Dissertations and Theses

​Proquest Dissertations & Theses databases 

The ProQuest Dissertation & Theses Global (PQDT) indexes graduate and postgraduate research from academic institutions worldwide and includes more than 2.7 million full text dissertations and theses. If the full text is not listed as available, request it through Interlibrary Loan and they can ask the publisher to add the full text to the database or request it from another library.

Citation information is available for: 

• Dissertations from 1861 - present
• Master's theses from 1988 - present
• Full text from the 1980s to present​

This database can also be a good resource when you are looking for a copy of an inventory or other instrument for your research. Search for inventories or instruments by: 

• Keyword search for the name of the tool 
• Browse the Index Terms (Keywords) list and add them to your search

You can check the table of contents or appendices to see if the author has included a copy of the research tool.

Worldcat includes Theses and Dissertations in its results:

• Click on the Advanced Search tab
• Under Subtype Limits and Any Content, select Thesis/dissertation
• Enter your keywords in the Search for boxes at the top
• Limit to Year or Language to refine your results.
• Rank by Relevance to ensure the top results are the most relevant to your topic/search terms.
• Click on Search

Find links below for both Proquest Dissertations & Theses database and for Worldcat

Sometimes academic institutions host Institutional Repositories to allow free access to their scholarly output like the UND Scholarly Commons.

Try searching Google Scholar or the other resources on this guide to find dissertations and theses.

Using Interlibrary Loan:

• Please follow the instructions on the Interlibrary Loan page. Register for an ILL account if this is the first time using ILL.

• Please allow at least a 10 working day turnaround for your thesis or dissertation request.

To request a dissertation or theses through Interlibrary Loan: 

Enter the citation of the dissertation itself into the form, such as:

• Grygo, M. (2008). A clinical trial of Motivation-Adaptive Skills-Trauma Resolution (MASTR) therapy with conduct disordered adolescent boys.

Do not enter an index entry for Dissertation Abstracts International (found in many databases) which looks like this:

• Dissertation Abstracts International Section A: Humanities and Social Sciences, Vol 69(1-A), 2008. pp. 109