Research Guides: Engineering: Research Starting Points

Start Here!

Several resources are useful for multiple branches of Engineering. Try these first:

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Once on the Engineering Village Site, you must choose which database(s) you'd like to search within: Compendex, Inspec, GeoRef, and/or GEOBASE.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides access to a collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty-made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize project information as they work. If you require an alternative accessibility plan, please contact Digital Initiatives, Systems, and Services.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE journals and conference proceedings in aerospace, electrical engineering, computer science, and other technologies.
SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
First timeusers must self register using their UND.edu email address. Offers access to the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, and CHEMLIST.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides indexing, full text linking, and citation tracking for books and articles from vetted, high quality sources in all disciplines (arts and humanities, social sciences, business and sciences), as well as author, journal, and book metrics. Cited Reference Search includes books, artwork, and other cited works. Analyze results identifies frequent authors, funders, universities, and journals for a search or topic. Now includes Book Citation Index.

Reference Guides

Engineering Village Quick Reference Guide
An overview of the most frequently used Engineering Village search options to help you improve efficiency, productivity and facilitate important discoveries more easily.
Getting Started and Saving Searches in IEEE Xplore
SciFinder-N Quick Reference Guide
Web of Science Quick Reference Guide