Research Guides: Open Educational Resources (OER): OER Showcase

Resources by Discipline

If you are unaware of what open education resources are available in your field of study, we have provided a few examples of what such OER look like. These are by no means an exhaustive list of OER in a discipline-- or even of quality OER in a discipline. Consider this a jump start for exploring the OER available within a field of study.

Aeronautics & Aviation

FAA Regulations & Policies (Federal Aviation Administration)
The FAA has created a library of its own documents, including safety guidance, advisory circular, and environmental policy. [Public domain]
Aerospace Engineering Commons (Bepress)
Repository of open access articles from around the world in the field of aerospace engineering. Users may search by subdisciplines like "Space Vehicles" and "Propulsion and Power". The specific open access license of each articles varies.

Biology

Biology (OpenStax)
Open textbook intended for a two-semester biology course for STEM majors, supplemented by homework questions [CC BY 4.0 license]
Biology Anatomy Illustrations (Iowa State University)
Students in the class BIOL351: Comparative Chordate Anatomy created this set of anatomical illustrations in cooperation with their lab instructor, and their work was incorporated into the class' lab manual. [CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 license]
Microbiology: A Laboratory Experience (SUNY Adirondack/Open Textbook Library)
A laboratory manual to accompany a microbiology course, ideally a class that meets once or twice a week and has a 3-4 hour lab period. The lab manual is in accord with the American Society for Microbiology curriculum guidelines and teaches students bio lab safety and proper scientific techniques. [CC BY-NC-SA license]

Business

Principles of Accounting, Volume 1 (OpenStax)
The first volume in a two-volume open textbook set for a two semester accounting course. This volume discusses financial accounting while the second-- also available through OpenStax-- covers managerial accounting. The textbook is intended to be accessible to both students majoring and accounting and those who aren't and strives to use examples relatable to a contemporary undergraduate. [CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license]
Sloan School of Management Open Courseware (MIT)
Open courseware from the Sloan School of Management, courtesy of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Courseware packs include syllabi, recommended readings, lecture notes, and assignments. Note that not all listed course materials are open. [CC BY-NC-SA license]
Strategic Management (Virginia Tech/Open Textbook Library)
Introductory management open textbook that draws on familiar personalities and firms to teach students about the importance of strategic organization for business success. Includes supplemental class slides and a test bank.

Chemistry

Introductory Chemistry (BCcampus)
Open chemistry textbook with a particular emphasis on how the principles of chemistry apply to quotidian life (e.g., cooking, hygiene products). Includes supplemental PowerPoint slides. [CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license]
Open Chemistry (UC Irvine)
A curriculum's worth of recorded lectures covering four years of undergraduate chemistry instruction, plus a preparatory course and some graduate-level content. Note that not all features courses use readings that are OER. [CC BY-SA license]
Organic Chemistry Laboratory Techniques (Butte Community College/Open Textbook Library)
Provides guidance to undergraduates for standard techniques employed in an organic chemistry laboratory, accompanied by step-by-step illustrations.

Communications & Media

Introduction to Narrative Journalism (University of Michigan-Dearborn)
Created as a textbook for an upper-level journalism course, the OER is intended to function as both a guide and a writer's handbook. Chapters are organized by different elements of writing and contain student examples and multimedia (e.g., video and audio files). [CC BY-NC license]
Stand Up, Speak Out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking (University of Minnesota)
OER for teaching and refining public speaking skills, with conscious inclusion of content regarding the ethics of communication. Chapters cover the process of developing and preparing for a speech and special considerations required for different types of speeches. [CC BY-NC-SA license]

Computer Science

Computer Programming (Khan Academy)
Multi-unit introduction to computer programming, covering the languages HTML, CSS, SQL, and JavaScript. Tutorial videos are hosted both on the Khan Academy site and on YouTube. [CC BY 4.0 license]
An Introduction to Computer Networks (Loyola University of Chicago/Open Textbook Library)
Textbook on computer networking intended for undergraduate or beginning graduate students with coverage of LAN, internetworking, congestion, and more. Diagrams and exercises are included. [CC BY-NC-ND license]
The Odin Project
Open source introduction to website development. Multiple programming languages are taught in courses, but the two recommended curricular "paths" are centered around Ruby on Rails and JavaScript. Additional features are available by creating a free account. Learners can receive support from the project's Discord channel.
Think Data Structures: Algorithms and Information Retrieval in Java (Olin College/OER Commons)
OER that aims to offer a concise and practical guide to data structures and algorithms, particularly as they apply to web search. Source and supporting code for this OER can be found on GitHub. Author Allen B. Downey has published many other OER in computer science, covering topics like Python, data science, physical modeling, and introductory programming, all released through Green Tea Press. [CC BY-NC-SA license]

Earth Sciences

Open Geography Education
This website functions as a directory to other OER textbooks and related online materials in the field of geography. This includes links to federal and UN geography databases, GIS resources, and information on professional organizations. [CC BY license; linked resource may have different licenses]
Physical Geology (Vancouver Island University)
OER textbook offering an introduction to the physical science of geology. Topics covered include plate tectonics, rocks and minerals, and climate change. Note: some content is tailored for British Colombian readers. [CC BY license]

Economics

Principles of Microeconomics (OpenStax)
An OER taking an introductory, conversational approach to the basic concepts within microeconomics. This latest third edition has been updated to account for contemporary events and to reflect the contributions of diverse individuals to economic thought. OpenStax also carries an OER for macroeconomics. [CC BY license]
Money and Banking (New York University/Open Textbook Library)
Written to reflect changes to institutions after the 2008 financial crisis, this OER tries to explain banking concepts with accessible language and little demanding mathematics. [CC BY-NC-SA license]

Education

Exploring Physical Phenomena (Oregon State University/Open Textbook Library)
OER for prospective science educators, particularly elementary and middle school teachers, but also applicable to museum programmers and other youth supervisors. The textbook has five units, all related to the various natural phenomenon related to the sun shining on the Earth. Handouts for activities are included. [CC BY-SA license]
Principles and Practices of Teaching Young Children (College of the Canyons)
Collection of learning modules for a course in early childhood education. Includes a syllabus, assignments, and quizzes used by the course designer. [CC BY license]
Teaching in a Digital Age: Third Edition (University of British Columbia)
Open textbook intended for secondary and tertiary educators concerned about teaching students the digital skills they need to thrive in the emerging workplace. The text addresses both the theoretical implications of the digital revolution for pedagogy and the practical work of understanding and evaluating specific technologies and new media. [CC BY-NC license]

Engineering

CORE-Materials
Gallery of openly licensed images pertaining to materials science and engineering, including scientific photographs, mechanical figures, and more. There is also an affiliated YouTube channel with short videos of a similar theme. [License varies by image]
Mechanics Map (Penn State)
Web textbook for engineering mechanics focused on statics and dynamics. The book was composed from the theory that thorough high-level overviews of a topic support later learning in that domain. Thus, each chapter begins with a concept map video presentation. Accompanying lecture slides and homework problems are included as supplements. [CC BY-SA license]
Stanford Engineering Everywhere (Stanford Engineering)
Collection of course materials and syllabi for popular engineering classes, particularly in computer science, artificial intelligence, and linear systems and optimization. Course materials include syllabi, recorded lectures, homework, exams, and class handouts. Note: some course readings are not included in the package. [CC BY-NC-SA license]

English

Writing in College: From Competence to Excellence (Open SUNY)
Text developed at the State University of New York to help introduce incoming students to the expectations professors hold for writing assignments. The author's text is accompanied by "Student Voices": passages of commentary from actual students. [CC BY-NC-SA license]
Compact Anthology of World Literature II (University of North Georgia)
A collection of literature from around the world, with entries written in the early modern period onwards. The OER includes examples from a plethora of cultures, with featured authors including Cáo Xueqín, Walt Whitman, and Yasmine Reza. Note that some texts in the OER are accessed through hyperlinks to other websites, rather than being contained within the OER itself. Instructor resources are available on request. [CC BY-SA license]

Fine Arts

Moving Pictures: An Introduction to Cinema (University of Arkansas)
An open-source textbook originally for a communications course that teaches how movies convey meaning to viewers. The text is primarily oriented towards classical Hollywood filmmaking techniques, with some coverage of international filmmakers and . [CC BY-NC-SA license]
Guide to Byzantine Art (Smarthistory)
Overview of Byzantine art from 330 to 1453. A "beginner's guide" establishes the text's periodization scheme and the fundamentals of sacred Christian art. Subsequent sections describe characteristics of different eras of art, often through chapters analyzing particular works. Smarthistory also has a 5-volume OER based around teaching AP Art History, plus shorter guides dedicated to pre-modern art in select (typically Mediterranean) cultures. [CC BY-NC-SA license]
Unlocking the Digital Age: The Musician's Guide to Research, Copyright, and Publishing (Johns Hopkins University)
Designed for use by emerging musicians, this text instructs readers on how to digitally share their research and artistic work. Contents include research strategies, an overview of copyright, and advice for publishing professional work. The Peabody Conservatory at Johns Hopkins University has also developed a separate OER for funding and career development. [CC BY 4.0 license]

Global Languages

Deutsch im Blick (University of Texas)
10 chapter, Web-based OER for introductory German language instruction. The site is supplemented by Grimm Grammar, an introduction to German grammar. [CC BY license]
Между нами: An Interactive Introduction to Russian
Web-based introduction to Russian created by a team of instructors from different universities. The OER is structured around the experiences of four fictitious Americans studying abroad in Russia and their interactions with their hosts. [CC BY-NC-ND license]
Acceso (University of Kansas)
Web-based project intended to support an intermediate-level Spanish curriculum, but its modules can be used as supplements, too. Units center on different regions of the Americas where Spanish is spoken and their distinct histories, cultures, and dialects. [CC BY-NC license]
Histoires d'Avenirs (Portland State University)
Open textbook for intermediate-to-advanced French language learners that is structured around nine French science-fiction stories. Also boasts appeal for native French speakers interested in modern science fiction. [CC BY-NC license]

History

The American Yawp (Stanford University)
Online open U.S. history textbook derived from a collaboration of 300 historians. As the title suggests, the book emphasizes the dynamism and diversity within American history. The full text is available online, but print and PDF copies are published in two volumes: U.S. history before 1877 and U.S. history after 1877. [CC BY-SA license]
Plan Cóndor
Project by the University of Oxford and several South American memorial and human rights organizations to centralize records regarding Operation Condor and educate about the practice of political repression in South America and the subsequent campaign for justice. Many resources focus on the Southern Cone and include databases of relevant court cases and victim information. Also available in Spanish. [CC BY-SA 4.0 license]
World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 (University System of Georgia)
Authored by a team of history faculty affiliated with the University System of Georgia, this text aims to cover a wide breadth of subjects: classical India to medieval Africa to the Roman Empire to Central Asian Khanates. Chapters make extensive use of maps and historical images available through Wikimedia Commons and include links to primary resources. [CC BY-SA]

Mathematics

Calculus Lab Manual (Portland Community College)
A lab manual for Calculus I students that walks students through solutions to example problems. PDF versions of the manual, plus lab manuals for Calculus II students, can be found on the PCC website here. [CC BY-SA 4.0 license]
Mathispower4u
Thousands of brief math tutorial videos created by Phoenix College math professor James Sousa. Topics span from pre-algebra to calculus III, even offering tutorials for elementary school math classes and mastering a graphing calculator. Video's link out to Sousa's YouTube channel. [CC BY-SA 3.0 license]
Open Textbook Initiative (American Institute of Mathematics)
The American Institute of Mathematics supports open access math textbooks, and has crafted this handy guide to identify worthwhile OER in the field. Also included in the guide is AIM's evaluation criteria and a FAQ page for mathematicians considering authoring an OER.

Physics

University Physics, Volume 1 (Open Stax)
The first in a three-volume set of OER intended for a calculus-based undergraduate physics course. This first volume covers mechanics and sound, the second covers thermodynamics, magnetism, and electricity, and the third volume handles modern physics and optics. OpenStax also has a single-volume College Physics textbook for algebra-based physics courses with a more interdisciplinary orientation. [CC BY 4.0 license]
PhET Interactive Simulations (University of Colorado Boulder)
Originally named Physics Education Technology, this program develops free simulations of physical, mathematical, and other scientific concepts. Various teaching guides have been submitted as supplements to particular simulations. [CC BY 4.0 license]
OpenCourseWare - Physics (MIT)
Gallery of courseware packs for physics, covering undergraduate and graduate-level study of quantum physics, astrophysics, classical mechanics, and more. Courseware packs include syllabi, recommended readings, lecture notes, and assignments. Note that not all listed course materials are open. [CC BY-NC-SA license]

Psychology

Introduction to Psychology: The Full Noba Collection (Noba Project)
Collection of 101 open learning modules created by Noba, a psychology education project supported by the Diener Education Fund. These modules can be combined to create a custom psychology OER, and a couple of sample OER exist elsewhere on the site. Note: although the content on the site is free, online navigation is easier if you register for a free account with Noba. [CC BY-NC-SA license]
New Thinking: Advances in the Study of Human Cognitive Evolution (University of Oxford)
11 episode podcast series comprised of lectures from an interdisciplinary conference on the evolution of human cognition. Topics include language, metacognition, and cultural learning. [CC BY-NC-SA license]
Research Methods in Psychology (Kwantlen Polytechnic University)
Textbook of research practices, professional practices, and ethics in the field of psychology developed in collaboration with faculty from Kwantlen Polytechnic University, Washington State University, and Texas A&M University—Texarkana. [CC BY-NC-SA license]

Social Sciences

Introduction to Sociology: 3rd Edition (OpenStax)
Textbook offering an overview of sociological theories and concepts and how they manifest in various human interactions. Particular emphasis is given to the damaging effects of discrimination, from the individual level to society at large. [CC BY 4.0 license]
Intercultural Learning: Critical Preparation for International Student Travel (James Cook University)
A series of learning modules intended to prepare Australian students for interacting with foreign cultures whilst traveling abroad. Focused on understanding culture, considering legacies of imperialism, and practicing introspection, the OER can be of use to students learning about intercultural interactions. The modules include links to short instructional videos on Vimeo, as well as links to relevant scholarly literature. [CC BY-SA license]
Introduction to the American Criminal Justice System (Southern Oregon University)
OER textbook intended for an introduction to criminology course. Please be aware that the text was tailored to specific course expectations set by Southern Oregon University, but the content of the book is not specific to the state. [CC BY-SA license]
Introduction to Political Science Research Methods (Academic Senate for California Community Colleges)
An OER textbook that provides a survey of standard research methods employed by political scientists. This includes both a study of the particulars of research design as well as more general points about the scientific method and research ethics. A companion workbook has been published by the same group with guidance on the use of Stata software. [CC BY-NC license]