Research Guides: Chemistry: Web Resources

Web Resources

Chemfinder
Search for Chemical name synonyms, Molecular formulas, Molecular weights, Structure diagrams, Melting points, Boiling points, and other data by Name, Formula, and other parameters. Produced by CambridgeSoft.

ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
A free service provides access to millions of chemical structures and integration to a multitude of other online services.

ChemSpider Mobile
If you are an iPhone user, use an iPad, or use a phone with a browser, point it to the new ChemSpider Mobile.There you’ll see a simple interface that allows you to search across the database of almost 25 million chemical entities based on chemical name (systematic, trivial or trade, registry number etc).
Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. There are now 9,804 journals in the directory. Nearly 1,573,847 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
Material Safety Data Sheets on the Internet
Where to find MSDS on the Internet.
National Academy of Sciences
The NAS was established by an Act of Congress that was signed by President Abraham Lincoln on March 3, 1863, at the height of the Civil War, which calls upon the NAS to "investigate, examine, experiment, and report upon any subject of science or art" whenever called upon to do so by any department of the government.
more...less...
The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare.
National Institute of Standards and Technology WebBook
Provides access to a full array of data compiled by the Standard Reference Data Program (includes thermochemical, heat of reaction, IR spectra, Mass spectra, and Ion Energetics Data).
Ciencia.gov
Ciencia.Science.gov provides the same breadth and depth in science search as does Science.gov, covering over 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results from 17 organizations within 13 federal science agencies. Free access is provided to over 55 scientific databases and more than 2,100 selected scientific web sites.
USPTO Web Patent Database
Full text of all US patents issued since January 1, 1976, and full-page images of each page of every US patent issued since 1790. Contact the library's Patent & Trademark Depository Library for assistance or try the Fogler Library's USPTO Web Database Tutorial for information on how to search this database.

iScienceSearch

iScienceSearch allows searching the Internet by structure, synonym, CAS Registry Number and free text. In the background, they return structure, names and CAS Registry Numbers* within seconds. A search by name can automatically invoke another search by structure and/or CAS Registry, or any combination of these. iScienceSearch presently searches more than 60 free chemical and pharma relevant databases -- containing more than 100 million pages which associate chemical structures with data.

http://ref-notes.blogspot.com/2013/02/isciencesearch-internet-search-engine.html