To create a new folder (called collections in Zotero), click on the Folder icon to create and name your new collection. To organize existing articles in your library, drop & drag articles into folders.
You may download an item several times in the course of your searching. Zotero will detect duplicate items and list them in the "Duplicate Items" section below your collections.
You should review these periodically and merge any entries that are duplicates.
Generating a Bibliography
1. In the Zotero desktop application, right-click and select Generate Bibliography from Items.
2. In the web version of Zotero, there is an icon that looks like books on a bookshelf. Highlight the items you want to include and then click that icon to create a reference list.
Select the citation style from the box that appears, select bibliography from output mode, and copy to clipboard for output method. Then, paste into your Word document.
Word Processor Plugins
Of the different ways to automatically generate bibliographies (as well as in-text citations and footnotes), the easy-to-use word processor plugins are the most powerful.
These plugins are available for:
Google Docs
Microsoft Word (Desktop version only)
LibreOffice
They create dynamic bibliographies: insert a new in-text citation in your manuscript, and the bibliography will be automatically updated to include the cited item.
Correct the title of an item in your Zotero library and with a click of a button the change will be incorporated in your documents. To get started with these Zotero plugins, click the link below.
To install the plugins, open up Zotero and go to your preferences menu (on a Mac, open Zotero and click preferences, on a PC, open Zotero, click edit, and then select preferences). Click Cite, and then select the tab for Word Processors. Click install Word Add-In (or the word processor you prefer).