This is the "Home" page of the "Patents and Trademarks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Patents and Trademarks   Tags: cfl, government, patents, patents and trademarks, und, und libraries, und_libraries  

Chester Fritz Library resources for the area of Patents and Trademarks
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.und.edu/patents-and-trademarks Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Making an Appointment for a Patent or Trademark Search

Patent Search Assistance

A patent search is too complex to complete over the phone, and requires a visit to the Library. In order to ensure the attention and confidentiality you require for your research, we recommend that you schedule an appointment to come in and get assistance with your search. To schedule an appointment, contact Laura Trude:

Phone: (701) 777-4491
E-mail: laura.trude@library.und.edu

Trademark Search Assistance

Trademark search assistance is available by phone or in-person. If you choose to come in to the Library, we recommend that you schedule an appointment to ensure your confidentiality and so staff will have adequate time to assist you. To request a search or schedule an appointment, contact Laura Trude:

Phone: (701) 777-4491
E-mail: laura.trude@library.und.edu

Please note that the library's patent and trademark coordinator assists in the search process but does not interpret intellectual property law.  If you are looking for legal assistance, the library makes available a list of patent attorneys and agents.

      

    Patent and Trademark Searching at UND

    PTRC logo

     

    In 1990, the Chester Fritz Library was designated the 67th U.S. Patent and Trademark Depository Library.

    What does this mean for users?  Being a Patent and Trademark Resource Center provides access to examiner-based search systems such as PubEast and PubWest and allows the University of North Dakota and greater North Dakota community the ability to view over 5 million patents and 2 million trademarks issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office.

    The holdings of the PTRC at UND consist of full design, utility, plant and reissue patents. The PTRC also contains a complete run of the Official Gazette of the Patent and Trademark Office and various indexes and informational publications regarding patents and trademarks.

        

      Patents Self Search

      You can access USPTO's patents databases through their website.  Be advised, though, that they are not full text pre-1976 and as a result it can be difficult to search for historical patents.  You are also encouraged to come to the library or give us a call to schedule a search using our search tips and strategies as well as access to the full USPTO databases.

      • USPTO Patents Quick Search
        Searches patents 1976-present.
      • USPTO Patent Images Database
        Includes all patents 1790-present in image (TIFF) format. You will need to install a TIFF viewer to properly search this database (see link for below for help)
      • USPTO TIFF Viewer Help
        Searching the historic patents database is done through searching images in a TIFF format. This requires a special plug in for browsers to be able to see the image. The steps on this page will help direct you to what you need to know
       

      Having Trouble Figuring Patents and Trademarks Out?

      The USPTO has some helpful information covering both patents and trademarks on their website.  See for example, this infographic on the patenting process.

      If you're looking to protect your intellectual property worldwide, look at WIPO, the World Intellectual Property Organization.

      If you're looking for information in book form, the following texts contain helpful explanations of the US patent and trademark system and where to search for information on patents and trademarks

      Information Sources in Patents - Stephen R. Adams
      Call Number: Reference T210 .I53 2006


      What Is a Trademark? - American Bar Association
      Call Number: Thormodsgard Law Library KF3180.Z9 W42 2009

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip