Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Managers

Software and apps to help you organize and format citations for your research papers.

EndNote How To

Create an EndNote Account

  1. From the library homepage, library.und.edu, click on "Quick Links" in the upper right and navigate to "EndNote" (or use this link: https://library.und.edu/db/endnote).
  2. Register with an email address and password.
  3. After you register, you will receive an email and will need to click on the link in your email to activate your account.

Using Groups in EndNote

  1. Select references.
  2. Click on the "Add to group" drop-down and select or create a group to add selected references to that group.
    Note: References can belong to multiple groups
  3. You can share groups under "Organize" - "Manage My Groups."
  4. The "Manage Sharing" option lets you add people who can view or/and edit particular groups of references.

From Web of Science

  1. Select articles of interest.
  2. Click on "Export" and select "EndNote Online" from the drop-down options.
  3. If you are already logged into EndNote, it will automatically export the selected articles. Otherwise, it will prompt you to login to EndNote and then it will export the selected articles.

From Engineering Village

  1. Select articles of interest.
  2. Click on the "Download this record" icon. Under "Format," select "EndNote." Click on "Download record(s)."
  3. If you have the ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper extension downloaded on your computer (installed with the Cite While You Write download), then select "Open with" and it will prompt you to login to EndNote and then automatically export the selected articles.
  4. If you do not have this extension installed, then login to your EndNote account, go to the "Collect" tab and "Import References." Browse for the file you just downloaded. For "Import Option," select "RefMan RIS." Select which group to which you want to import the references.

From Google Scholar

  1. Login to your Google account.
  2. Click on the star icon to select articles of interest.
  3. Click on "My Library."
  4. Select articles of interest.
  5. Click on the "Export" icon. Select "RefMan." (NOT EndNote as it uses a .enw file format which does not work with the extension)
  6. If you have the ResearchSoft Direct Export Helper extension downloaded on your computer (installed with the Cite While You Write download), then select "Open with" and it will prompt you to login to EndNote and then automatically export the selected articles.
  7. If you do not have this extension installed, then login to your EndNote account, go to the "Collect" tab and "Import References." Browse for the file you just downloaded. For "Import Option," select "RefMan RIS." Select which group to which you want to import the references.

From EBSCO Databases

  1. Use the folder icon to add articles of interest to a folder.
  2. Within your folder, select articles of interest.
  3. Select "Export" from the right. Select "Direct Export to EndNote Web" and click on "Save."
  4. If you are already logged into EndNote, it will automatically export the selected articles. Otherwise, it will prompt you to login to EndNote and then it will export the selected articles.

From Library Search

  1. From your results list, click on the "..." "Show actions options" on the top right of the article record.
  2. Click on "EndNote."
  3. If you are already logged into EndNote, it will automatically export the selected articles. Otherwise, it will prompt you to login to EndNote and then it will export the selected articles.

Accessing Full Text from EndNote

  1. If the references you imported include a DOI or URL, you will see a full text link under the reference in EndNote.
  2. If you do not see a full text link, you can search for the article title on the library website.
    1. If we have full text, the article will come up. You can use this information to add the DOI or URL to your EndNote reference:
      1. Click on the reference record
      2. Paste in the DOI or URL in the appropriate field. For example, 10.1016/j.marpetgeo.2019.04.005 for the DOI.
      3. Now the reference will include a link to the full text of the article.
    2. If we do not have full text, use the "Expand Beyond Library" option. This will give you a link to request the item through interlibrary loan. Once you have the PDF of the article, you can add the PDF to your EndNote reference.

Adding PDFs to references

  1. Under a particular reference in EndNote, click on the paperclip icon.
  2. Select "Attach files." Browse for the file you want to attach.
  3. Now the PDF will show up under that reference within your EndNote account when you click on the paperclip icon.

Creating a List of References from EndNote

  1. Within EndNote, select the "Format" tab and "Bibliography."
  2. Select the group of references you want to use. You can add specific items to the "Quick List" if you do not want to use a specific group.
  3. Select the bibliographic style you want to use. You can also "Select Favorites" such as ACS, MLA, APA 6th to quickly access citation styles you use frequently.
  4. Select the file format to which you wish to export; "RTF" will open a Word document with the selected references in the format you chose.

Using EndNote with Word

  1. Within Endnote, select the "Downloads" tab. Follow the installation instructions for "Cite While You Write." You may not be able to install the feature on lab computers, so IT has pre-installed this tool on computers in the library.
  2. Open a Word document. Click on the new "EndNote" tab. You will be prompted to login to EndNote.
  3. Under "Style," select the citation style you want to use for your paper. If you selected favorites, these will show up here, otherwise you will see a long list. You can add more favorites within EndNote online.
  4. When you get to a point in your paper you want to insert a in-text citation, select the "Insert Citations" option from the EndNote tab in Word. Type in a keyword and click on "Find" to find an article with that word in the article information. Select the article and click on "Insert." It will create both the in-text citation and a works cited citation in your selected format.
  5. You can easily change the citation format by using the "Style" drop-down option and selecting a different style. The references in your paper will be updated automatically.

EndNote Tutorial

EndNote Click

EndNote Click is a free browser plug-in exclusive to EndNote that allows you to save PDFs and is available on both Chrome and Firefox. 

To add EndNote Click to your browser and learn more, visit this site!

 

Ready to use EndNote Click? Follow these steps:

  1. When you are on a publisher website, now the EndNote Click plugin will check for your full text access through UND.
  2. Click on the "EN" icon on the bottom left of your browser screen when you are on a publisher article page to see whether you have full text access and to add the PDF to your EndNote Click locker.
  3. Click on "Export to EndNote" to export the citation to EndNote.