Research Guides: Government Documents: Humanities

Humanities

The Library of Congress provides a rich collection of resources, both online and in print. Print items are located on the 1st floor of the library in the government documents section under SuDoc classification LC. Here are a few highlights:

Library of Congress

Children’s Literature: A Guide to Reference Sources, LC 2.8:C 43
Catalog of Copyright Entries, LC 3.6
Library of Congress, Digitized Materials from the Rare Book & Special Collections Division
Library of Congress Manuscripts, LC 4.8:M 31
Library of Congress: Rare Books & Special Collections, LC 23.8:B 64
Manuscripts in Public & Private Collections in the United States, LC 4.2:P 96
Poetry 180: A Poem a Day for American High Schools

Government documents provide a wealth of primary and secondary historical material. They offer insights into the government, the population, and the culture. Here are a few highlights:

Smithsonian Museum

FDLP Core Documents of Our Democracy
100 Milestone Documents of American History
Library of Congress, American History Collection
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Congressional Record, 1789-present
- 1789-1873
- 1789-present, 2nd floor journals (J11.A5, J11.G5, J11.R5)
- 1994-present
Library of Congress, American Memory Collection
Many more

Government agencies publish materials in a wide variety of languages and on learning other languages:

Japanese Calligraphy

Library of Congress

Foreign Language-Learning Materials: SI 1.114/2. – SI 114/3:J 27
- Adapting and writing language lessons
- Basic Courses for languages such as Cambodian, Cantonese, Dari, French, and many more
- Modern Writing in Arabic and other languages
Braille-Related Materials, LC 17.9:C 44+
Publications in other Languages: Search keyword “government documents” or “federal documents” and pick a language

The National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities has a long tradition of supporting performing arts. Additionally, the Library of Congress offers access to a vast collection related to the performing arts. For example:

Library of Congress

The Federal Theatre Project Collection, LC 4.10:61
Library of Congress Music, Theater, Dance, LC 1.6/4:M 97/2
Library of Congress, Performing Arts Encyclopedia
The Music Manuscripts, LC 12.2:L 69
Music for Silent Films, 1894-1929, LC 1.6/4:M 97
Catalog of Copyright Entries, Motion Pictures, LC 3.8:M 85

Additional materials are available in print in the government documents section on the first floor under NF (National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities) and LC (Library of Congress).

Government documents in this area address everything from religious freedom and separation of church and state to statistical and cultural examinations of religion and philosophy in America.

Library of Congress

Library of Congress
- Religion and Philosophy

For additional resources, search for "religion" (or philosophy) and "government documents." Subject headings include "Religion and Psychology," "Freedom of Religion" and "Religion and State."

The Smithsonian Institution and Library of Congress offer a wealth of material for the visual arts, including:

Library of Congress

A Century of Photographs, 1846-1946, LC 1.2:P 56/5/846-946
National Gallery of Art, SI 8.11/2 - SI 142N 21/91
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs, LC 1.6/4:P 93
The Art Crusade: An Analysis of American Drawing Manuals, 1820-1860, SI 1.28: 34
Smithsonian highlights, SI 3:10:P 82 – SI 8.2:C 44
- 18th Century English Porcelain
- Islamic Metalwork
- More than Land or Sky: Art from Appalachia

You can find more materials on the 1st floor of the library in the government documents section under LC (Library of Congress) and SI (Smithsonian Institution) and on their websites.