German Language Resources
In-library print resources to help you learn and practice German.
German for Reading KnowledgeCall Number: PF3112.J3 1998
The German Language TodayCall Number: Ref. PF3087.R87 1994Standard German is spoken by approximately 95 million people worldwide. This book provides an introduction to the linguistic structure of standard German that is rich in descriptive detail and grounded in modern linguistic theory. It describes the main linguistic features: the sounds, structure and formation of words, structure of sentences, and meaning of words and sentences.
Reading GermanCall Number: PF3117.C66 1997This comprehensive study aid to reading real German texts provides essentials for both students and specialists who have to develop a reading knowledge of German in order to study their core subject. The book includes further exercises, translation of authentic German texts, and an extensive reference section.
Online
Online resources to help you learn and practice German.
- Online German Lessons and Resources (University of Michigan)Compiled list of German language learning resources compiled by the University of Michigan.
- German Flashcards (StudyStack)Collection of German vocabulary flashcards.
- DuoLingoOnline or App Store/Google Play free language learning application.
Dictionaries
Collins Beginner's German DictionaryCall Number: PF3640.C515 2008Easy to read, easy to use, easy to understand. Ideal for school use and anyone starting to learn German. Clear, innovative color layout allows for maximum ease of use. Unique games section that helps readers have fun while learning.Special entries on German life and culture. Table of common German verbs.
Oxford-Duden German Dictionary by Call Number: PF3117.C66 1997This is a major new edition of the acclaimed Oxford-Duden German Dictionary, the result of a unique collaboration between two of the world's foremost dictionary publishers - Oxford University Press and the Dudenverlag. It has been completely updated to include the very latest vocabulary, with
over 3,000 new words in each language, including blogger, destination wedding, and oxygen bar.
Mennonite Low German Dictionary - Mennonitisch-Plattdeutsches WorterbuchCall Number: PF5625.T45 2003The Mennonite Low German Dictionary is the most extensive reference work to date on the vital language of thousands of Mennonites in places as far flung as Russia, Canada, and Latin America. It provides a concise history and grammar of the language and more than twenty-five thousand entries—from Äajdatjs (lizard) to Resse’rieta (prankster) to Zyreen (siren)—taken from everyday speech, popular sayings, and literature. This reference work offers a fascinating view of the history and present state of Mennonite Low German, which, unlike most minority and immigrant languages, continues to thrive and grow.
Internet Resources
Online texts, sites, and sources about German language, culture, and history.
- Aus der Oberpfalz: Sitten und SagenIn German. Collection of German folktales from the Upper Palatinate ("Oberpfalz") region in the north-east corner of Bavaria. These tales are similar to the Grimm Bros. collection, though considered by literary scholars to be less polished and professionally composed, and more authentic to the actual collected material.
- German Emblem BooksCooperative online digital archive of German Emblem books from the Renaissance era. Currently over 600 titles included. Emblems are symbolic pictures with accompanying text and mottoes first developed in the 16th century. Scholars focusing on the decorative arts, iconography, symbolism, and social and cultural history have long been interested in these works and their historical influence and impact.
- Information Philosophie: Die Zeitschrift, die Über Philosophie InformiertAll things philosophical. "Text" tab includes complete articles from many (not most current) past issues. Also among the extensive online content provided at this site is an rich list of links to other philosophy sites and organizations.
- TES -- German Teaching ResourcesEducational and instructional tools for secondary+ aged student audiences. Gathered and evaluated by the United Kingdom news & media company, Times of London, specifically their Times Educational Supplement (TES). Viewing some resources requires free sign-up.
Films in German
There are a number of German language films in the library's collection.The DVD's are on the basement floor of the library and can be checked out with your student ID just like books! (Make sure to check out the popular releases when you're there, too!).
Disclaimer: Make sure to check the Region number of the DVD you are going to check out. When viewing DVDs manufactured outside the U.S./North America ...DVD's produced in other countries are manufactured using a different format than those made in the U.S. Most computers and modern DVD players can easily accommodate these formats. Manufacturers also include region codes which prevent DVDs manufactured in one region from being played on computer equipment from another region. The Chester Fritz Library has dedicated computer equipment which can play those non-US DVDs which have region codes other than 1 (North America) or 0 (no region code--may be played on any equipment). The settings on your personal computer will be permanently adjusted if you attempt to play DVDs with region codes other than 0 or 1. Once these codes are reset on your computer (typically automatic after about 5 viewings), you will not be able to adjust it back, nor will you be able to view DVDs made in the U.S., which will likely be your more typical viewing preference. Please use library equipment only for viewing international DVDs.
The Cabinet of Dr. CaligariCall Number: PN1995.75.C335 2002 DVDIn the film, a somnambulist commits murders under a hypnotist's influence. Also featured is a lengthy excerpt of Genuine. Both films are examples of the German Expressionist movement.
MetropolisCall Number: PN1997.M48 2002 DVDThe story of a 21st century city run by a "super trustee" and his collaborators who live in a paradise-like garden. Workers are totally enslaved by machines and condemned to live underground. In the midst of this misery, a young woman, Maria, arises and attempts to inspire the workers to throw off their oppressors.
NosferatuCall Number: PN1995.75.N6 2000 DVDThe first film version of Bram Stoker's Dracula. Count Orlock (Nosferatu, the vampire), leaves his castle in the Carpathians and travels by ship to Bremen, bringing coffins filled with dirt and plague rats.
WaveCall Number: PN1997.2.W38 2011 DVDDuring project week, a popular and unorthodox high school teacher, in an attempt to stir up his lethargic students, devises an experiment that will explain what totalitarianism is and how it works. What begins with harmless notions about discipline and community builds into a real movement: the Wave. The teacher decides to break off the experiment. But it may be too late; the Wave has taken on a life of its own and is out of control.
