Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eBooks

eBooks from the Chester Fritz Library

Using EBSCO eBooks

Navigating an EBSCO eBook Online

One you have navigated to a specific ebook title, the landing page will include a "PDF Full Text" option on the left, information on ebook access permissions (including the number of copies available) and a table of contents in the middle, and tools on the right.
To view the full text of the ebook, either click on the "PDF Full Text" option on the left or use the table of contents to navigate to a specific section. Once you are in the full text of the ebook, you will notice the table of contents on the left allows you to navigate to specific sections as well as to download specific sections. On the left, you can also select "Search within" to search within the ebook.
The top navigation is generally the same as the tools listed on the ebook landing page and includes options for citing the ebook as well as linking to the ebook.

Downloading EBSCO eBooks

Books in the eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) can be downloaded to devices (or read online in full text mode)
  1. Sign up as an EBSCOhost UND user
  2. Install Adobe Digital Editions (most devices) or the Overdrive app (Kindle Fire).  See Installing Apps for Downloading eBooks for more information.
  3. Download the book to your Adobe Digital Editions. Note: It will ask you to create an Adobe account, but you can skip that step unless you want to view the ebook on multiple devices.

Returning EBSCO eBooks

EBSCO eBooks will be returned automatically when the checkout period has completed. If you want to return one early, it can only be returned from Adobe Digital Editions. Within Adobe Digital Editions, from your bookshelf, right click on the title you want to return and select "Return Borrowed Item."
The EBSCO checkout period is currently set for up to 7 days. If the book is still available once your checkout period has ended, you can always check it out again.

Linking to Specific Chapters

Navigate to the specific chapter, section, or page you wish to link to either using the table of contents from the ebook landing page or the read full text online option. From the top navigation, click on "Permalink." The Permalink will return you and other UND users to that specific ebook page.

Saving, Emailing, or Printing eBook Pages

Each publisher has different permissions for how many pages you can download per viewing without checking the book out. This limit is the same for the saving, printing, and emailing pages from the book. The limit is listed on the landing page for the book in the middle column as well as above the table of contents for the online full text of the book. Once you are in the full text of the book, you can use the download icon in the table of contents to download a specific section or use the tools along the top to email, print, or save a range of pages.

Troubleshooting

If you have issues viewing the full text, it could be because there are limited copies available and someone else is using the title. You could try accessing the ebook again at a later time. If you continue to have issues, use the library chat to get additional assistance.

Accessibility

EBSCO provides a variety of accessibility options, including quick keyboard navigation options, compatibility with screen readers, and zoom options. They generally recommend using the EPUB format over the PDF format for full accessibility. For details, see EBSCO eBook Accessibility User Guide and FAQs.

Using ProQuest eBooks

Navigating a ProQuest eBook Online

The landing page for ProQuest ebooks includes the options "Read Online," "Download Book," "Download PDF Chapter" and a table of contents that allows you to immediately download a particular chapter or jump to reading that chapter online. It also has options on the left "Share Link to Book" and "Cite Book." Note: The share link option does not include the UND login prompt, so add https://ezproxy.library.und.edu/login?url= before the URL given if you want to share the link so that people can get the UND access to the title.
Once you are in the "Read Online" mode, on the left you will notice an option for searching within the book as well as the collapsed table of contents. You can use either to navigate the book. If you searched ProQuest Ebook Central to find the book, the search results may be listed on the left instead. Simply select the table of contents icon to view it.
Along the top, there are a number of tools and the current page number, which you can also use to jump to another page in the book. The tools allow you to highlight, add notes, download, print, save portions of the text, copy, print, share a link to the book, and cite the book.

Downloading ProQuest eBooks

Depending on publisher permissions, some ProQuest ebooks allow you to download the entire ebook as a regular PDF file or as an epub to an ebook reader just by selecting "Download Book" from the landing page for the ebook. Others require you to download Adobe Digital Editions to download the entire ebook.
  1. Select "Download Book" from the landing page for the ebook.
  2. A message will pop-up with your download options. Select your preferences. You may need to download Adobe Digital Editions for your computer or the Adobe Digital Editions app for your ebook reader or another app that supports Adobe DRM (digital rights management).

Returning ProQuest eBooks

ProQuest ebooks will be returned automatically when the checkout period has completed. The checkout period is generally 1 day for books with 1 copy and up to 21 days for books with nonlinear lending or multiple copies. If the book is still available once your checkout period has ended, you can always check it out again.

Linking to Specific Chapters

Navigate to the particular chapter or page you wish to share. Select the "Share Link" icon along the top tool bar. Add https://ezproxy.library.und.edu/login?url= before the URL given. Now you or someone else at UND can use the link to navigate back to that chapter or page. The ezproxy URL prompts people off-campus to login so they can access UND purchased materials.

Saving or Printing eBook Pages

Each publisher has different permissions for how many pages you can download without checking the book out. This limit is the same for the saving, printing, and emailing pages from the book. The limit is listed on the landing page for the book in the middle column. The landing page for the book gives you the option of downloading specific chapters. Once you are in the full text of the book, you can use the tools along the top to download, copy, or print. The print option allows you to select a page, chapter, or range of pages.

Troubleshooting

If you have issues viewing the full text, it could be because there are limited copies available and someone else is using the title. You could try accessing the ebook again at a later time. If you continue to have issues, use the library chat to get additional assistance.
If you have a link to a book and were not able to access it, try adding https://ezproxy.library.und.edu/login?url= before the URL. This will prompt you to login for UND access (firstname.lastname and the password you use for Blackboard, etc.). 

Accessibility

ProQuest provides a variety of accessibility options, including keyboard navigation, compatibility with screen readers, and zoom options. They generally recommend using the EPUB format over the PDF format for full accessibility. For details, see their Accessibility Guide.

Using Other eBook Platforms

While EBSCO and ProQuest are the most common types of ebooks available, we also have ebooks as part of a variety of packages and from other publishers. Note: this list is not exhaustive.

ACLS Humanities eBooks

These allow you to download specific chapters from the title landing page as well as reading them online. They also have a drop-down table of contents and search on the left in the read online pane and allow you to share links to them and cite them with the tools options, but do not provide an easy way to download the entire book. If you share the link to the book, add https://ezproxy.library.und.edu/login?url= before the URL.

JSTOR eBooks

We own many ebook titles from an evidence-based acquisition program through JSTOR. You can download specific chapters or read them online.

Directory of Open Access Books

Since books offered through this platform are open access, there are no restrictions on downloading or sharing them. Specific titles may have different rights reserved, such as the ability to create derivative works.

Wiley eBooks

Wiley eBooks are not protected by digital rights management (DRM) and thus can be downloaded in their entirety as a PDF and read offline.

Taylor & Francis eBooks

Taylor & Francis ebooks are similarly DRM-free with unlimited user access and can likewise be downloaded in their entirety as a PDF. Note: This applies to books the library purchased through the Taylor & Francis ebook platform, not all books published by Taylor & Francis.

Access Engineering

Access Engineering includes nearly 700 ebooks related to engineering, technology, aerospace, business, and math. You can read the ebooks online, link to and download specific chapters. The platform does not limit downloads.

Momentum Press Digital Library

We own a number of engineering ebooks from Momentum Press. These can also be downloaded in their entirety as a PDF, read online, or read via an ebook reader platform.