 1396 p.).