Skip to Main Content

Language Learning

Chester Fritz Library

Global Language Newspapers

Newspapers

For journal article databases, visit the Global Language Literatures Guide page on Finding Articles

Global Language Newspapers and Newspaper Databases

Today's Front Pages
Front pages from 925 newspapers from 94 countries. Courtesy of the Newseum in Washington DC.

Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
Over 5,000 full text e-books, journals, magazines, newspapers, and other materials related to diversity, discrimination, anti-racism, ethnic studies, disability studies, gerontology and age studies, migration studies, gender and sexuality studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.

French

La Monde. Selection hebdomadaire.
French newspaper.
Also in print at CFL Floor 1 Journals (AP20 .M65x)
L' Express
Offers a forum for political and social debates.
In print ONLY at CFL Floor 1 Journals (AP20 .E926)

German

Der Spiegel
Germany weekly magazine available online. Library also has print issues at Floor 1 Journals (AP30 .S66 )

Spanish

El Pais
National Spanish newspaper online
Kisco
Search portal for online Spanish language media titles (magazines, journals, radio, tv, other media, etc.).
Prensaescrita
Spanish language newspapers worldwide.

Global Newsreels

Use Academic Videos Online (AVON) to find global newsreels (you can also get to AVON though the library homepage's 'Quick Links').

On the AVON homepage, click on the 3 bars in the top left corner, then click on 'Collections'
There are various collections of global newsreels to browse through
To filter through a collection, click on the orange button in the middle of the collection's page (it has an image of a filter funnel on it).
You can filter the collection by subject, publisher, person, content type, language, and release date

Available Newsreel Collections: